We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Next to Victoria Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #189 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Location - Next to Victoria Station”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Check in was efficient and reception staff were very helpful and welcoming.
The room was clean and tidy and had all those items you might need such as hairdryer, iron and ironing board.
The shower was very good with lovely hot water and the water pressure was perfect.
The bed was large and although two beds pushed together they had put a "topper" on so you didn't feel the join.
The cupboard with the tea and coffee facilities lights up when you open the door, but on this occasion it also turned off when the door was closed so it didn't leak light out and disturb any sleep.
We had breakfast in the executive lounge (if you book into an executive suite you have access to the executive lounge where you can take breakfast in the morning - we were not informed of this on our first visit to the hotel). This has a lovely relaxing atmosphere and plenty of hot food.
All in all we had a very pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Replicator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I enjoyed reading your feedback and was pleased you had a pleasurable stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    1,303
    405
    127
    52
See reviews for
841
1,712
176
615
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013

OK, everyone gossips. But as a professional staff in the hospitality industry, shouldn't staff at least not gossip or snigger in front of guests?

We had dinner at The Brasserie yesterday. The 2 waiters (one of them had name starting with Z, couldn't see name tag clearly) on duty were overheard sniggering and laughing at another patron. It's unprofessional and offensive.


Staff professionality aside, this hotel is at a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was really disappointed to read your comments about our team in the Brasserie and I will certainly address this with my Food & Beverage Manager. I agree that this is unprofessional and I do hope that this has not discouraged you from coming to visit us again.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

With American standards in mind this hotel was really nice. Bathrooms are small but great compared to other accommodations in Europe. The beds were comfortable, food was really good, breakfast had lots of choices and was very nice! It was nice to sit and enjoy a cup of English breakfast tea in their tea room! Dinner here one night was good. We walked a lot from here (5 miles the first day and 3 miles the second). We needed some warmer clothes a few days here - didn't think that June would be cool but it can be especially in the evenings.

Went across the street to Taylor Walker Shakespeare and it was alright, The Marquis of Westminster was pretty good (great beers!) fish finger sandwich was just that, fish fingers; but if you want some GREAT food go a few blocks The Phoenix Victoria - excellent! would definitely recommend staying here

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a larger bed (they might just push two together) but they are very accommodati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RUaVTBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m happy you found us to be a great hotel and would recommend staying here. Our English tea is Twinings which I’m pleased you enjoyed in our Lounge, along with your dinner. We do have a great location with many of the sights that London has to offer within walking distance, despite the chilly weather. I hope to see you again in the near future.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The rooms were very spacious, not what we were expecting for the centre of London. The bathrooms were compact but have everything you could need. We didn't use any of the many facilities that the hotel offers, but they were available should we need them. We arrived early and were able check in immediately. We were greeted at reception by a warm smile from Feri, who also checked us out this morning, quickly and efficiently. Many thanks for an excellent stay, we will certainly book this hotel again when we visit London.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumstheword48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and kind words about Eero, which I have shared with him. I hope that next time you stay with us you will be able to enjoy the facilities that we have to offer.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The foyer in this magnificent station hotel is spectacular, so ornate and beautiful so our first impression was good. The reception area is nice and discreet and we were checked in efficiently by Daniele who we found to be friendly and efficient, often these big hotels have miserable reception staff so this was impressive too. Our deluxe double room was quite small and the bathroom tiny, but we expected that as this is the centre of London after all, so space is always at a premium. The room was clean modern and very adequate for our needs with tea and coffee facilities, iron, hairdryer etc... The room wasn't too hot as we were thankfully able to adjust the temperature controls ourselves.
We enjoyed drinks in the lovely cocktail and champagne bar on a few occasions, it was buzzing and the staff were friendly, a great experience. We will return here i am sure and we would also be more than happy recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room as the hotel is on a main road and next to the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicatitainLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was delighted to share your kind comments with Daniele and the rest of the team. I’m pleased you had the opportunity to have a few drinks in Reunion our Champagne and Cocktail Bar which is situated overlooking the station concourse and a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of the station. We have recently refurnished our hotel and it was good to read your comments about our reception and your bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed here with my Mum on my recent return visit to London. It was my third time to The UK, but my Mum's first. I picked a hotel that would be super comfortable and special for her. It lived up to my expectations.
The building is very beautiful from the outside. My Mum was blown away as this was the first building she visited on her trip. Inside, was even better. Grand staircase in the foyer, gold ceiling and red carpet. Made the introduction to London grandiose.
Upon check-in we were upgraded from a deluxe room to a business deluxe room. This room was very spacious with lovely furnishings, including a sitting area. View over the station wasn't amazing, but didn't detract at all from the room.
The staff were great. A lovely Danish girl helped us take photos on the staircase and showed us directions.
The brekkie was delicious. Comfortable dim lit brekkie room added to the relaxed feel. Didn't get a chance to have afternoon tea in the parlor, but will next time.
Location was great. Victoria station right next door, makes everything super accessible and only a three block walk to Buckingham Palace.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for something elegant and historical in the heart of London.

Room Tip: Go for the Business Deluxe room. The space is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicacox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your amazing post. I was thrilled we lived up to your expectations and your mum was blown away by her experience with us. We are delighted with our recent renovations and have lovingly restored the hotel to her former glory with a £20 million investment. I hope when you come to stay with us again you will have the chance to sample afternoon tea in our Lounge. I look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Lovely hotel with beautiful room. Staff were very friendly and service was very good. Victoria underground station just round the corner which gives good access to all London sights. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Hotel room was in the wing. Despite being above the bus station the room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and great comments. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#72 of 1,069 in London
4,167 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#313 of 1,069 in London
1,605 reviews
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,786 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,203 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing