We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not enjoyable at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #878 of 1,089 Hotels in London
1 review
“Not enjoyable at all!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my mum booked this hotel through superbreaks for a theatre and shopping trip. On arrival...my goodness...we were greeted at the reception desk and checked in within minutes, its a shame it took us 30 minutes to find our room as the receptionist gave us no direction of where our room was and rudely 'shooed' us on our way! As this was our first stay here we were unaware there was a north and south building, so obviously we were left wandering up and down the north building completely unaware we were on the wrong side of the courtyard. After meandering up and down many worn out, foul, hospital smelling corridors we were advised by a member of the concierge we were in the wrong building. Luckily...our corridor was freshly redecorated (more promising). After 30 mins we finally found our room which was actually quite nice and very very clean...phew! All good things come to an end though....2am drunks at the pub underneath and a terrible terrible canteen breakfast. Yuk.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    1,651
    3,085
    1,265
    1,301
See reviews for
2,180
1,917
379
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

It was the worst 5 days in this hotel! The staff it is extremly rude! The room it has several destroyed things! Some wooden areas in the bathroom was rotten! Inside the bathroom and outside it if the bathtub were not even a drain! When I was trying to rest for the noon without any knocking a well dressed lady entered in the room claiming that she was the room service and telling me that they will charge me if any water will fall again out of the bathtube! She didn't asked me to forgive her for the intrusion! When I asked to see the manager they told me to come to the reception but there was just a supervisor! And she asked me to write down a complain to them or it will be better to make a written complain to the room service of the floor because they are different departments and they don't have to do much much with their department!!! The noise of the other rooms are awful!!! It is easy to listen any room up above you or bellow and almost 2-3 rooms near my room at the same floor! It was easy to smell everyone that were smoking and it was extremly annoying! The blankets are parts of a larger cloth and were cutted with a hand scissor! My blanket also had cigar burns in various spots! They don't change sheets not even after 4 days!!!

The staff of the breakfast were everyday in bad mood and with no manners! A relative of our family has problem with his feet and wanted to sit down after 30-50 minutes waiting at the line to enter at the breakfast hall and they don't let him to sit! They even said that it is for security reasons because they don't know if he had a bomb in his bag!!!! An old person with a bag it is a security problem for them! More stupid than that dies! No manners, no politeness, no service! Avoid any bookings!!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mario-Giorgio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Fortunately London is a wonderful city and normally, despite of the weather, visitors tend to see places and go back to the hotel only to sleep.
The continental breakfast is a joke. No croissant, only slices of bread with plastic jam.
Rooms are small, old and dirty, and basically they do not have a window as you cannot fully open it.The only good thing about the "hotel" is the location near the tube station.
It is weird that I have booked this hotel through BA, how can they suggest this?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ferrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Although the Royal National is a huge hotel with, I believe, something like 1.600 rooms, it is a nice place to stay at. There is nothing exciting about the rooms, but they are clean, the beds are very good, and it's quiet. Unless you have a room facing the street and keep your window open! Even if you can handle the noice from the traffic, the sirens from fire trucks and ambulances from nearby Euston Fire station will wake you up. So, close your window, draw the curtains, and you'll be fine!

As always, you get what you pay for, and Royal National is no exception. If you want to be pampered, chose Claridges or some such, if you want a good place to sleep while you spend your money on more interesting things, chose Royal National.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ylimarkku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

It is always all matter of expectations. If you call yourself hotel you do expect services and facilities of that kind. If you instead find yourself into an establishment that has not been renovated since construction probably 30 something years ago, that has NO internet connection in the rooms (hey we are in 2013!), where you can hear birds whispering one mile away - and thus rather well all comments of the guests of the pub underneath at 2AM and all this in the a building as ugly as a condo in Moscow suburbs in the Soviet era .... Well you cannot call yourself hotel! Said that the room was reasonably clean and the bed comfortable even if tiny.

Room Tip: If you really need to stay here avoid rooms with "view" and "ears" on the court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baol1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My sister booked this hotel for closeness to the theatres. 5 rooms through a booking agent book a room . Com. Joint 40th birthday celebrations for myself and my brother in law. On arrival no rooms booked as agent had not confirmed booking so after 2 hours at reception they insisted on further payment of 507 pounds to confirm the rooms as we were now running late for the matinée of warhorse we had to put our bags in storage and head to the theatre after a superb show lightening the mood we returned to the hotel to what we thought would be a hassle free checkin my sister was told that her card would now be pte authorised for 756 pounds with another 20 minutes wasted at reception. Customer service at this so called family run hotel wss discraceful. I have spent 25 years in the hospitality industry staying in hotels regularly all
iver the world snd have never seen such contempt for the customers. Give this hotel a wide birth if you wsnt to be treated with any respect.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dharry73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had stayed there for a total of 9 nights . 5 to 11 November and 17 to 19 November . For our first 7 nights we were given a room on the 6th floor at the south part of the hotel . 2 single beds with worn out bed linen , (bed sheets with holes),an old fashion tv , bathroom with a shower attached on the wall indicating that it was placed there at a later time as an extra accessory , no hair drier (you could borrow one with a 20,00 pounds refundable guarantee) no shampoo and shower gel (you had to ask the cleaning staff for it).
The continental breakfast included in our rate was the worst we had ever had at a hotel of this class . The only fairly eatable food was their muesli if you could endure the cold milk on offer at 08,30 in the morning . The hotel staff mainly comprises of non English employees , where especially at the concierge desk (only male staff there) they were rude and hardly speaking any English . Things were better at the reception desk maybe due to the fact that the clerks were female, where especially on our last 2 nights we were given a much better room at the north part of the hotel which looked more to date than our previous one . Location and easy access to Oxford street as well as a direct line from and to Heathrow airport are among the advantages . Finally , even though there is a huge number of people moving about at the hotel's premises as a result to its size , the room areas are fairly quiet with the exception of the opening and closing doors sound from 7 in the morning when breakfast starts being offered .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank candevoyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#582 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#234 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #878 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing