We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern mod cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #268 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Old world charm with modern mod cons”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This was a quick overnight stay to visit embassy. I was very pleased by my chance choice and will definitely return for longer. All the staff were wonderful. The corridors up to the rooms were very clean and well decorated. (A lot of expensive hotels have a smart reception and grubby corridors.) The room was of a fair size and the bathroom was beautiful. Tea, coffee and kettle etc., and fresh fruit in the room. A lovely touch. I have only had fresh fruit provided in a 5* in Europe. It's very near Underground station and opposite park. A wonderful location and a very good price for London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Christina

We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

I do hope it is not long until you will have opportunity to be back in London and we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,542
    1,408
    549
    228
    257
See reviews for
524
1,694
342
765
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I needed to stay near Park Lane and was delighted to book a room in this wonderfully historical building for an exceptional price. With it's glorious carved wooden entrance hall and staircase, with ancient stained glass windows, it immediately gives you a sense of glamour and opulence on entering. The staff were extremely polite, efficient and on the ball and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was good.
My only gripe, having paid extra for a double bed was the size of the room. Although all the amenities you would expect were included, there was barely room to move around the bed which was only a 3/4 size anyway and the shower room so small, one had to sit at an angle on the loo, the basin was only just big enough to wash your hands and the shower tray much smaller than standard.
For one night it was fine, the decor very pleasant and the location was ideal for a pleasant walk through Hyde Park to Kensington, but had I been paying the much higher normal price for the room, I would have felt quite annoyed at the proportions. Allowing for the fact this IS central London, I suppose I shouldn't be too surprised, but be warned.
Breakfast at £15 extra is also somewhat annoying, if again not surprising in London.
Overall I hardly spent any time there, but had there been 2 of us staying in this so called double room, it would have been VERY uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Sallyontheroad

Thank you for commenting on your stay with us.

We are really pleased that you had such a nice time us. It’s good to read that you appreciated our building, we are highly listed and it does have quite a history. I do suggest you find time on your next trip to read the buildings history we have displayed in the lobby (it’s also on our website) as it’s peppered with rumours of dalliances with the Royal family.

That said our listed status does represent some challenges, and unfortunately this seemed to be felt by you in your room size. I am sorry that this was not right for you b

For your next stay I would also suggest that you book directly on our website as all bookings through this receive complimentary breakfast and we also offer a best rate guarantee.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

After the previous hotel stay in London which was hideous (elsewhere) we wanted to find somewhere we were sure we knew what we were getting, and prepared to pay more. at £120 per night this hotel was great. Its old traditional charm in reception and lounge area is like going back in time, don't stay if you only like modern!
Great location in-between Bayswater and Queensway tube stations, helpful and friendly staff - when we returned late at night the night guys were only too happy to bring us more coffee sachets to our room for the morning. The room was small but this is expected, I liked the bathroom in particular which is modern and has a quirkiness to it. The TV was also big for the room and in a perfect place in front of the bed - which is a rare find particularly in London!

The only thing I would say when dining outside of the hotel is book ahead, there are not many 'appetising' dining places in walking distance to the hotel and so would advise to use the very close tube stops and dine elsewhere.

I would recommend this hotel and look to return next time I visit London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Amanda W

The time you have taken to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor is very much appreciated.

We cannot wait to welcome you back and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay so much. Your are very right that we are not going to suit completely modern tastes, as much our building is highly listed and maintains many period features in the public areas. However though the design in our bedrooms is quite modern so, we feel, a nice balance.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great location and good breakfast buffet, rooms were a little small. Some hotel staff were more helpful than others when asking for places for dinner, but generally most were pleasant. All in all a reasonable hotel, nothing to complain about but nothing special either.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear LizzWilliams

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Grand Royale. We really do appreciate this and we are pleased that you had an in general a good stay.

I am sorry that you found your room small, we are a highly listed property so do have a variety of room classification and each room is different so I am sure if we had the pleasure of welcoming you back we would be able to find a room to your liking, I would suggest a Club room as this is our largest category.

We will certainly take on board your comments about our dinner recommendations. We do have many restaurants very close by on Queensway representing nearly every type of cuisine and also recommendations for further afield in the ever popular and changing London restaurant scene.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Great Little Hotel! Room was a little small, but was recently renovated and very clean. We enjoyed everything about the hotel and the staff was excellent and very friendly. Great value for our money."............................................................

Room Tip: stayed on floor seven
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear K R

It is lovely to read your comments your are sharing on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.

Thank you for the time this has taken. I do hope it will not be long until we can welcome you back to Grand Royale and if we can help with this, please do not hesitate to ask.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Location is good - very near two tube stations - Queensway & bayswater - and also several bus routes. many restaurants & cafes on Queensway & shops, grocery stores etc. next to Kensington gardens. Easy walk thru gardens to Kensington High Street.
Room - we had a club room. Good size, clean, good facilities incl tea tray, choccies, fruit bowl, fridge, dressing gown & slippers & small sitting area. Comfy bed, clean linens & towels. Bathroom smallish but fine & clean.
Hotel public rooms lovely & lots of wood panelling & stained glass. Was rumoured to have been built for Lilli Langtry by Edward VII. Fab small bar incl original theatre style seating area! Staff all very peasant & helpful.
Breakfast marginally disappointing - hot selection looked a bit sad but rest fine. (I think im a bit fussy....) Good service.
All in all it was a good stay & price wise good for London. Some reviews said rooms small but ours fine - go for a club!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HellyMbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear HellyMbro

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.

Our Club rooms are our largest category, apart from the Lily Langtry Suite, and I am pleased the sizing was to your liking as well as the amenities in this room for you.

We are continually trying to improve and will certainly take on board your comment about our breakfast selection to see what we can enhance for what would hopefully be your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Ideal location. Nice combination of historic hotel with very modern (not large) rooms and a comfortable bed. Nice English quality breakfast and pretty centrally located, subway right around the corner! Staff was very friendly, free upgrade from single to doubleroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knarfie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Knarfie31

It is lovely to read that you had such a great time with us.

I am pleased that the combination of our historical building and the modern design of the rooms was to you liking, as well as out location near Bayswater and Queensway stations.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon. I do suggest you reserve directly through our website or on the phone with our Reservations office so you can have our 'nice English quality breakfast' complimentary, as this is one benefit we offer direct bookings.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#215 of 1,069 in London
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#365 of 1,069 in London
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Property: Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in London
#199 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Family Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing