We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #874 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we stayed here for three nights for a package deal, inc train fare. cant really complain for the price . very big hotel and very noisy, our window opened onto roof top next to huge pipes which made a right racket, so opening window wasnt really an option! basic room but ok, hairdryer kettle, etc. breakfast was bedlam but to be fair, we always got a seat no bother. basic continental, no yogurts or fresh fruit/cheese/croissants....! just bog standard creals/toast etc. was sufficiant htough and had the option of full english included in my stay. staff hit and miss, some very nice, some indifferent. overall i prob wouldnt go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamishpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 8,155 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Two pensioners on a Theatre Break were delighted by the location of this hotel, easy walking distance from Euston, with good access to buses and the Tube.
We were given a free dinner on our first evening available at any of the "Family Group Hotels". The food was OK but we ate out after that.
The Breakfast room was very crowded but the food was acceptable, all except the toast which was limp cold and under-done. My wife lamented the lack of fresh fruit.
The bedroom was clean and comfortable but the constant roar of traffic almost ruined our visit.
The staff were polite and efficient, when dealing with young and old. We were impressed
by the number of groups arriving and departing. The courtyard resembled a human anthill at times.
Over-all, our stay was a happy one because we saw the shows we wanted and met many interesting people but we shall be looking for somewhere small and quieter next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not overlook Woburn Place or Bedford Way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I escorted a group of college students for a study abroad trip. We stayed at RN hotel for one week. I have stayed at many European hotels, they all offer breakfast. This hotel offered toast and cereal as included continental breakfast. My students, who were poor, began the day overeating soggy toast.
The hotel was smoky because people smoked just outside the doors and it filtered up into the stairwells and the lobby.
The lobby wifi rarely ever worked.
The lobby was always crowded and noisy.
The room was fine, but everything was worn.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I have stayed here several times upon visiting London for a few days. The hotel is clean and the breakfast food is nice although slightly chaotic and you will almost definitely have problems getting a seat. If visiting London as a proper tourist and seeing all of the sights then you will only sleep in the hotel and it will be ok. If, however, you want a relaxing break this is not the appropriate hotel to stay in. Also if you have a poor sense of direction then this hotels size will cause problems for you when trying to find your room.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that isn't on the main road is it can be very noisy if you are not used to it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Huge, crowded & tired hotel, map needed to find my tiny room, cleanliness not great. Breakfast (continental) was appalling, apple juice like syrup, soggy cold toast. On the upside the check in staff were efficient and polite and the location was great.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpwle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights which was plenty enough. The room was large enough to occupy 4 of us. It was clean but rather dated. Only 2 plug sockets. The put up bed was awfully hard. We were in a corner of the hotel so it was nice and quiet in the evening/night time. Huge, busy hotel in a good location.
Breakfast was basic. No brown bread, fresh fried eggs put out but the yolks had turned as were so rock hard. Think they were already cooked and waiting for ages out back. Very busy in the breakfast room as had to find a seat everyday.
Staff lovely. Vending machines in lobbies with drinks and snacks so very handy at night.
Would not bring my children here though.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank NorfolkGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here before leaving on a Contiki. It was kind of run down, the staff wasn't super helpful either. Has a very hostel vibe with multiple people in the room. The nice thing is that my roommates were friendly and it was close to the tube (though beware, Russell Square always had a crowd and though there are elevators, you have to take two flights of stairs to get to those elevators, so with bags, it was a nightmare). They did have a few shuttle service recommendations, so I did that to get back to Heathrow and it was well worth it. There was internet in the lobby for free, so expect a crowd, but the bar was fairly priced. DO NOT GET FISH AND CHIPS at the pub around the corner, they were awful!

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the elevators because this place is a maze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetMelissa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#584 of 1,075 in London
2,660 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,075 in London
3,573 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#568 of 1,075 in London
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,075 in London
1,250 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#279 of 1,075 in London
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #874 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing