We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of London City Suites By Montcalm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
London City Suites By Montcalm
Ranked #347 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Had a really good stay here on an overnight business trip. Was given complimentary upgrade (kindly arranged by one of the porters who showed me to my room) and the staff were generally friendly and welcoming.

Room I had was a decent size for Central London and bathroom was also bigger than you'd normally get. Both were clean, looked fresh, well appointed and the lighting options in the main room were almost bewildering!

The only downside were the windows, which did not shut properly and rattled everytime some else closed a door or walked in the room upstairs. They were also only single glazed so the noise from the function bar at the back of the hotel was loud, in the bathroom it was like they were permanently open. I carry earplugs when away so not a major issue for me, but could upset others and I would have been annoyed if I'd forgotten them.

Didn't have the breakfast which at about £24 I felt was too expensive, or use the hotels pub/restaurants as ate elsewhere, but they looked well priced for the area.

Would certainly consider staying here again if I needed a place in that area of London.

Room Tip: I'd imagine a room at the front of the hotel would be quieter than around the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisW178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such amazing comments and am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In regards to the fixture of the window I am happy to inform that our maintenance team has now fixed these. Our maintenance team is always happy to help, should an issue be reported.
In addition to the English breakfast we also offer Continental breakfast in our Club Lounge which may be more to your liking.
We are already looking forward to welcome you back again.
Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    104
    34
    12
    5
See reviews for
31
146
27
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We needed a room for a couple of evenings whilst attending a two day conference at The Brewery. I was amazed to find this lovely hotel directly across the road. Upon arrival the staff were extremely helpful and professional. The hotel and in particular the room were beautifully kept and modern will all the facilities that we required. The room service was expensive but tasty nevertheless.

All in all a great stay and definitely recommended.

Room Tip: everything is great but would recommend the local Tesco Express for snacks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your comments about your recent stay with us.
Our staff was thrilled to learn that they managed to exceed your expectation.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our stay was for two nights as we needed to be close the London Brewery for a two day conference, we also needed to be relatively close to Victoria as we had tickets booked for the theater for one of these evenings.

The service was very good, friendly and helpful.

Local Taxis were available, local Tesco and the Brewery just across the street. (very convenient) on the last day we left our bags in the cloakroom of the hotel and picked them up at the end of the working day.

Local Car Park nearby (5-10min) walk and open 24hr.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on this forum.
I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
In addition to Tesco The Montcalm at the Brewery London City is located a mere 3 minutes’ walk from Waitrose.
Our team is always happy to help, whether it is in calling a cab or store your luggage, nothing is too much trouble.
Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed at the Montcalm London City Suites last week and had a lovely stay. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the hotel given the very reasonable price we paid for the room. The room, although small, was modern and clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were able to check in immediately upon arrival even though we got to the hotel a few hours before the official check in time. The turn down service and housekeeping service were wonderful. The hotel restaurant/bar, the Jugged Hare, was wonderful. Great service. The only negative and the only reason I am not giving this hotel five stars is that it is pretty far away from most of the tourist attractions. We had to pay approximately 20 euros to take taxis to other parts of the city (Chelsea, London Eye, Harrods, Buckingham Palace, etc). I believe it is possible to take the tube and/or bus to avoid the taxi charges, but if you would like to be within walking distance of tourist attractions, I would not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank micalarae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for much for such a great review.
I am thrilled to read that you had such a great stay with us.
Our staff works hard to ensure that our guests receive this special attention which makes each stay unique and exciting.
We have a variety of different room categories, available at different prices, and cater for all different tastes.
Since you have enjoyed our restaurant Jugged Hare, for a future stay, why not try our sister restaurant Chiswell Street Dining Rooms.
The London City Suites are located in a business area but still very close from the main tourist attractions. The London Tower, Spitafields Market, the St Paul’s Cathedral and many others are only a walking distance away or, if you prefer the underground, the Barbican and Moorgate station are a mere 5min walk from the hotel. The Liverpool Street station is located only 7 minutes away and all three stations present excellent connections with the underground. In addition the Liverpool street station presents excellent connections with the National Rail network.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

The room was ok, fairly small but that was expected. It was a three storey building and not a new one, despite being all new and modern inside, but despite that was still fairly quiet.
Was a reasonable price and would probably have got a 4 rating if it hadn't been for the bed.
The bed was really soft and the pillows really hard.
When I mentioned it at checkout apparently the beds are being replaced soon and if I'd rung they have alternative pillows (shame they didn't publicise that a bit more).

Not really sure about the email they sent after my stay thanking me for wonderful feedback, offering me an upgrade if I go back and asking me to comment on trip advisor, but anyway.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CHR1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
The London City Suites are located in what used to be the old Whitbread Brewery and the combination of the historical features with the modern décor gives our property a charm which is unique.
I am happy to inform you that we have double sided mattresses, where the guest might choose between a softer and a harder side, according to personal preference. We also offer a wide range of pillows on our Pillow Menu, which is available on our website or on request, at arrival.
We always welcome all comments as they help us improve our product and services.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I occasionally stay her to avoid the commute back home each day. In my opinion this is the best hotel in the City, the beds are extremely comfortable and each room is ‘individual’, also they always seem to provide a bowl of fruit in the room.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments here on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled that we have already won you over as a loyal guest as a returning guest is our ultimate reward.
We are already looking forward to your next stay with us.
Kind regards,
Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels, and this hotel will be one i defiantly will remember, the staff where brill, they will do anything to help you, the rooms are very clean, and lovely. I will be returning to this hotel again, it was very easy to get to from the underground tube station, and close to the main attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenSands, Hotel Manager at London City Suites By Montcalm, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Kimberly,

Thank you for your kind words.
I am thrilled to learn that you really enjoyed your time with us.
The London City Suites are located in a business area; however, they are still very close to the main tourist attractions. Some are even a mere 10 minutes walking distance from us, such as the London Tower, the Tower Bridge, St Paul’s cathedral, and many others.
For those who prefer the underground, the Moorgate and the Barbican stations are only a 5 minutes’ walk away. In addition, the Liverpool Street station is located a mere 7 minutes’ walk from us. All three present excellent connections with the underground network and the Liverpool Street station also presents excellent connections with the National Rail network.
We are pleased to read that you liked your stay with us which shows the quality hospitality experienced here at the Montcalm London City. We are already looking forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#448 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#265 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#319 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London City Suites By Montcalm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Suites By Montcalm

Property: London City Suites By Montcalm
Address: 42-46 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in London
#242 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
#340 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — London City Suites By Montcalm 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your London City Suites By Montcalm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London City Suites By Montcalm Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing