We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
£125
Agoda.com
£100
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
rampere1
Arklow, Ireland

Weekend in March.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Mar 2024via mobile
An exceptionally splendid hotel upon entrance with lavish wood and lush carpet. The room I stayed in was very small measuring just 4m by 3m (12ft x 10ft). I also found it odd that once I opened the door there was a stairs down into the room, I haven't seen that before.
Overall it was fine and the staff were friendly and ideal for Hyde Park and Kensington Palace area
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Check what room size you are getting before you complete your booking.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this review
Responded 1 Apr 2024
Dear rampere1,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Royale London Hyde Park! We're thrilled you were impressed by the grandeur of our entrance with its rich wood and plush carpets.

We understand your comment about the room size. As a historic building, some of our rooms retain their original layouts, which can be more compact than modern hotel rooms. We apologize if the size of your room wasn't ideal for your needs.

The unique feature you mentioned about the stairs leading down is likely due to the room's location within the building's layout. While uncommon, these features can add to the historic charm for some guests.

We're glad you found the staff friendly and the location convenient for exploring Hyde Park and Kensington Palace.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Wilson House soon.

Sincerely,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior View
Booking.com
£129
  • travelup.com
    £152
  • Vio.com
    £101
  • Expedia.com
    £155
0.4 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
£125
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £158
  • Agoda.com
    £82
  • Priceline
    £119
0.3 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge
£75
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
3.1 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Bar/Lounge
Royal National Room Standard Plus Double
Booking.com
£180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £180
  • Skyscanner.com
    £120
  • travelup.com
    £133
2.7 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Travelodge
£76
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
2.7 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
Booking.com
£170
  • Expedia.com
    £170
  • Hotels.com
    £170
  • Priceline
    £170
4.8 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Travelodge
£55
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
  • Vio.com
4.8 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£107
  • Priceline
    £91
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Expedia.com
    £89
2.8 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Priceline
£39
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    £39
  • Agoda.com
    £34
  • Skyscanner.com
    £38
2.4 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
£67
Go to your Happy Price
  • travelup.com
    £71
  • Agoda.com
    £58
  • Vio.com
    £58
4.3 miles from Grand Royale Hyde Park
Restaurant
View more hotels in London
Reviews (6,219)
Filter reviews
6,220 results
Traveller rating
2,955
1,846
710
318
391
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,955
1,846
710
318
391
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hyde park theatre bar club room lillie langtry queensway tube station central line kensington gardens rooms are small notting hill beautiful hotel single room breakfast was excellent reception area an upgrade a lovely stay breakfast room location is excellent
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 6,220 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2024

Hotel is in a great location
Near tubes and Park
Booked a Twin Club room
Apparently these rooms are 20% larger than the standard rooms...the club room is still very small though
The Bathroom is adequate but small too!
But with the Club you get One Banana, one orange and one Apple 🍏...tiny box of chocolates
And half bottle of wine
Shame there were two of us!!
Breakfast is adequate
Very disappointed as there is no restaurant for lunch or evening meals either
Would we stay here again?
No not really...there are lot's of Hotels in the area to choose from

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank les m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2024

Dear 893lesm,

Thank you for your honest review of the Grand Royale London Hyde Park. We appreciate your comments about our excellent location near the tube stations and Hyde Park.

We understand your disappointment about the size of the Twin Club room, even though it offered 20% more space than our standard rooms. We strive to maximize comfort within the historic building's layout.

We apologize that the complimentary Club room welcome amenities, while intended as a small gesture, seemed insufficient for two guests. We'll consider your feedback to improve this aspect.

Regarding the lack of a restaurant for lunch and dinner, the Grand Royale London Hyde Park primarily operates only for Breakfast as of now. However, there are numerous restaurants and cafes within walking distance offering a variety of cuisines. Our staff would be happy to recommend options upon request.

We acknowledge that with many hotels in the area, you have choices. While we may not be the perfect fit for every guest, we hope you consider us again if you prioritize a charming historic property in a fantastic location.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location 1 street away from 2 underground stations Queensway and Bayswster with plenty of shops, restuarants and bars. Just across from Kensington palace. Hotel has a very grand reception and staff at check in were efficient and pleasent. Room was very well furnished (room 106) but layout was very strange rooms are very small for 2. Bathroom door didnt open fully because of toilet paper bracket so this was difficult to manouver if you have any mobility issues so was the sink right infront of the shower cubicle but did appreciate the bathmat which is good for safety.
Negatives people standing outside smoking righg on the stairs including staff. On departure and checking out no thank you for your visit and encouragement to return. Overall a nice stay

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank williammS8173RP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear williammS8173RP,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your recent stay at Grand Royale London Hyde Park. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our grand reception area, the efficiency of our check-in staff, and the comfort of the room's furnishings especially, in room 106

We appreciate your feedback regarding the room layout in room 106. We understand that the size and bathroom configuration might not be ideal for two guests, particularly those with mobility limitations. We will take your observations into account as we plan for future renovations.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the inconsiderate smoking near the stairs, including by staff members. This absolutely does not reflect our smoking policy, and we will address this issue with the team to ensure it doesn't happen again.

While we're happy you had a nice overall stay, we are disappointed to hear we fell short in acknowledging you upon check-out. Thanking our guests for their stay and encouraging them to return is an important part of our hospitality philosophy. We will use your feedback to improve our departure procedures.

Thank you again for your valuable review. We hope to see you again soon, and we will strive to provide an even better experience next time.

Sincerely,

The [Grand Royale London Hyde Park Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Checked into club room 115 today. Room is dirty in bad need of a revamp. I have no idea how this hotel has 4* reviews on trip advisor. Room smells like smoke. Carpet is all ripped and bathroom is tiny. Chair in room is filthy covered in someone else's make up. Bed is like a rock and completely uneven. Corridors also very dated and smell. It's clear nothing has been done to upgrade or improve rooms in a long time. I can understand rooms being small as it's London but I've stayed in cleaner hostels. View is of a laneway with people looking in your room as there's just a sheer curtain on the window. Staff were polite that's about as positive as it gets.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank danikagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Dear danikagreen,

Thank you for your review of Grand Royale London Hyde Park. We are incredibly sorry to hear about the poor condition of your Club Room 115 and that it fell far short of the standards we aim to provide.

Your description of the uncleanliness, worn furniture, malfunctioning window, and unpleasant odors is unacceptable. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment this caused you.

We take all guest reviews seriously, and yours is particularly concerning. We will be immediately investigating the issues you raised with Club Room 115 to ensure it is taken out of service and addressed. We will also be reviewing the housekeeping procedures for this room type to prevent similar situations from happening again.

Sincerely,

Xavier Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2024

Booked a superior room through booking.com,well I would hate to be given a basic room if that was a superior one?
Hotel lobby was beautiful, Hotel was clean, Breakfast was spot on, plenty of choice,
Staff pleasant & polite
Will not stay again,

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank F8013UHkevinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2024

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are truly sorry that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations, particularly regarding the "superior room" you booked.

We appreciate your kind words about the hotel lobby, cleanliness, breakfast, and staff. We strive to provide a welcoming and comfortable environment for all our guests, and we're glad these aspects of your stay were positive.

Thank you again for your feedback. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with a superior experience that meets your expectations.

Sincerely,

Xavier Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2024

As per other reviews. Our room was smaller than most hotels. There is a room safe also fir your valuables.
However take in consideration of the location , staff, and enticing architecture design of this fabulous building you in for a treat.
We had building work next door but it never Interfered with our sleep .
Rooms very clean . Bathroom well stocked. Tea and coffee supplied with a packet of custard creams . Only 3 in a packet so we had a friendly fight for the extra one.
Internet speed is very fast and free . Just protect yourself with a good VPN.
Bed comfortable, slept well.
Looking forward to booking again on a threater weekend as it is right next door really to a tube station.
We also enjoyed walking around Hyde Park.
Breakfast was real value for money .Once again the service was brilliant.
As they say location, location ,location.
Add the special staff and enjoy this hotel.
We were also allowed to leave our luggage in a room until late so we could explore some more before catching a 9pm flight.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Collydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Xavier Gomes, Guest Services / Front Office at Grand Royale Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Dear Collydriver,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and positive review of our hotel! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our location, staff, and architecture design were all highlights for you.

We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the building work next door, and we're glad to know that it didn't disrupt your sleep. We appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness of your room, the well-stocked bathroom, and the complimentary tea, coffee, and biscuits. It's always nice to hear when guests find our internet speed to be fast and reliable.

We're also delighted that you enjoyed exploring Hyde Park and found our breakfast to be good value for money. We are committed to providing excellent service, and we are happy to know that our staff met your expectations.

Thank you again for your kind words and for recommending our hotel to others. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future theater weekend!

Sincerely,

Xavier Gomes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews