We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very helpful staff, slightly over priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #294 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesotta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, very helpful staff, slightly over priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is my second stay at grande royale and it was quite pleasant, it's close to two tube stations & busses & is right across from Kensington gardens. The staff were very friendly & helpful especially anifa of the day staff and Julian, arkadi and zolt of the night shift who made my dawn trip to the airport much easier. Single room is a bit cramped & the stairs in room is difficult for some but otherwise a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBaybars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear MrsBaybars,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback.

Such feedbacks are very important for our entire team to work harder to achieve higher percentage of guest satisfaction at all levels.

We do have rooms without steps which we hope to allot you upon your next visit to make your stay more comfortable.

Once again, thank you very much for your time & we look forward to serve you soon in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,374
    1,311
    532
    222
    257
See reviews for
464
1,584
321
724
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed for one night in an internal club room.
Room was reasonable size, clean and bed comfortable.
View was onto grotty internal courtyard so not great- this also limited natural light ao advise asking for external room.
Checkin took 20 mins due to another customer issue.
Staff were all very helpful -doormen, receptionists and breakfast staff.
Breakfast was reasonably good.
Would stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
dear bluemos,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us your valuable feedback.

Had we known if you were not comfortable with a room view, we would have arranged another room facing street to make your stay more enjoyable.

Your feedback regarding the customer service and breakfast will be shared with the team and we will look forward to welcome you back.

Regards,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Excellent staff....very helpful and accommodating! Hotel is centrally located between two tube stations and across from Kennsington Park and Palace. Many good restaurants in the area.The accounting department was very helpful a few months ago when something got mixed up between them, booking.com and me! Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Very helpful staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Jacqueline B,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to read your review and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

We will be eagerly looking forward to welcome you soon in the near future.

Your Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We was suppose to stay at The Shaftesbury but apparently maintenance problems so we got moved here! Was a bit annoyed at first, but got upgraded to club room.
The staff where lovely and polite, breakfast was plentiful, The sausages and scrambled egg are to die for, rooms are small but are clean and ours was nicely decorated, only thing I didn't like was we couldn't open blinds or windows! Daylight would have been nice!
Overall pleasant stay and would stay again, but probably in bigger room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joanne671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear joanne671,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to know that your stay with us was pleasant.

Your feedback with regards to staff service and breakfast will be shared with the team and we will look forward to welcome you back in not so distant future.

Thank you,

Regards,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I booked a one night stay after a business trip and left with mixed views. The night staff when I arrived after 11.00pm had little idea about customer care but the day staff were extremely helpful. The 'DeLuxe Single' was in the basement and is the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Anywhere. Period. Part of the carpet was wet and there was a damp smell. I know I should have asked for a new room, but was exhausted after a difficult journey and just wanted to get my head down.

From then on it got better; the bed was very comfortable, the room was clean and surprisingly quiet even when traffic started in the morning, and the breakfast was excellent. The price was reasonable for the central London location -- close to Hyde Park and walkable to Oxford Street, Central Line tube stations. (I didn't try the pool or fitness centre -- but TripAdvisor won't let me submit the review without scoring them so I have said average. They may be excellent for all I know).

Room Tip: Check the room size before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Jeremy C,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent booking with us here at the Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

We are sorry to know that the service provided by the night staff was not upto your satisfaction. Being in service industry we always prioritize our customer needs and have a propensity to provide the best service possible in every aspect in order to make everyone’s stay enjoyable and memorable.

Although i am pleased to know that you had enjoyed our breakfast and the room itself was comfortable.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Grand Royale in order to provide you the superior service which we always aim to.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel before and we're very happy with both stays. On arriving we checked in and our room was upgraded. The room was clean and had everything for our requirements. The only thing we were not happy with was the sink in the bathroom which was very tiny and had a shelf directly above, so when cleaning teeth or shaving you had to be very careful as you could bang your head. The hotel was ideally located for lots of attractions and not far from Queenways Underground on the Central Line, two minutes across the road was Hyde Park. We checked out the following morning at 10 O'clock and left our luggage there returning at 7o'clock in the evening to collect it before our journey home. We would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family and will return when intending to spend another weekend in the city.

Room Tip: Superior or club rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Pat M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your very kind words on your recent stay at The Grand Royale London Hyde Park.

I am also sorry to hear that the bathroom was not comfortable. Had we known this during your stay, we would have arranged an alternative arrangements.

We will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team which will act as a benchmark for us to maintain at all times.

We look forward to serve you soon in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

A good location in Bayswater, very convenient for the tube having two stations very near, Queensway for the Central line and Bayswater for the Circle and District. The hotel is in a quiet position on Inverness Terrace close to shops and restaurants. While I was there there was some maintenance work going on on the stairs, new carpets? My room was very clean and there was a good supply of tea, coffee, drinking chocolate and biscuits. The room was small as was the shower room and toilet but as there was only me in the room it was adequate, it would have been a problem with two. Overall a good value budget hotel, which needs freshening up with some tlc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnkurSehgal, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear John G,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback.

We are in the process of initiating soft refurbishment of our bedrooms and corridors in order to keep the good level of standards and to maintain the heritage building.

I would recommend you to book Club room on your next visit which i am sure you will find more comfortable.

We will look forward to welcome you back and do let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Yours Sincerely,
Ankur Sehgal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,532 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Property: Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in London
#217 Luxury Hotel in London
#252 Family Hotel in London
#310 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing