We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ThePlywoodViolin
East Lothian, United Kingdom

Adequate but fusty

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2024via mobile
The good - location is very handy, with two tube stops nearby. It’s a nice neighborhood that feels pretty safe and has some great independent cafes nearby. The lobby/public areas are as beautiful as you will find, with amazing original decorations and architecture. The shower was surprisingly powerful. Breakfast staff were very helpful and attentive!

The less good - there was a very strong drain-like smell in the basement area and room. The bathroom was evidently designed for tall people so my legs were swinging on the loo! Reception staff only really greeted us when we greeted them first, which was not that welcoming.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this review
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Dear The Plywood Violin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your honest feedback, both positive and negative, as it allows us to continuously improve our guest experience.

We're glad to hear that you found the location convenient with easy access to public transportation and charming cafes nearby. We also appreciate your compliments on the beauty of our lobby and public areas – the hotel's architecture is certainly a highlight for many guests.

We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant drain smell you experienced in your room and the basement area. We take such matters seriously and will investigate this issue thoroughly to ensure it doesn't impact future guests. We understand that the bathroom design might not be ideal for everyone, and we will consider options to improve its accessibility.

Regarding your interaction with our reception staff, we are disappointed to learn that you didn't feel fully welcomed. We strive to provide friendly and attentive service to all guests, and we apologize if our reception team fell short of this expectation. We will address this feedback with the team to ensure they are consistently offering warm and welcoming greetings to all guests.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, and we are confident that we can provide you with a more positive experience.

Sincerely,

Xavier Gomes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£221
  • Expedia.com
    £265
  • Skyscanner.com
    £179
  • Hotels.com
    £265
0.4 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£181
  • Expedia.com
    £219
  • Skyscanner.com
    £146
  • Hotels.com
    £219
0.3 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£229
  • Expedia.com
    £229
  • Skyscanner.com
    £215
  • travelup.com
    £225
0.9 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
Room service
£81
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
3.1 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Bar/Lounge
Royal National Room Standard Plus Twin
£150
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £146
  • Skyscanner.com
    £114
  • Hotels.com
    £150
2.7 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£170
  • Expedia.com
    £170
  • Canopy by Hilton
    £170
  • Hotels.com
    £170
4.8 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge LondonCity Exterior
£87
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
4.8 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£42
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    £42
  • Vio.com
    £42
  • Agoda.com
    £42
2.4 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
£75
  • Agoda.com
    £62
  • Priceline
    £74
  • Travelodge
    £62
4.3 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
£85
  • Priceline
    £72
  • Agoda.com
    £68
  • Vio.com
    £71
2.8 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
View more hotels in London
Reviews (6,231)
Filter reviews
6,233 results
Traveller rating
2,955
1,846
711
322
399
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,955
1,846
711
322
399
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hyde park theatre bar club room lillie langtry queensway tube station central line kensington gardens rooms are small notting hill beautiful hotel single room breakfast was excellent reception area an upgrade a lovely stay breakfast room location is excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 6,233 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2024

Location is great, close to two tube stations. But that's it. The room we were given was very small, no space in the bathroom at all, no drawers or even a small shelf in the bathroom which would be absolutely necessary. Toilet seat was broken and dirty as were the tiles.The wardrobe was extremely small. Rooms are definitely in need of renovation and refurbishment. Very mediocre breakfast, cheapest brands of jam and charcuterie, no croissants or bread available, watery scrambled eggs. The Cappuccinos we ordered arrived at our table lukewarm after 20 minutes waiting time. We had to wait for 30 minutes for the buffet to be restocked.Even though breakfast was included in our room rate we decided to have breakfast somewhere else the next day. Definitely not recommended.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katmic2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear katmic2412,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are truly sorry to hear that your stay fell short of your expectations and apologize for the numerous issues you encountered.

We understand your frustration with the small room size, limited bathroom space, and lack of basic amenities. We appreciate your feedback and are actively exploring options for renovation and refurbishment to enhance the overall guest experience.

We are deeply disappointed to hear about the uncleanliness of the toilet and surrounding area. This is completely unacceptable and does not reflect our standards. We will be conducting a thorough investigation and taking appropriate corrective actions to ensure such incidents do not occur again.

Regarding the breakfast, we sincerely apologize for the mediocrity of the selection and the long wait times you encountered. We strive to offer a delicious and satisfying breakfast experience, and we are clearly falling short in this area. We will immediately address these concerns with our food and beverage team and implement improvements to the menu selection and service efficiency.

We value your feedback and appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention. It allows us to identify areas where we need to improve and ensure a better experience for future guests. We hope you will give us another chance in the future to demonstrate our commitment to providing exceptional service and comfortable accommodations.

Sincerely,

Xavier Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

This is a unique one off hotel. it is situated in a great spot at the edge of Hyde Park. 2 nearby underground stations mean you can get anywhere quickly. It is also close to Paddington Station - an easy walk or one stop on the underground - meaning it is easy to get to Heathrow.

The decor in the public rooms is lovely - very old looking. A bit like a Scottish country house hotel - wood panelling, leather, old pictures on the wall etc. The history behind it is a bonus, linked to King Edward VII.

The bedroom was a little small but it had everything in it that we needed. The shower was over the bath, which isn't ideal, but it was a power shower, so very invigorating in the morning. The only issue was the lighting was poor, particularly for putting on make-up.

Room tip: Get one of the bigger rooms.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jaydeeAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Jaydee Aberdeen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel! We appreciate your kind words about our unique character and excellent location.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the easy access to public transportation, including the proximity to two underground stations and Paddington Station, making it convenient to explore London and travel to Heathrow Airport.

We appreciate your appreciation for the historic charm of our public areas, with their traditional decor reminiscent of a Scottish country house hotel. The rich history connected to King Edward VII is indeed a fascinating aspect of our establishment.

While we are happy to hear that your room had everything you needed, we acknowledge your feedback regarding the small size and the less than ideal lighting situation, particularly for makeup application. We are continuously looking for ways to improve our guest experience, and your feedback is valuable in helping us identify areas for potential upgrades.

Thank you again for choosing our hotel and for sharing your honest feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future when you have the opportunity to explore London again.

Sincerely,

Xavier Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2024 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying at this hotel which has one of the most beautiful public areas you will ever encounter at any hotel.

We used the hotel as a base to visit the West End theatres and being near the Red central line line underground for Queensway and being also near the Bayswater stop also we found it ideal. We park up in Stratford near the Olympic park and trust to London public transport which is excellent.

Our room was small, however that is typical for London where space is at a premium. The room was clean and perfect for our needs with a wardrobe and hangers inside. Yes, our bathroom was also small but there was everything we needed, also some well appointed toiletries which are always appreciated.

Throughout we found the staff helpful and polite. I had booked one night, and then decided to make a weekend of it and book another. This caused no problems and for the first time ever we received a room upgrade.

There are plenty of shops and restaurants on the next street, but the breakfast is good value (for London) at £15, £12 if you book the night before.

Overall, highly recommended!

Room tip: The hotel breakfast is good value.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NorthStar41664108898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Dear Neil,

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value your business in every possible manner.

I do hope that you would be coming back to stay with us in the not-too-distant future and I would have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back and overlook your entire stay for another pleasant experience.
Kind Regards, Marcel Gusita Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

Avoid using Booking.com and this hotel. Was travelling on business - booked 3 rooms for 3 nights. We were working 18 hr days. The second night all three rooms were kept awake by a drunken guest neighbour. The Police eventually arrived at 0245 snd he was put back in his room. Despite 3 of us having no sleep the hotel manager refused to compensate us despite the £300 I had paid for the rooms. He knew of our 18 hr shifts but only offered us a drink at the bar or some breakfast - knowing that we would not be at the hotel to accept. Manager said because I had booked through booking.com - a third party company they could not offer any or partial compensation on the room rate. Complained to Booking.com and they liaised with the hotel - replying that the hotel refused to compensate us. I would avoid this hotel and spend a bit more elsewhere. Disgraceful non customer focused hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank skiingcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Dear Skiingcity,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I I am really sorry to hear that your recent stay was not a pleasant one and I would cherish the opportunity to discuss your feedback in details.
Kind Regards, Grand Royale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2024

We stayed for 4 nights on a family trip to London, first things first the location was excellent with two tube stations within minutes walk.

We were aware the rooms would be small as we had read reviews and we don’t have an issue with this. But the size of the bathroom in our double room was ridiculous (however our son had a full size lovely bathroom in his single room!).

Literally a foot space to get in and out the shower and the shower was also blocked which meant the tray filled with water quickly, and only able to shower for 5 mins at a time. Bathroom was old and tired needs complete upgrading including grout in tiles, shower door and taps.

Even sitting on the toilet was a challenge!

Cleaner left our sons room door open after servicing the room and on speaking to reception about this, we didn’t even get an apology, we were just told this wasn’t the first time this had happened and that a complaint would be made!

On checking out whilst polite, no asking how our stay had been or anything like good customer service.

Finally, hotel bar closed abruptly at 11pm with no notice, one night with guests still drinking, so limited facilities.

Overall, sadly a very disappointing experience.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank angief5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2024

Dear angief5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! I I am really sorry to hear that your recent stay was not a pleasant one and I would cherish the opportunity to discuss your feedback in details .

Kind Regards, Grand Royale Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews