We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub food!”

McGlynn's Free House
Ranked #2,091 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Description: Comfortable and Friendly Bar and Restaurant in Kings Cross. Quiet Street with all day sunshine for outside diners. Home cooked food with freshly cooked vegetables and large selection of Home made pies and curries. Steaks and Fish and Chips always available.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub food!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I loved everything about this pub, its old english style, the food was delish, the staff were friendly.. what more could you want :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dede F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    62
    21
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Genuine pub atmosphere, visitors welcome”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This pub is a gem just off the bustle of Euston Road. The clientele was mainly locals, but the atmosphere was welcoming to this tourist. The burger was fantastic, and the Guinness suitably cold for my palate. I watched some World Cup and ended up chatting with other patrons. I really enjoyed this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,505 reviews
1,750 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,900 helpful votes
“Decent pub near King's Cross Station”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Made a recent stop at McGlynn's Free House for a pint and to enjoy a bit of the footie. Prices were fine and the inside was small, cozy and decent, what you expect of a good local pub.

They have a small dining section in back and seem to serve up typical pub grub but we didn't try. A few tables outside as well for those eager to enjoy the nice weather.

Overall, McGlynn's was fine in our book. We'd have no problem stopping here for another round and perhaps to try a meal here in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cute and cosy”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My boyfriend and I was looking for somewhere to drink, we walked around kings cross and saw this pub, we sat down and had a good drink, prices were good, it was really cosy and comfortable and everyone was lovely. We will be going back there very soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluepillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Quiet, cute and quaint”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the quiet street with a lovely pub and outside seating. Back street with small cute housing around, very quiet with amazing food. Dedicated dining area, huge portions of food. Cheap drinks but 50p charge to use debit/credit card. Lovely!!

Helpful?
Thank reshers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McGlynn's Free House also viewed

 

Been to McGlynn's Free House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing