We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #182 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a convenient location”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stay in London a lot. It's the first time I have stayed here. Great place to stay and a very convenient location. First impressions are very good - impressive frontage and reception hall. Check-in was very efficient. The hotel is large and my room was quite a way through the the hotel. But I enjoyed the pleasant walk through an impressive building. The room was clean and bed comfortable. I ate in the bar where the staff were attentive and friendly and the food very good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room too close to the station if you don't plan to get up early. The announcemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I’m glad you found our location convenient and that you found us a “great place to stay”. I agree, we certainly have an impressive building which has been lovingly restored to its former Victorian glory. I do hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,056
    1,239
    377
    121
    49
See reviews for
790
1,623
169
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is the fourth time we have stayed in this hotel as its location beside Victoria Station suits us ideally. There is an entrance to the hotel in the station ticket hall.The hotel building is graceful and the bedrooms are appointed to a very high standard and are very comfortable. We were upgraded to an Executive Room which was extra spacious with a separate bath and shower cubicle in the ensuite. The staff are friendly and attentive and we were given a very personal service. Buffet breakfast will not disappoint. The Grosvenor combines the facilities and services of a large hotel with the intimate personal service that one might expect in a smaller-run hotel - thus giving the guest the best of both worlds. We are looking forward to our next trip to London and to the Grosvenor Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. It’s great to receive such fantastic feedback especially from a returning guest. I’m pleased you enjoyed your upgrade to an Executive room and was thrilled to read your excellent comments about my team. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Booked this hotel through a third party, after research and reviews, for a sightseeing weekend in London with my sister. Because I got a deal for a standard room I was sceptical. How wrong I was!!
Checking in was instant, the room was lovely, a twin room in the wing end, large by normal standards, bathroom smallish but adequate and room decor in keeping with the era hotel belongs to, great refurbishment. Just lovely!
Breakfast, a buffet, was everything anyone could want. Great selection of fruit, yougurts, hams, fish,cheese, breads, and hot food. Coffee, tea, toast was served within a few minutes of us giving our order. Very attentive staff!!
We had dinner on one evening and again the food was beautifully presented and staff so pleasant and attentive.
We had a great weekend at the Grosvenor, it is just next to the Apollo Theatre for the musical Wicked, and the Victoria Palace Theatre for Billy Elliot. When we come to London again this is the place we will definitely stay!!


  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deirdre212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your lovely post. I was thrilled to read you had a great weekend with us here at The Grosvenor. We are very proud of our standards and team here at the hotel and I will certainly pass your feedback on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed several times at this Hotel for the past 2 years. To my surprise, the Hotel never hold my record. I have to fill in the same information again and again. The receptionist will only apologise but do not bother to check the computer record. I have particularly ask the receptionist to confirm my second stay on my first departure but still useless. The Hotel or maybe the staff wish NOT to know their guest.

Other than that great Concierge, great breakfast and great location. Though I might need to come back next year for the same event but no more The Grosvenor. I think I better start to find a hotel that value repeat customer

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was really disappointed to read your review about your check-in experience, especially from a returning guest. I will certainly ask my Front of House Manager to investigate this issue as to why this has happened. We value all of our guests here at The Grosvenor and I hope you will give us another chance. Please do contact me directly when you have a date in mind in order that I can personally oversee your reservation, my e-mail address is ian.fletcher@guoman.co.uk. I do hope to see you again next year, especially as you thought our Concierge team, location and breakfast were great.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The hotel is extremely conveniently located for Gatwick, tube and the rest of London. There is a side entry door straight from the Victoria station (left of the Tickets counters). Very beautiful period building after a major quality renovation. Rooms are absolutely quiet. Beds are spacious and very comfortable. Wi-fi reliable. Helpful staff. Good food choice in the majestic rooms.

Room Tip: For higher ceilings and slightly larger rooms ask for a Main building. Room 626 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaretta_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. Our historical building is an ideal position here at Victoria with travel links right on our doorstep. I’m delighted that you had a comfortable stay with us and were looked after by our team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for a weekend and we didn't really like it. When we arrived they told us that we have to wait for 20 minutes but we waited for an hour and a half. the room we had was very tiny and we had some weird white spots on the bed which wasn't too nice. Later on we went to do the afternoon tea, we sat down and no one come to assist us, we had to go and ask for a waiter even there was two waiters standing and chatting at the desk. The food and the tea was nice, but the service was terrible. After the dessert we were waiting for our tea for 20 minutes more and the waiters never come to bring it to us, so we got upset and we left. I think they should really consider to get better staff for the hotel, because this gives a bad image. The location is good and the interior of the hotel is really nice, but I wouldn't stay here again. Maybe if the change the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was surprised and disappointed to read your review on your experience with us. We pride ourselves on the service and standards we offer here at The Grosvenor, and this was clearly not the case during your stay. I can assure you that we have made a number of changes since you last stayed with us in April last year and I hope you will give us another chance. I was pleased to read however that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and the location of the hotel.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The Grosvenor is a great "smallish" hotel located in a great location. It is right around the corner to the Victoria tube station and rail station. The hotel even has a direct door into the rail station where you can get the tube anywhere or Gatwick Express. There is also a bus stop right in front of the hotel. Down the street is Buckingham Palace and about a 10-15min walk you'll hit Westminster Abbey, Parliament, and Big Ben. You can also walk right across the bridge to the London Eye and Southbank area. The concierge is very helpful and are always there to help with directions. There is a supermarket up the street which is convenient too. The hotel does provide 1 bottle of still and sparkling water. WiFi is good. The single room is very small as you can see from my pictures but sort of expected in London or any city for that matter. The room and bathroom were very modern and clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfnytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We really are conveniently located here at Victoria, adjacent to the mainline train station with easy access to the underground and bus terminal and close to many of the sights that London has to offer. Thank you for your compliments about our Concierge team who are always on hand to assist guests with any questions or queries they may have. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#309 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#80 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing