We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never going to be my first choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal National Hotel
Ranked #873 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never going to be my first choice”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here for 2nights with my sister a few weeks ago. When we got there we had to que up for 20minutes to check in then was given directions to the room. When we finally found the room we noticed that under tge beds were crisp and chocolate packets under one of the beds. When using the bathroom I also noticed a pungent smell coming from the wash basin when the tap was turned on. In the morning we went down to breakfast and after wueing outside the cafeteria for what felt like an hour but was around half hour a very rude lady said we had to sit at the end of s table that was set for 4 people. There were already 2 people sat at the table in the middle of eating there breakfast. My sister asked if we could have a table to ourselfs and the lady showed us to another table that had just become free but then said that two more people WILL be seated next to us. The lady was very blunt and did not smile. After going out for the day I returned to the room and although housekeeping had been in and replaced the towels I noticed the crisp and chocolate wrappers were still under one of the beds. There were also a pile of plates left outside a room in the corridor when we first checked in and they were still there after returning to my room the night after. We could not wait to leave and did not stay for breakfast the second morning.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kitrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    1,695
    3,194
    1,328
    1,348
See reviews for
2,276
1,993
393
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I went with a party of 15 lady's on a hen due. This hotel came in with a package deal thankgod. I would never ever pay to stay here if I hadn't gone with a cheap hen weekend package. Luckily we were out all day and night. I still have the bruses on my hip from tuning in bed and hitting my friends bed next to me. Did not even eat breakfast there as it was like a cattle market trying to even see a seat. There's a cafe/bar just down the road called night and day. Full English coffee and a coke I got and still got change from 10pound. If u are going away and will not be in the hotel at all and it's part of a cheap package it's just a room so yeah try it. If your booking to stay here at proper price don't do it. It is not worth it's money at all. I will never go back now that's for sure x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlaradford9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in late July 2017 with my girlfriend. At first glance you think it's a decent hotel, nice lobby, seemy friendly staff but once you get to your room you'll want to run. The room was terrible! Hard, dirty beds, no aircon and the window on opens slightly, noise from traffic all night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomc88_adel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Of Malta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The location of this hotel is good and that is it.
1st room allocated 2 single beds on either side of the room, 2nd room ok, hotel old carpet dirty, b/fast cold toast and cereals juice and hot bev only

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for one night before a contiki and 3 nights after. Everything was very old and very run down, seems they don't spend much, if any, money on maintenance here. Both rooms that we had were clean considering how the corridors of the hotel look, which was a pleasant surprise. No wifi available, even in the lobby. Reception staff are very rude and not interested in making your stay easy or more comfortable. Very noisy with the busy roads outside. Beds are old and very worn, likewise with the pillows. Showers were hot but very small. Advice would be to stay somewhere nicer in the area if you are going on Contiki, there are loads of hotels in the few blocks surrounding which would still making getting to your tour in the morning very easy.

Room Tip: booking for more than one night got us a room further down the block from the reception and faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crimpyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

No complaints really , cheap central hotel. Ok if its just somewhere to lay your head after a long day out, as it was for us. Rooms would benefit from air conditioning as they were stiffling. Breakfast was ok nothing to rave about, just what you would expect from a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was small, really small, and clean with 2 single beds and adequate storage. The bathroom had a sliding door since there was not enough room for a swinging door. Good shower and hot water. No air conditioning though that was not a problem in June. No noise from the hall or other rooms but there was road noise even though we were on the 5th floor. We did not sleep well on any of the 6 nights we were there. Tiny TV and off and on Wifi that created a problem for us since we have no cell phone and use Wifi exclusively. It has an excellent location- a 5 minute walk to the British museum and a 2 minute walk to a tube stop. There are lots of tours groups staying there so it has some appeal. Breakfast was fruit, cereal, toast, juice, coffee and the option for a full English breakfast for extra cost. Can seat 100 for breakfast so this is a big busy place. Concierges were helpful but not friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 564Bert1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#254 of 1,069 in London
1,744 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St Giles London - A St Giles Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#459 of 1,069 in London
4,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal National Hotel

Property: Royal National Hotel
Address: 38-51 Bedford Way, London WC1H 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #873 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique and lively hotel with unparalleled facilities and direct London Underground link with Heathrow Airport. The Royal National offers a variety of drinking and dining options including a pizzeria, carvery, pub, bar and a coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal National London
Hotel Royal National
Hotel National Royal
National Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing