We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Elegance Close to park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #289 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Historic Elegance Close to park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Grand Royale is one block from Hyde Park and gets top marks for location. As well, the building is steeped in London's history, stemming from a bit of royal gossip. We loved the story of Lilly Langley and the King and enjoyed visiting the theater bar one night. Our room was very small but that's London, so for the price I'd have to say it was well worth it when you consider the amazing breakfast buffet in your choice of one of two absolutely gorgeously ornate ballrooms. The staff was friendly, check in and out was seamless, and the whole experience was perfect for anyone who wants history with their London stay. Bring facecloths as no one seems to supply them and be sure to check your room's desk drawers for the hair dryer. Lovely and clean too. We especially liked Vikent who was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the street in the basement and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Kim H

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Grand Royale

We really are lucky to have such a well preserved 'part of London's history' are we are so pleased that this obviously added to your stay.

Thank you also for your kind compliments to Vikent. This like all comments we have will be shared with the whole team.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Royale soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    1,331
    535
    223
    257
See reviews for
480
1,608
325
733
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Exceeded our expectations - understated style in a nice location.

All of the staff we talked with were courteous, polite and friendly - our room was clean and comfortable - the hotel décor was stunning.

We didn't eat at the hotel but breakfast smelled very appetising.

First time we have visited the Grand Royale - we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Chris C

Thank you. Understated style is such a lovely way to summarise the hotel, I think it combines your feelings for our heritage lobby, restaurant, bar and lounge along with our modern bedrooms really well.

We really appreciate you commenting on your stay and look forward to welcoming your back

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My girlfriend and I were moved to this hotel because the one I booked wasn't able to host us due to outstanding maintenance works. And it was a very good surprise.

The staff was kind and always read to help. The hotel is well located, close to the main transportation services but not being on the main road there is no traffic noise disturbing overnight.

The breakfast could be better. The food range is not that big and some food (e.g. pastries) are not that good. But overall it was okay. I guess that this specific critic comes from the fact that we are Italian. So good food for us is really important and also hard to find abroad.

WiFi is a bit slow sometimes. And we did have a minor problem with the air come the first day we arrived. But after a quick check it was fine.

I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Gabriele P

Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at Grand Royale.

You will be pleased to know that will be changing our croissants and pastries in the next few weeks and I hope this are a closer match to Italian standards. We are always looking to improve and have been behind the scenes reviewing these before your comment. Do let us know when you are back in London and we would like to help in arranging your stay at Grand Royale so we can get your 'taste of approval'.

Best wishes and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here with my Daughter 23-25th May we had booked another hotel but due to maintenance work we were changed to the Grand Royale. We loved our stay! The staff are fantastic! We were made so welcome and nothing was a problem! The only problem was our room was a little small. The location is perfect! We had such a good stay we are going to be booking this hotel again this summer! Dianne x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancer578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Dianne

We are so happy to read that you are already planning your summer trip back to London. I do recommend you book via our own website so you will get complimentary breakfast.

It is so kind of you to take the time to comment on your stay with us and I am so happy our team's service added to your stay.

We can be somewhat challenged with the characteristics of our building, it is heavily listed and this means we have some fantastic original features but these can be limiting in some areas and you obviously felt this impacted the room size. I am sorry for this. Our largest category, other than the Lily Langtry Suite, is our Club rooms so these are worth considering for you next trip.

Our Premier Club Rewards members (free to enrol at the hotel or via our website) benefit from a complimentary upgrade, subject to availability on arrival, as well as other privileges so this too is worth remembering if you have not already done so.

If we can help with any plans for your next trip, please do not hesitate to ask

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were moved here as the hotel we originally booked was having maintenance. We were very happy with our two night stay. The room was clean and modern. The staff were very polite, helpfull and accomodating. Good choice at the buffet breakfast. Just a three minute walk to Queensway tube station. The room itself was a little small / cosy but it served its purpose as a base for our trip to London. Very comfy bed. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsEvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Sarah E

The time you have taken to comment on your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased your pleased!

It was our pleasure to look after you and we really hope we will the opportunity to do so very soon again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very nice located hotel nearby the metro stations, rooms are very small but have all what you need. Very nice breakfast and very friendly and helpful front desk staff. I had a noisy room close to the elevator, but they have change it immediately. Very good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjasa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Tjasa G

We are so glad that you found our location near both Bayswater (Circle and District underground lines) and Queensway (Central line) so good for your business stay.

Our team thank you for your kind words about our service and breakfast and really do hope it will not be long until we can welcome you back to Grand Royale.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Overwhelmed by the beautifully ornate exterior and interior too , Staff are friendly and efficient check in and payment hassle free, great fairly central location for London sites Stayed in a Club room their most basic I think, and was more than happy compact bathroom with shower and bath nice toiletries decor fresh n bright .bed a little too firm for me nice plump pillows cleanliness good , free good wifi fridge and good TV and channels , good selection teas n coffee biscuits hairdryer All in all a great stay this is a beautiful gem you must try . also thank you for the lovely complimentary wine and of course the yummy breakfast which was included look forward to next stay in possibly an upgrade room many thanks all at Grand Royale Hyde Park Viv & Mike

Room Tip: our room was fine we got what we paid for and it suited our needs well I guess the upgrades can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Viv & Mike

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor about your stay this month.

We are so delighted that our service, room amenities and beautiful building gave you an enjoyable stay.

To help with any future bookings, our double categories start at Superior Double, then to Deluxe Double and then Club Double. So club double is our largest and when booking a Club room in advance our guests receive 'extras' such as a half bottle of wine, chocolates and soft drinks on arrival.

I do hope it will not be long until we can welcome you back to Grand Royale

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#201 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#408 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Property: Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in London
#212 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Family Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing