We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting looking place with no substance, there are many in London”

The Alice House Queen's Park
Ranked #5,790 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Contemporary, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We source the best quality, freshest and more ethical produce available. Our fish is fresh from Brixham day boats, our organic veg comes from small Devon freeholds and our meat is supplied by independent Shropshire farms. 100% independent beers, a carefully chosen wine list and bespoke cocktails are all available from the bar.
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“interesting looking place with no substance, there are many in London”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Well, a cross between, or even better a pout-pouri of a Bar, a Club and a restaurant.
Security at the door, fine, loud music, fine, the DJ actually was spinning some great tunes, congratulation to her!....continuing, place, fine, service, fine.
The one thing that was average was the food: we went in tired and just wanted a light bite, so we ordered the fish market of the day, and it was just conveniently made with a fluffy butter and very little fish, the chips were also soaked in oil, the glass of wine nothing special and the non alcoholic cocktail was prepared in a rush. The waitress was nice and very warm, but it just didn't make up for the low level food on offer. I am sure that the bar is a much better proposition with the DJ laying some great music.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErPasquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    47
    35
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Alice clean your dishes”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We had hot drinks and traditional heavy English dessert very nice chock fudge pus steamed Apple Crum nice people love style but filthy cups plates made tummy sick yuk

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chimgim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, VERY slow service”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We visited on a Saturday morning following a recommendation from friends. At this point there were about 5 tables taken, so not particularly busy. We were greeted and arms gestured we could take our pick of tables. We opted for one on a stylish, elevated platform- great for people watching outside!

Menus arrived and then after about 10 minutes we had our drinks and food order taken. I was rather rudely informed they don't serve milk shakes. Fine. The brunch menu is tremendous- about 8 choices and they all sound delicious. We all went for the Alice cooked breakfast- sausages, crispy bacon, fried duck egg, mushrooms, toast and tomatoes- perfect after a late night.

After about 15 minutes our coffees arrived and were Luke warm at best. We weren't offered any sugar so my husband had to go and find some- there was little chance of catching a waitress' eye! He was told by the man at the bar to look on a few tables for a spare pot. Really? Pretty poor service actually!

When the food arrived I would say it was probably the best cooked breakfast I have ever had. The food was all delicious- flavoured and seasoned to perfection, well presented and thought through. Magnificent! Such a shame the service lets the place down. Unfortunately, my husband found a date sticker in his breakfast however, on informing the waitress she swiftly removed his breakfast from the bill without quibble. This was very generous given it hadn't stopped him eating any but definitely improved on her former service style.

This place could be wonderful. It is stylish, large enough to have space, superb food and ok prices (£9.50 for cooked breakfast). It was galling to have a 12.5% service charge and we didn't pay it- fr that I would expect to be delighted, not frustrated, by the service received.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Wide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“all style and no substance”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

on the only plus note of the visit, it is a gorgeous venue but it seems such a shame that everything else lets it down. maybe if they invested as much money in training their staff as they did on paintings and "vintage chic" i would have something more positive to say about the place.

was in for Saturday brunch/lunch and the usual farce and chaos was ever present. any more than 5 tables and the service falls apart. waited 20 minutes for a cocktail to arrive, waited 30 minutes for my partners food to arrive then a further 10 for mine to make an appearance. the food is annoyingly pretentious and tries to elevate itself beyond what it is. do your eggs come from an endangered hen to command the price they do?

The staff and managers seem to change on a weekly basis and I remember the likes of will, jon and julie who seemed to be the only ones capable of finally getting somewhere with the place. i now know not to bother booking as i'll be disappointed. go to the north london tavern instead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good beers, bad service, awful food”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The place is nice and refurbished and the beers are good (specially Camden's Hells) so it's a good place to have a drink. But when it comes to eat, things change. Service is slow, unefficient and annoying, specially considering they charge a 12'5% gratuity,

And the food... well, they serve the worst overall sunday roast I've ever tasted: the worcestershire pie tastes of nothing but fat. Potatoes were reheated stones and the gravy tasted like a supermarket one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veintitres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alice House Queen's Park also viewed

 

Been to The Alice House Queen's Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing