We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "stay away hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #879 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We arrived at this hotel around 13:15 and were told at the reception desk that check-in time was 14:00 so we'd have to wait until then.
In the meantime a huge crowd of travel-tired tourists had gathered for checking in and were watched mockingly by the inactive staff of the reception desk.
When the check-in finally started each guest had to fill out a form which further extended the delay. The rooms we were assigned were very small, basic and noisy but clean.

At breakfast we again were confronted with a huge waiting crowd and were forwarded to another wing of the hotel where we queued up in another row and couldn't find a vacant table.
When we finally found a spot the hotel's definition of continental breakfast proved to be their own intrepetation: buns resembled floppy tennis balls, jelly seemed to come from a chemical plant.
All in all: don't spoil your London trip by bookin this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,575 - 1,581 of 8,272 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here a few years ago, and was not overly impressed, but, the location was very convenient, about a block away from the Russel Square subway station. Basic, non descript rooms, but clean and tidy.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Was dreading this stay after reading the reviews, especially as I was taking my daughter up London for a treat, but our room was clean, and quiet, with an amazing shower. Breakfast was ok, but we did get up early to beat the rush. I've stayed in this hotel chain before and prefer the imperial, but this hotel is cheaper, and if it's just a room to sleep in, then this is brilliant value for money. Staff were friendly too.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank divvydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Check in was very slow, breakfast was OK, room very clean, only fault with room TV remote did not work even with new batteries and double plug socket only one worked and nearly came away from wall when taking plug out, on the whole we enjoyed are trip would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666LindaB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Unbelievable bad service. The payment from the booking office wasn’t yet received they said and they couldn’t call abroad to confirm anything (company policy they said). After forcing me to reserve a full payment on my CC (more expensive then my original booking), and after pushing them to take more action on my situation “they finally received” the payment notification.

Then I asked for a confirmation of the reservation cancelation. They refused to write this down black on white, because they were not allowed to write down such statements (again a weird company policy). Throughout the weekend neither the managers or administration office workers where available, only “supervisors”, that can or will do absolutely nothing for you as customer.

Now I’m trying to contact the hotel, they constantly reconnect me or tell me that the administration office (checkers desk) is on a break (at 9 in the morning). It seems like they’re constantly looking for excuses to not actually have to help you, dreadful place, never again!

Ruined a weekend that could have been great!

Massive hotel, just there to leech from customers. Rooms are really basic, as is breakfast. Locations is good, parking (of course) is expensive (£17 a day). I called the hotel upfront for information about parking, they couldn’t give any advice. Later heard from a local that free parking is possible in zone 2 (metro day cards £7 can take you everywhere).

Room Tip: Just don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel was in an ideal location, just ten minutes walk from Trafalgar Square and on several bus routes. The staff were very friendly and my room was relatively quiet considering that we were in the centre of London. However... I would have preferred the room to include a hairdryer, a clean carpet and a complete set of functioning lights.
This hotel is a budget hotel, that doesn't freely supply shampoo, and also, one of the mattresses in my twin room had springs sticking out. The hotel isn't great, and it isn't cheerful. It's a budget hotel, and it's only saving grace is the friendliness of a couple of members of staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanniiee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is in a good location ,we have always found it clean and tidy.there are a few downsides the bar is very small and is always filled with people on the internet not drinking but surfing.Breakfast is always only lukewarm ,checkin is, always very slow.On the upside the staff are always friendly .

Room Tip: Get a room on the northside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#573 of 1,077 in London
2,693 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,077 in London
3,660 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#559 of 1,077 in London
2,095 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#128 of 1,077 in London
1,272 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#302 of 1,077 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #879 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £68 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing