We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking pub”
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Ranked #2,707 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Southwark
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cracking pub”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went in twice over the weekend. Excellent ales, good food, friendly staff and no background music - everything I want from a pub. Also, just off the beaten track so not inundated with tourists. We will be back - a great pub.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seasider1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    30
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great beer, food was average”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We dined here on a Monday night. The service was friendly, the beer was great and the food was OK. The sandwiches were very good, the sausage and mash were good, the steak and ale pie was a bit disappointing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,179 reviews
882 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
“Proper boozer”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This is just far enough away from London Bridge to avoid the crowds of office workers / tourists , doesn't have music or TV but does gave excellent beers, friendly staff and an old fashioned decor which is ideal if what you want is a quiet pint of dark mild in a proper boozer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was my sixth visit. Never been disappointed. Very nice Sunday Roast. Served both down stairs in bar area and in the first floor dining room. Highly recommend the roast beef.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apnrboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“It's My Other Local”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

As I said in my review of the Southwark Tavern, everyone needs a local or two. The Royal Oak is one of my two - it is truly local to where I stay (perhaps 200 feet from my front door) and everything a pub should be - great real ales and ciders, friendly staff, warm cheerful atmosphere and the comfort of having a favorite spot or two to sit and relax.

They serve good basic pub fare, including excellent hand-cut chips (fries to Americans reading this) and sausage and mash. They have Thatcher's Gold on tap - an excellent cider.

If you need a place to sit and wind down, or meet friends for a drink in the evening - this is it. It's traditional pub life at some of its best.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wprensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing