We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok if your backpacking on a budget and want to eat from the supermarket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #874 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 25 June 2014

booked because only central hotel that offered a triple room and thought Superbreaks vetted decent hotels, wrong. Room clean enough but breakfast like a school canteen - not even a tea bag in sight just brown stewed sludge from a machine - went 1 day out of 3 and as for on site facilities -pub like a weatherspoons on a dreary bank holiday....not for the faint hearted. know to avoid Imperial Hotel Group if this was the quality. many for students - all in all like a school exhange trip - not a relaxing Super Break - theather however was very good.

Room Tip: dont go unless cost is your priority or your under 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 8,155 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is reasonably priced and very handy for Russell Square Tube Station. However, the decor looks very tired and dated. The corridors could do with a lick of paint to cover all the scuff marks! Our room, however, was clean and functional but very basic. The shower was old-fashioned and operated by using the bath taps.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired - if you had only paid for The Continental option, it looked like cereal, grapefruit, toast and jam were your only options. The machine-dispensed coffee and tea were stewed and barely drinkable. We had paid for English breakfast, which had slightly better offerings but the baked beans were obviously cheap - if you could find any in the sauce! The rest was okay to get you going for the day.

The actual breakfast dining area took me back to my school dinner hall! To be fair, I'm not sure how else they'd seat so many people so quickly. The staff seemed friendly enough, with the exception of one who wouldn't let us sit at the table he'd just cleaned and insisted we went elsewhere!

For a national hotel, online access was dreadful. If business is your thing or you need to stay in touch electronically, don't bother!

Would I stay here again? Probably not - I think I'd rather shell out a few more pounds to stay somewhere less impersonal and more up-to-date.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueHR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

It's not the sort of hotel I would book (it's huge!) but this was booked by work.

Room size was ok, could do with a bit of updating. Shower was hot and quite good as long as you don't mind sharing with the shower curtain that attempts to stick to you, and is not quite long enough to stop the floor from getting soaked (no bath mat and limited towels - for a twin room with 2 occupants we got 1 towel each). There is no hair dryer in the room and you have to ask house keeping for one - they only have a limited supply and had none left when I asked.

Sheets were clean, but the mattresses have seen better days.

There is also no air con. Staying in London in June it can be hot and humid - your only option is to have the window open. Unfortunately as the hotel is on a very busy road sleep is not very easy (bring earplugs!)

I didn't attempt the breakfast as the hotel is massive and I didn't fancy my chances!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although room was clean...the feeling was stuffy and extremely hot with noise from the corridors and surrounding areas. Breakfast was poor with only basic white bread toast and coffee and spreads with cereals.Full English at an extra 5 pounds. The dining room filled to burst with nowhere to sit. I would not stay in a place like this. This was a reservation done through my work and will certainly report to them to not consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiguelinaMishina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been in this hotel twice, first in 2010 and the second in 2013. The first time I was lucky enough to have a fairly quiet room and renovated recently but the second time, my husband and I we had a second floor room very noisy, very old with a dilapidated bathroom. Very bad, in this case, the quality-price ratio.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Ugh, I hated this hotel. London was our first stop on our European honeymoon and since we were just visiting for a couple nights, we decided we'd be ok staying in this "budget" hotel. Believe all the reviews... the place is huge and hard to navigate. The rooms are small and we had two separate twin beds, which were about as comfortable as sleeping on a pile of cardboard. The room was SO HOT! No air conditioning! And you can only open the window about an inch as they have a security lock on it. Next time, we will avoid this place,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57amandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is conveniently located near Bedford Square tube which connects you to just about anywhere in London. The hotel has what you need; a bed, shower and small tv. There is wifi in the lobby which is a bit patchy but does the job.
Best part about the hotel is the London Pub which is located on the bottom level which has such a great atmosphere and full of travelers

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#584 of 1,075 in London
2,660 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#510 of 1,075 in London
3,573 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#568 of 1,075 in London
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#131 of 1,075 in London
1,251 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#279 of 1,075 in London
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #874 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing