We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recently refurbished comfort and style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #185 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Almeria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Recently refurbished comfort and style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Our recently refurbished room was large, quiet and comfortable with all the amenities expected of a 4 star. The Reception, Concierge, Cleaning and Lounge staff are all extremely pleasant and polite. The location is terrific, being adjacent to Victoria Railway Station - handy for the tube, mainline rail, Gatwick Express and Big Bus Tours. Short walk from Westminster, Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park. Afternoon tea in the lounge is a real treat, dainty sandwiches, fancies and scones with jam and cream. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinaAlmeria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear CoinaAlmeria,

Thank you for the great review

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,010
    1,219
    367
    119
    49
See reviews for
771
1,592
165
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (857)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

We spent the weekend at the Grosvenor and I cannot commend the staff enough for making it very special for my Fiancee' and I. It was a special occasion as I proposed to my Fiancee' on that weekend. We were within an Executive room with access to the Executive Lounge and the experience will never be forgotten. On arrival we were met by the assistant manageress Ines Weifenbach who escorted us to the Executive reception area and gave us a fantastic welcome. On returning from proposing to my Fiancee', we were given our rooms earlier than expected. The room was first class, sheer luxury. The room was spacious, elegant and had all the facilities as described on the Grosvenor website. The Executive Lounge was brilliant. Breakfast till 11am, tea, coffee and snacks served during the day and alcoholic beverages in the evening. The staff were really nice and helpful, I cannot praise them enough for making our stay comfortable as well as memorable. Special thanks to Ines and her staff. Peter, Natasha and Sandra within the Lounge, you were all great, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James238_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear James238_12,

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Grosvenor.

I was so pleased to read we were able to make your special weekend one to remember.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and don’t forget when making plans for your special day that we make a great destination for weddings!

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and gluten free toast was provided upon request. The location was great for touring, right above Victoria Station and next to several bus lines. Staff was wonderful and so helpful in all areas. Will stay again next time I am in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Susan R,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Grosvenor

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

The Grosvenor is a large cavernous hotel adjacent to Victoria Tube Station. Our bedroom was in the “wing” which meant a lengthy walk involving two lifts which is a bit of a hassle if you leave something in your bedroom. The bedroom was comfortable and delightfully quiet which for a London hotel was a big plus and made the mile long hike to get to it a worthwhile chore. Sheets weren’t big enough for the bed and the pillows very uncomfortable; hard and the thickness of a small paperback. Despite our request room service seemed uninterested in supplying additional pillows. Although there were queues for breakfast the self-service food was good with plenty of choice. The lack of tables meant that lingering over a leisurely breakfast was out of the question as the breakfast manager politely moved guests on. Despite dire warnings from other guests we ate in the hotel Brassiere where we found the food to be good and tasty however the service was appalling, our desert order was forgotten and then we were charged for dishes we hadn’t ordered. Staff are sweet and polite but so disorganised, management seems not existent and we didn’t find a single member of staff whose first language was English. Despite our problems we enjoyed our stay. The hotel is positioned close to Buckingham Place and access to the “sights” is by a lovely walk along the Mall or alongside St James Park Lake.

Room Tip: You need to be fit to take on the journey to the bedrooms in the wing. Wing bedtooms are quiet thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilReed186386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear PhilReed186386,

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review of the Grosvenor.

The Hotel dates back to 1862 and the wing bedrooms were added on in the late 18 hundreds, these rooms are indeed a bit of a walk from Reception. We have just added a new lift into this wing to improve access to the higher floors and the Gym but as we are a grade 2 listed building I am afraid we are unable to make the journey to these rooms shorter.

I have passed your feedback on to my team to review and thank you for these constructive comments.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed here with friends on an overnight stay in the capital. Before we arrived I emailed the hotel to ask if it was ok to leave our luggage and request 2 rooms close together. Communication with the hotel was excellent and received a reply very quickly. We dropped off our luggage with the concierge at 8:30am and was told our room would be ready by 12 noon, very helpful as we'd had a very early start! Rooms were of good standard, although our friends room had not been checked by housekeeping as the bottle of water in their room had been opened and not changed from the previous occupants!! ( naughty!)
Overall a great stay and will be returning in the future when we visit London

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joannehughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Joannehughes,

Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable break with your friends and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were down for a weekend city break for us all, there was eight of us staying in the hotel from all over Europe and we all enjoyed the experience greatly.
Check In was smooth, our receptionist was very friendly and extremely good at her job, which she did in a polite yet warm manner. Most importantly, she explained that there was a Special Offer on this weekend for breakfast — now £12.00 not £21.50 all we had to do was visit reception on the morning required to pick up the voucher.
The rooms were very clean, we had a standard room and the bathroom was spotless as was the bedroom. Our room was in the wing of the main building and we overlooked Victoria Station. We were VERY apprehensive of the noise level but as it turns out, we need not have been. We could hear a slight mumble from the announcements but that was more than bearable.
One slight hiccup, there was no battery in the safe in the room but as we had locks on our suitcases it was not a problem. We have encountered this before in other hotels we have stayed in and therefore we were not bothered by this.
Mohamed, the Concierge, was fantastic, he was a great help, telling us times of changing of the guard at Buckingham Palace, to offering us umbrellas. He gave us a street map and showed us the quickest route to where we wanted to go. He was a real asset to the Hotel.
We all met in the cocktail bar and the prices were good for London, £8 for a cocktail but we knew it would be dearer, we expected it. We met the Bar Manager as we came out of the cocktail bar and he was engaging and friendly, he took an interest in where we were going, how long were we staying and if there was anything he could do for us, to let him or his staff know. We have travelled the world, far and wide and we have never had this level of interaction from a Bar Manager .
As it was a weekend, breakfast was until 11am, as you would expect, the later you go down, the fewer the options you would have. Having said that, the staff were again, very friendly and very busy. We were asked if we had breakfasted here before and it was then explained how breakfast would be served. We were served by a pleasant young lady who swiftly offered us, tea/coffee/toast. We then went to the buffet style breakfast, which there was a selection of hot and cold food, not the full selection but worth the £12.00 each for breakfast, yes you could get cheaper outside the hotel but the food was of good quality and the hotel was spotless. The staff did come and advise us that they would be clearing the breakfast away but if we would like anymore please feel free to help yourselves just now. It was done very tactfully and polite .
As you can tell we were delighted with our choice of hotel, the location and the staff. Were there a few hic ups, yes there were a few, not enough for us to down rate the hotel or its staff more for the management for them to consider.
When you come into the Hotel, there was no order for Check In/Out, so people could and would queue jump — which proved frustrating.
When we asked for Coffee Liquors in the cocktail bar we were told they did not serve them, we had to move to the other bar in the hotel. Why ? We moved to the other bar and my husband then decided he would like a cocktail HE had to go to the cocktail bar to get it.
At breakfast you are served a Mug of tea/coffee, we would have preferred a pot of each as we then had to try and catch the eye of the very busy young lady who was clearing other tables and getting other people toast , etc. We did manage to catch her eye, but she then put coffee in my tea and tea in my husbands coffee — she was SO busy. Could we suggest that you have one member of staff who only does tea/coffee/toast as a lot of other people were getting very frustrated at not being able to get her attention, that in turn could effect their return to your hotel.
As we said, overall a very enjoyable stay and yes we are already planning our return in the Spring of next year.
Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear janybabe,

Thank you for the great review of the Grosvenor Hotel, Victoria

We look forward to welcoming you back early next year.

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We had an overall good stay however the staff at breakfast were rude & unhelpful we had to ask twice for toast despite being told it was coming .Hot drinks were poured out of flasks no coffee pots or teapots in sight no offer of refills. The staff cleaned & moved tables around us & rushed us out at exactly 11 despite telling us breakfast was served until 11.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TGHV, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear jemaat,

Thank you for your review of the Grosvenor.

I was pleased to read that you had a good stay.

I am sorry your breakfast experience did not reflect our normally high standards, we do serve tea and coffee from flasks rather than individual pots as following guest feedback this has helped us improve the speed of service in the busy breakfast area. You should however of course have been offered re fills and I will pass the feedback regarding breakfast on to my Restaurant Manager for him to review with his team.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and please feel free to drop me an e-mail personally if I can assist with any future booking.

My e-mail address is michael.parker@guoman.com

Kind Regards


Michael Parker – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#310 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#236 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#88 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing