We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #183 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
499 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Excellent and Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived very late due to an Irish airport strike but still arriving after midnight we had an excellent checkin and proceeded to the room. The room was very nicely decorated with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed.
The staff at the Grosvenor are excellent and the hotel is pristine with an ornate and impressive foyer. The hotel has 2 restaurants on site and we tried both and both are well worth experiencing.
The breakfasts are very good and you can relax over a nice coffee before heading for a day walking London. Also the location is great, only a 60 second walk to Victoria station with bus stops outside also.
This was a wonderful stay and I am now planning on bringing some friends there on a city trip in August.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaneMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted that you had a relaxing stay with us and were looked after by our excellent team. Thank you for your compliments about your dining experience which I will certainly pass on to my team. We do have a great location here at Victoria with many sights that London has to offer within easy walking distance and travel links just several metres away. We look forward to seeing you and your friends for a city break in August.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,062
    1,242
    378
    122
    49
See reviews for
793
1,629
169
592
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (884)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent location close to Buckingham palace. Very helpful staff - had a courtesy call from Jackie to check any special requirements prior to our stay. Breakfast was included in the price and was extensive. Clean throughout and lovely decor. We had 2 double rooms and they differed greatly in size, ours was on the small size. Was disappointed that there were no proper drawers but there was plenty of hanging space.

Room Tip: The room sizes differ so ask for the best available. We had quite a walk from the lift to the wing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with my team and Jackie, our Relationship Manager. Should you decide to stay with us again, please do let us know and we will allocate you one of our larger double rooms.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We plonked ourselves here for 10 nights to explore London and surrounds. It was a great decision. The staff are friendly, and helpful. The hotel is decorated in the Victorian style with modern amenities, it's clean and has free Wifi!
The hotel backs onto the very busy and very central Victoria Station, with ready access to the Victoria Underground station, overground station, and the Victoria Coach Station(the starting point of many tours into England)
The cooked buffet breakfast included in our booking was much appreciated to start each day fully fuelled. There are plenty of eateries around if you are peckish and there are 2 West end theatres nearby which we made use of.
We definitely would look at staying here again upon our next London trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank PhoebeNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post and making the right decision to stay with us. We are ideally situated right in the middle of Victoria with easy access to travel links for exploring London and the surrounding areas. I enjoyed reading your wonderful post on your experience and the team here at the hotel who go the extra mile to ensure our guests have a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights over the May bank holiday weekend. We didn't get off to the best start - the main entrance is step access only, there were no staff on hand to help with luggage and no call button to get any. We later found that the access to Victoria station is also up a longish flight of steps but here there is a stairlift and a call button to get help from staff.

Then we were initially given a single room although our booking was clearly for a double. The staff were very helpful in moving us to a new room but this all took time.

The room we ended up in was one of the 'wing rooms' - to get to these you have to take the lift to the 4th floor in the main building, hike through to a separate building, then take another lift to your floor.

The bed was a decent size and very comfortable, the room lighting good, well-supplied tea and coffee-making facilities and a small fridge containing free supplies of mineral water. The desk was unusually small - I didn't have enough room to use my laptop comfortably. There was only one chair and no other table or work surface so we were constantly juggling stuff around. The bathroom was small but usable.

Breakfast was slightly disappointing. There was a poor range of fruit available (especially for those like myself who cannot eat grapefruit) and on the Sunday there was a limited range of cereals with no proper muesli available. Also on the Sunday the plates were not hot enough. One high point was the good-tasting sausages.

We didn't get pots of tea and coffee on the table, instead staff were supposed to come round with large pots and fill us up as needed. This arrangement rarely works well and this stay was no exception. At one point my wife had to make several requests over a period of nearly 10 minutes before she got her coffee cup refilled.

We ate in the brasserie on our first evening and the food was excellent. The second evening we returned late to the hotel and had room service, which arrived quickly and was well prepared. Again, the lack of a table and chair meant we had to eat sitting either side of the tray on the bed.

The wifi was free and worked well.

Room Tip: High up to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadLogician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your detailed post that I read with mixed emotions. I was disappointed that your arrival at the hotel was not as it should be and you were initially allocated a single room. First impressions count and I regret that we let you down with your arrival and breakfast experience. I will certainly address these service issues with my team in order that these areas can be improved. We have recently added mattress toppers to all of our Hypnos beds and I’m glad you found yours comfortable but disappointed the size of your room did not fit your needs. Being an old building our bedroom sizes do vary and should you decide to stay with us again please do let us know so we can do our best to allocate you one of our larger rooms. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your dinner in our Brasserie and will pass on your compliments to our Chef. I hope you’ll visit us again soon.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in the hotel whilst visiting friends in London & have to say it was a fantastic hotel. Lovely room, very comfortable bed, attentive & friendly staff and a stunning breakfast (best sausages ever!)

Would definetly stay again when next in town

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. It was a pleasure to read your top notch review on The Grosvenor and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soon so you can indulge in more of the best sausages ever.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for one night to go to a concert at the Royal Albert Hall. The Grosvenor is an impressive looking hotel inside and out, and we felt very la-de-dah walking in to such a beautiful reception area! Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable, with a massive bed and all the usual facilities. The hairdrier was missing but a quick call to reception was no trouble, and we were very pleased with the overall service from the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMB530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m delighted you chose to stay with us before going to the Royal Albert Hall and hope you had an enjoyable evening. I’m very proud of our hotel and team here at The Grosvenor and I’m thrilled that you found the Hotel impressive, we hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in early April 2014 and the nicest aspect was that hotel met or exceeded all of expectations. The hotel measured up exactly to the information provided on the web site. We stayed in a deluxe room and it was exactly as the photo's provided. It was very clean, quiet, with an excellent mattress. Service provided in all departments was friendly, prompt and courteous. Because of my need for gluten free my breakfast was specially prepared every morning and in the evenings Zohaib could not do enough to assist compliance with this requirement. We highly recommend this hotel and it is well located to access most of the sights in London

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post which made great reading. I’m pleased that you were looked after by our team and will certainly share you compliments with them, with special mention to Zohaib. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#312 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#249 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#77 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing