We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An easy short stay in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Ranked #249 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

As the name suggests a Grand Old Hotel which is not in tip top order but you get what you pay for. Clean although small rooms and a superb breakfast thrown in. Reasonable free wifi and friendly staff. Close to 2 tube stations and right next to Hyde Park. Makes seeing the sights inLondon easy.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Skoots900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Skoots900

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor about your stay with us at Grand Royale.

We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast (which is complimentary if you book via our own website- which also has best rate guarantee) and that our service added to your stay.

I do hope that your slight disappointment with your room size will not stop us from welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 4,194 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Even though we had paid for the first night ahead of time and emailed the hotel that we would be arriving late at 11 pm, when we got to the hotel, we were told that the boiler had broken and there were no rooms. I found an earlier review on tripadvisor with the same problem. At midnight we were sent to another hotel that they own and given a room so tiny that we could barely move around in it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Joaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Joaneo

We are so sorry that you did not get to experience Grand Royale as you should have and that you have such a feeling about us.

We are upset and disappointed that the care shown to you was not as it clearly should have been and we would like the opportunity to try to apologise and further learn from this. If we can be of any assistance for this, please do contact the hotel via fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location, right by Queensway and Bayswater tube. We stayed in the Lily Langtry suite which was very large. The room had a gigantic bathroom with double sink, free standing bath and separate shower. The bedroom had a large 4 poster bed and seating for 7.
Free wifi was good, but rather slow.
Free breakfasted we booked direct with the hotel.
All of the staff that we met (night porters/evening receptionists) and waiting staff seemed disinterested. Upon check in I wasn't given any information about breakfast / checkout times or where my room was. My friends had a club double room, this was very very small but was clean.

I would recommend paying the extra and upgrading to the Lily Langtry suite.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Lily Langtry suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrecianEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear 22exeter

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us at Grand Royale.

We are very upset that we did not give you the welcome on your arrival that we would have liked to deliver. We will certainly be addressing this and do hope that we will have opportunity to correct this for you on your next stay with us. When you are next travelling to London, please do not hesitate to get in touch so we can assist with your plans, via fom@grandroyaleondon.co.uk

We are though pleased that our Lily Langtry Suite was enjoyed by you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

First impressions were 'wow'...than we went into our broom cupboard of a room. There is small and than tiny! It did serve a purpose, that was we slept...in a rather strange bed (one side was very soft). The walls needed a clean and the carpet didn't seem to be stuck to the floor.

The bathroom...or bread basket... was just too small. I wasn't expecting a spa..but when your knees touch the wall when you are sitting down, there is a problem.

The hotel is in a great location but I'm sure there are much better also. If it wasn't for the location we would have checked out.

I don't normally say this, but I won't return.

You could also say, you don't visit London to sit in a hotel room...

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ShaunBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Shauniet

We are sorry that the size of your room did not meet your expectations. We have various room categories (from smallest to largest) which are: Deluxe Single, Superior Double, Deluxe Double/Twin, Club Double/Twin, Family Club Double/Twin, Lily Langtry Suite. All our rooms are individually so have various layouts and bathroom layouts but clearly yours was smaller than you found acceptable. We are sorry for this and your comments regarding the wallpaper repair and will try to work to improve these.

It is good to know that our location near both Bayswater (Circle and District line) and Queensway (central line) was useful to you and we do hope that you are not deterred from staying again and perhaps reserving one of our Club rooms which may have proportions you favour more. If we can help with these, do please let us know via fom@grandroyalelondon.co.uk

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Grand Royale London Hyde Park again in June. Went to London for Trooping the Colour. We were upgraded to a Club Room this visit and it was excellent. Very spacious and comfortable. The staff as always are very friendly and efficient. The hotel is quite central so it is easy to get about. A 2 min. walk and you are in Hyde Park. We would not stay anywhere else now. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Alan W

It is great to know that you had enjoyable weekend in London and that Grand Royale helped contribute to this.

We eagerly await your return next year and hope that you will be able to enjoy the added space and benefits that our Club rooms offer,

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here because we were attending a Black Sabbath gig in Hyde Park. It was one of the cheaper hotels at £140.00 per night not including breakfast and it was within walking distance of the venue.
We arrived at midday and id already sent the hotel an email requesting an early check-in. The lady on reception was pleasant and said “yes, we have plenty of rooms ready now”. Great, I thought.
The receptionist then asked us if we wanted a nice quite room. I said please can you give us the nicest room you have, I said preferable the bigger room? She said yes no problem I will put you in the quite part of the hotel.
We made our way to the lift and then realised that room 014 was in the basement. We found our room and we were extremely disappointed. It was tiny and we could barely pass each other around the bed. The bathroom was also compact with no room by the sink for even a toothbrush and paste.
We were very disappointed, not only with the room but with the blatant lie from the receptionist. I clearly asked for the nicest room. The view out of the window looked out onto a grotty court yard stacked out with water fountain bottle.
Unfortunately we were extremely pushed for time and couldn’t request a move without being late for our dinner reservation.
I asked the hotel to call me a cab. A man pulled up in an old Toyota hybrid car, when I asked the price to travel 1.7 miles he quoted £15.00. I got out and flagged a black cab down, £6.00 to destination.
I wouldn’t stay here again. I feel they are trying to be 5* and they’d be lucky to reach a 3*. The rooms and corridors were grotty. The communal are nice, furnished very traditionally with chesterfield sofas but the building looks like it’s in need a good clean.

Room Tip: do not stay in the basement rooms do not ask reception to call you a cab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Debbie Y

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Grand Royale.

It is good to know that you appreciated the early arrival we were able to arrange for you. I can see that we had also upgraded complimentary you from a Superior Double room to a Deluxe double room but am disappointed to read your were unhappy with the size of this room. I can see you have become a Premier Club Rewards member and one benefit of this is a complimentary upgrade subject to availability on arrival. Which may help counteract your disappointment with the room size if we can help with a upgrade again. However we do recommend a Club room to offer a larger room.

With regard to your concerns regarding the taxi, we have a registered taxi company which we normally call and offers set fares, which is the norm when a taxi is telephoned on request to wait at a specific time rather than hailing a car in the street.

I do hope that we would still have opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Royale and please do not hesitate to contact us via fom"grandroyalelondon.co.uk if we can

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A last minute stay, booked only on the morning of our stay. Great location (2 minutes walk from Bayswater tube) and nice character hotel. Rooms are on the small side, but had everything that was needed for an overnight stay. Staff very friendly and efficient and breakfast lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy G, Manager at Grand Royale London Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Louise B

I am pleased to read that you had a enjoyable last minute stay with us at Grand Royale.

It is good to know that our location near Bayswater station (Circle and District lines) was useful to you. We do also have Queensway Station (Central line) the same distance from us also.

Your kind words about our team's service and breakfast will be shared, as with all comments.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#355 of 1,078 in London
1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#159 of 1,078 in London
1,169 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#286 of 1,078 in London
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Royale London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Royale London Hyde Park

Address: 1-9 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#183 Business Hotel in London
#184 Luxury Hotel in London
#309 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £85 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Royale London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Royale London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Royale London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury London Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing