We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #872 of 1,067 Hotels in London
essex,england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but cheap”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Was dreading this stay after reading the reviews, especially as I was taking my daughter up London for a treat, but our room was clean, and quiet, with an amazing shower. Breakfast was ok, but we did get up early to beat the rush. I've stayed in this hotel chain before and prefer the imperial, but this hotel is cheaper, and if it's just a room to sleep in, then this is brilliant value for money. Staff were friendly too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank divvydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    1,683
    3,161
    1,303
    1,329
See reviews for
2,238
1,970
386
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Check in was very slow, breakfast was OK, room very clean, only fault with room TV remote did not work even with new batteries and double plug socket only one worked and nearly came away from wall when taking plug out, on the whole we enjoyed are trip would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666LindaB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Unbelievable bad service. The payment from the booking office wasn’t yet received they said and they couldn’t call abroad to confirm anything (company policy they said). After forcing me to reserve a full payment on my CC (more expensive then my original booking), and after pushing them to take more action on my situation “they finally received” the payment notification.

Then I asked for a confirmation of the reservation cancelation. They refused to write this down black on white, because they were not allowed to write down such statements (again a weird company policy). Throughout the weekend neither the managers or administration office workers where available, only “supervisors”, that can or will do absolutely nothing for you as customer.

Now I’m trying to contact the hotel, they constantly reconnect me or tell me that the administration office (checkers desk) is on a break (at 9 in the morning). It seems like they’re constantly looking for excuses to not actually have to help you, dreadful place, never again!

Ruined a weekend that could have been great!

Massive hotel, just there to leech from customers. Rooms are really basic, as is breakfast. Locations is good, parking (of course) is expensive (£17 a day). I called the hotel upfront for information about parking, they couldn’t give any advice. Later heard from a local that free parking is possible in zone 2 (metro day cards £7 can take you everywhere).

Room Tip: Just don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel was in an ideal location, just ten minutes walk from Trafalgar Square and on several bus routes. The staff were very friendly and my room was relatively quiet considering that we were in the centre of London. However... I would have preferred the room to include a hairdryer, a clean carpet and a complete set of functioning lights.
This hotel is a budget hotel, that doesn't freely supply shampoo, and also, one of the mattresses in my twin room had springs sticking out. The hotel isn't great, and it isn't cheerful. It's a budget hotel, and it's only saving grace is the friendliness of a couple of members of staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanniiee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is in a good location ,we have always found it clean and tidy.there are a few downsides the bar is very small and is always filled with people on the internet not drinking but surfing.Breakfast is always only lukewarm ,checkin is, always very slow.On the upside the staff are always friendly .

Room Tip: Get a room on the northside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My partner & I stayed here in July 2013 & again in August 2013, Hotel is in a great location! My partner & I walked to many major attractions.
Decent room clean & spacious, nice bar area, would not recommend continental breakfast unless you like cold toast & cereal, free wifi in lobby was good when not overloaded with guests.
Pizza restaurant down stairs was nice & good value for money, pub opposite was always busy & friendly staff.
Overall nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a college trip as we were at a conference in London. The hotel was in a good location as it was in walking distance for many of London's sights and delights however the hotel was filthy, dust and grime on the desks, lamps, kettle full of water -goodness knows how old it was, I assume the bathroom had not been cleaned before our stay as the bin was full and mirror full of grease. The beds were disgusting sheets had definitely not been changed as hair (not a strand but a few clumps) under the sheets. Would have slept on the floor if that had have been cleaner.
Was very dissatisfied and will never stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#508 of 1,067 in London
3,411 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#562 of 1,067 in London
1,987 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#239 of 1,067 in London
1,726 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #872 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing