We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“U Nordell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #244 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a pleasant stay at the hotel. The staff where friendly and helpful. A very nice breakfast . Clean, and it was nice with all fresh flowers.

The buses and the tube where close and it is also near to Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ulrika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Dear Ulrika N

We really appreciate you sharing your thought of your recent stay at Grand Royale on tripadvisor.

It's great to read that our location near Hyde Park was enjoyed by you. Particularly when the weather is like it is today 21 degrees, its lovely to be able to stroll through the park after a minutes walk from the hotel.

We do hope it will not be long until you may have that pleasure again and we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Royale.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,239 - 2,245 of 4,323 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Once was enough to stay in this hotel. The room was in a basement…window 18 inches wide…would not close…looked out onto rubbish. You have to edge around the room to get by. Tiny single beds. Pillows like bricks. Bathroom TINY. Not even room for a glass beside the hand basin. Staff unfriendly…..Noise from the corridor, all night long. Never again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridgetbernadette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Bridgetbernadette

I am really sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Grand Royale.

We certainly take all guest comments to heart and try and work on these. Particularly if we were ever made aware at the time we would always try and rectify this for you, we have different types of pillows and would have eagerly arranged for a softer filling for you, likewise if the floor allocated is not to someone's liking we would have liked to try to find an alternative. We will as a team learn from your comments now though. If you would be so kind I would appreciate if you could contact the hotel on fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk with details such as the room and date you stayed and any particular comments you had regarding the service, to aid us with this.

Our Club rooms are our largest category, except for the Lily Langtry Suite, but I am disappointed to read its sizing was not your liking. We are heavily listed and this gives us both a beautiful building but does also represent some challenges and obviously this was represented in the sense of space you felt in room and the outlook your room had. I am sorry this did not match your needs on this stay. We would love the opportunity to help give you a stay that you would enjoy and one we would be proud of delivering for you. If you do reconsider please do not hesitate to contact the hotel via fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk so we can assist.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely hotel and very helpful staff. Breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. Ideal situation with tube practically next door. Hotel room was nicely decorated with everything you could want including a fridge and fresh fruit. Only criticism was that room was a bit small but adequate for our needs. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank v8sheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear v8sheila

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Grand Royale. We are so happy that everything about your stay was to your satisfaction, but sorry that the room size could have been larger for you. One joy of our building is our beautiful period features, but sometime having this listed and so protected can be a little restrictive for us and this obviously showed itself in your feelings towards the room sizing.

I do hope we can welcome you back very soon

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I made a research for a hotel in several online agencies, and found a bargain located next to the Hyde Park. Check some photos out, and closed the deal for 3 nights. The location is very good, only a short walk from the Bayswater or Queensway tube stations, and close to a good variety of restaurants and pubs. My surprise was to get to the room. For 100 pounds/night I was not expecting a five-star room, but I never imagined that such a tiny room exist. I barely fit my luggage and myself inside the room. The shower box is so litlle that I could not move nor stretch my arms. Funny thing is that in the second night I was feeling comfortable and found it cozy. No wonder we can adapt ourselves to any situation or condition. To reach Heathrow, I just ordered a low cost van from the hotel counter. In summary, for the cost and location, nice service and clean room, I would definitively recommend this property.

Room Tip: A double room would be a good choice. The single room is really tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilvioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear SilvioT

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Grand Royale.

I do hope it will not be long until we can welcome you back.

We like honesty and thank you for your feedback. Our single rooms are true singles, so you may prefer as your recommend, the sizing of a Superior Double as a option of double for sole use, then progressing to our Deluxe double or Club doubles.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Although the rooms are quite small, they are comfortable enough and extremely clean. The hotel in general is very nice, with an interesting "old fashioned" decor in the reception area, and the service is very attentive. The biggest advantage is the extremely good location (at 2 blocks from 2 subway stations, almost in front of Kensington Park, within walking distance from the Royal Albert Hall, etc), allowing you to go from Heathrow to the hotel by taking just 2 subway trains.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room in a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osvaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Osvaldo M

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at Grand Royale on Tripadvisor.

We really appreciate your kind words about your stay with us and we really look forward to your next trip back to Grand Royale.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Upgraded to the suite which was magnificent. Very Nice staff. I will definitely book again. Location is great, close to the park and nice restaurants in bayeswater. Room was clean and huge! Same for bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benoit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Benoit G

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Lily Langtry Suite so much. It is a true individually styled and sized room which is a lovely treat, with the four poster bed or the roll top bath being top of the favourites of our guests.

Hopefully we can welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Grand Royale is one block from Hyde Park and gets top marks for location. As well, the building is steeped in London's history, stemming from a bit of royal gossip. We loved the story of Lilly Langley and the King and enjoyed visiting the theater bar one night. Our room was very small but that's London, so for the price I'd have to say it was well worth it when you consider the amazing breakfast buffet in your choice of one of two absolutely gorgeously ornate ballrooms. The staff was friendly, check in and out was seamless, and the whole experience was perfect for anyone who wants history with their London stay. Bring facecloths as no one seems to supply them and be sure to check your room's desk drawers for the hair dryer. Lovely and clean too. We especially liked Vikent who was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the street in the basement and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Kim H

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Grand Royale

We really are lucky to have such a well preserved 'part of London's history' are we are so pleased that this obviously added to your stay.

Thank you also for your kind compliments to Vikent. This like all comments we have will be shared with the whole team.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Grand Royale soon

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#324 of 1,081 in London
1,617 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#176 of 1,081 in London
1,263 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#317 of 1,081 in London
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
#182 Business Hotel in London
#307 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £81 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing