We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
London City Suites By Montcalm
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveller rating
228
112
38
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
112
38
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjugged harebarbican tube stationhermes toiletriesthe main hotelclub roomrain showerlondon citybirthday cardmini barturn down servicethe bed was extremely comfortableamazing hotelgreat bathroombottled waterstayed for one nightsmall rooman upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room was ok, fairly small but that was expected. It was a three storey building and not a new one, despite being all new and modern inside, but despite that was still fairly quiet.
Was a reasonable price and would probably have got a 4 rating if it hadn't been for the bed.
The bed was really soft and the pillows really hard.
When I mentioned it at checkout apparently the beds are being replaced soon and if I'd rung they have alternative pillows (shame they didn't publicise that a bit more).

Not really sure about the email they sent after my stay thanking me for wonderful feedback, offering me an upgrade if I go back and asking me to comment on trip advisor, but anyway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CHR1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
The London City Suites are located in what used to be the old Whitbread Brewery and the combination of the historical features with the modern décor gives our property a charm which is unique.
I am happy to inform you that we have double sided mattresses, where the guest might choose between a softer and a harder side, according to personal preference. We also offer a wide range of pillows on our Pillow Menu, which is available on our website or on request, at arrival.
We always welcome all comments as they help us improve our product and services.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards,

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I occasionally stay her to avoid the commute back home each day. In my opinion this is the best hotel in the City, the beds are extremely comfortable and each room is ‘individual’, also they always seem to provide a bowl of fruit in the room.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Jonathan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments here on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled that we have already won you over as a loyal guest as a returning guest is our ultimate reward.
We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, and this hotel will be one i defiantly will remember, the staff where brill, they will do anything to help you, the rooms are very clean, and lovely. I will be returning to this hotel again, it was very easy to get to from the underground tube station, and close to the main attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for your kind words.
I am thrilled to learn that you really enjoyed your time with us.
The London City Suites are located in a business area; however, they are still very close to the main tourist attractions. Some are even a mere 10 minutes walking distance from us, such as the London Tower, the Tower Bridge, St Paul’s cathedral, and many others.
For those who prefer the underground, the Moorgate and the Barbican stations are only a 5 minutes’ walk away. In addition, the Liverpool Street station is located a mere 7 minutes’ walk from us. All three present excellent connections with the underground network and the Liverpool Street station also presents excellent connections with the National Rail network.
We are pleased to read that you liked your stay with us which shows the quality hospitality experienced here at the Montcalm London City. We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice looking hotel but for us probably worst ever stay in luxury hotel. Wrong room given, paid for double room with bath but only given box room with shower. Concierge guy trying to find new room, walked us for about 30 minutes from room to room to find right room, while waking up other guest as concierge had a wrong key for room where other people already slept. Ended up in tiny room as I could not walk any more as it was nearly 3am. Hotel blaming system not working for hours.
Room and bed extremely small, its like box room and what they call double bed but very small. Sunday morning 9:30am cleaners knocking on our door to see if they can clean. Not happy at all and will not ever stay there. When other hotels mess up like these guys they at least offer refund or free next stay but not these guys.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Milan1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Milan,
Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us. All comments are welcome as they help us improve our services.
I regret to learn that you found the need to express your concerns again.
I know you have spoken with our team regarding your recent stay and, also, about an eventual future stay, however, if you have any further requests or comments our team will be delighted to assist you further. Meanwhile we have tried to contact you but without success.
We offer a wide range of room categories and cater for all tastes and preferences and we do take requests from our guests before and during the stay.
I do hope that you will be gracious enough and give us another chance of showing the excellent service we do provide.
Kind regards,
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our stay at the montcalm was amazing, we only stayed for one night, wish it was more. Our bags were taken to our room by memeber of staff, everyone was so polite. Our room was amazing, we stayed in a 'Club room', which had everything you need, bed seating area, complimentry tea and coffee, mini bar, bath & shower, hairdryer, robes, slippers, iron, room scents, and the bed was one of the comfiest ive slept in! we had brekfast included with our room, the choice was endless! and as much as you like.. i would definately stay here again. 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Emily,
Thank you for choosing the London City Suites for your recent stay in London.
I am thrilled that you had such a great time with us and really appreciate that you took the time to mention our in-room amenities.
We are already looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews