We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, Convienient and Adequate for a Short Break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #878 of 1,090 Hotels in London
sunderland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap, Convienient and Adequate for a Short Break!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

This is the third time I have stayed here and I have very little to grumble about.
I travel to London with my sister for weekend breaks around twice a year and always book with Superbreaks on their rail and hotel deals, paying aroung £120 each for rail from Newcastle and bed and breakfast.
This hotel has a fantastic location, 5 mins to the Russell Square tube station and a pleasnat 15 mins walk down to Cocvent Garden. Its only a 5 min walk to the British Museum too!
The hotel itself is always full of student/ children parties and very often these seem to be Italian, I can honestly say that apart from them perhaps being a little rude ( queue jumping mainly) Ive never had any problems.
The rooms are clean and basic but I never spend much time in my room to be fair.
Breakfast can be a bit hectic with a canteen style setting where you may have to share a large table with others but I dont see this as a problem, but there is plenty to eat, fruit, cereal, toast, tea and coffee are the basic but I always get the ful english included in my Superbreak deal anyway, if not I believe you can pay extra for the upgrade and enjoy your fill of bacon, sausage, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and beans.
The only down points for me are
1) The hotel is huge and out of the 8 lifts I have only ever known 4 be working, however the stairs are always an option!
2) The traffic outside is very noisey, regardless of the windows being closed, unfortunately I have found this to be the case in nearly every London hotel I have stayed in regarless of rating or class so I guess ear plugs may be useful!

All in all if you just want a base to explore London this hotel is fine, I wouldnt want to stay there for much longer then 3 or 4 nights but on a budget it does exactly what it says on the tin!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodlesjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    1,651
    3,084
    1,264
    1,301
See reviews for
2,178
1,917
379
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brechin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay in the Royal National Hotel and would caution anyone else never to stay there. The room and bathroom & toilet (yes they were separate with no sink in the toilet to wash one's hands) were all filthy. The corridors were horrible with a fag end lying on the carpet the whole time we were there. The shower head was disgusting. The staff at check in were inept and unfriendly and at check out made no eye contact and just demanded the room number without any pleasantries or enquiries about our stay. Breakfast was awful. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angusquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

Hotel clean & tidy, beds comfortable, breakfast good start to the day. Very central for tourists in London, easy to commute to & from in London.

Had read very bad reviews on the Hotel, but our group of 14 had no problems at all. Will use again.

Room Tip: East to commute around London by foot, tube, bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beg132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

very handy hotel close to the underground and walking distance from kingscross and euston stations it is built round three court yards rooms on the middle court yard can be noicey with taxis and buses driving in all night ask for a quiet room if a light sleeper ask for a quiet room the staff are very helpfull

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychap99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights because the price was reasonable and the location was great, howevre i will NOT be staying there again. We had to pay up front which im not surprised at now because im sure people have seen the state of the rooms and left. The carpets in the room where filthy. Looked like a hoover hadn't been run over them in weeks, the hot tap in the bathroom sink was broken, the toilet roll holder was broken. there was some sort of liquid splashed across the wall in the bedroom and wardrobe that could have been easily cleaned with a cloth. the wardrobe smelled musty and there was a heavy blanket just thrown in the bottom of it. if you sat on the bed it nearly wheeled across the room. the kettle was dirty & i found a dirty sock lying on the floor that was not ours. Also before we had checked out they had come in and changed the sheets whih i think is v unhygienic (the first night i found a hair in my bed that wasn't mine)

Our room was right next to the street so you could hear everything. I was also woken a couple of times each night by a loud banging. Breakfast was tasty but it was like a cattle market down there, not enough room for people to sit plus 50% of the lifts where broken so we had to take the stairs in the morning.

On our first night we phoned down to order a taxi to take us to a show & where put on hold for 10 minutes (and there where plenty of staff standing around when we went down). We asked the connoisseur to phone us a taxi but instead he directed us out onto the road to flag one down ourselves.

We had a great wkend regardless but i would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Our stay was awful. it was full of students from abroad. none of the lifts worked and we were on the 5th floor.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

location 5*, get an oyester card for the duration fo your stay...
tesco express over road to russel sq underground station less then 50m away from hotel ( reasonable & no que at till)
may need to change for hoborne if not staing on the picadily line.
Get a WINDSOR room, where you get the included English bkfast otherwise you will need to pay £4.5 @ the till in th mornings.
Cafeteria style dining arrangement, get your food, THEN find a table.
Because it is set out as a square shape layout ,even though no check in on the north side, the Toilets, seating area & breakfast arrangements Are MUCH better oln the north side. The bar either oytside or inside will stop serving if you have kids @ 10:30, and BEWARE will serve under 18yrs without asking for ID. Yes it was full of students, yes it is extreamly cosmopolitan in its clientel. Yes people do check in literally 24hrs a day-It is only £4.50 taxi ride from Euston Station, It is clean ( if you get a windsor room) and Kids breakfast of only £3.50 a day - please do not post here if you expect 5* setting & and amience - as they say Keep it real !!!

Room Tip: ask for windso room, ask for floor 5 ( no problem)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florida-no1fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#580 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #878 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing