We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst hotel ever” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal National Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #876 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Dated, noisy, soul destroying. The hotel was booked for me by another company and I regret not changing it.
I tried to get lunch in the Italian on the grounds and having picked up a menu waited 25 minutes for the waiter before I left and headed to the local shopping centre.

There is a tiny bar of soap in the bathroom, no shampoo so bring your own,the breakfast is like something from a prison except I would expect prison food to be better. Do yourself a favour and have breakfast somewhere else, Brunswick S.C. is nearby

Surely it's possible to run a budget hotel better than this.

Room Tip: Book a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleIslander2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    1,630
    3,016
    1,239
    1,268
See reviews for
2,119
1,876
374
437
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (698)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

booked because only central hotel that offered a triple room and thought Superbreaks vetted decent hotels, wrong. Room clean enough but breakfast like a school canteen - not even a tea bag in sight just brown stewed sludge from a machine - went 1 day out of 3 and as for on site facilities -pub like a weatherspoons on a dreary bank holiday....not for the faint hearted. know to avoid Imperial Hotel Group if this was the quality. many for students - all in all like a school exhange trip - not a relaxing Super Break - theather however was very good.

Room Tip: dont go unless cost is your priority or your under 25
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is reasonably priced and very handy for Russell Square Tube Station. However, the decor looks very tired and dated. The corridors could do with a lick of paint to cover all the scuff marks! Our room, however, was clean and functional but very basic. The shower was old-fashioned and operated by using the bath taps.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired - if you had only paid for The Continental option, it looked like cereal, grapefruit, toast and jam were your only options. The machine-dispensed coffee and tea were stewed and barely drinkable. We had paid for English breakfast, which had slightly better offerings but the baked beans were obviously cheap - if you could find any in the sauce! The rest was okay to get you going for the day.

The actual breakfast dining area took me back to my school dinner hall! To be fair, I'm not sure how else they'd seat so many people so quickly. The staff seemed friendly enough, with the exception of one who wouldn't let us sit at the table he'd just cleaned and insisted we went elsewhere!

For a national hotel, online access was dreadful. If business is your thing or you need to stay in touch electronically, don't bother!

Would I stay here again? Probably not - I think I'd rather shell out a few more pounds to stay somewhere less impersonal and more up-to-date.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueHR51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

It's not the sort of hotel I would book (it's huge!) but this was booked by work.

Room size was ok, could do with a bit of updating. Shower was hot and quite good as long as you don't mind sharing with the shower curtain that attempts to stick to you, and is not quite long enough to stop the floor from getting soaked (no bath mat and limited towels - for a twin room with 2 occupants we got 1 towel each). There is no hair dryer in the room and you have to ask house keeping for one - they only have a limited supply and had none left when I asked.

Sheets were clean, but the mattresses have seen better days.

There is also no air con. Staying in London in June it can be hot and humid - your only option is to have the window open. Unfortunately as the hotel is on a very busy road sleep is not very easy (bring earplugs!)

I didn't attempt the breakfast as the hotel is massive and I didn't fancy my chances!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although room was clean...the feeling was stuffy and extremely hot with noise from the corridors and surrounding areas. Breakfast was poor with only basic white bread toast and coffee and spreads with cereals.Full English at an extra 5 pounds. The dining room filled to burst with nowhere to sit. I would not stay in a place like this. This was a reservation done through my work and will certainly report to them to not consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiguelinaMishina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been in this hotel twice, first in 2010 and the second in 2013. The first time I was lucky enough to have a fairly quiet room and renovated recently but the second time, my husband and I we had a second floor room very noisy, very old with a dilapidated bathroom. Very bad, in this case, the quality-price ratio.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Ugh, I hated this hotel. London was our first stop on our European honeymoon and since we were just visiting for a couple nights, we decided we'd be ok staying in this "budget" hotel. Believe all the reviews... the place is huge and hard to navigate. The rooms are small and we had two separate twin beds, which were about as comfortable as sleeping on a pile of cardboard. The room was SO HOT! No air conditioning! And you can only open the window about an inch as they have a security lock on it. Next time, we will avoid this place,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#238 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #876 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Superbreak UK so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing