We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks better than it actually is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #182 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Looks better than it actually is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

actually im starting to doubt ratings over tripadvisor.
the first thing i did prior booking in the grosvenor, i ve decided to check the reviews which got me interested in this hotel.
the location is amazing, right at the Victoria station which is very convenient, nevertheless the loudness of the speakers of trains and buses are extremely uncomfortable.
the club lounge is a total disappointment, two choices of tiny bits and bites are all what your getting.
the complementary cokes,water ( still and sparkling) seems to be a great idea, tho , they don't refill your water where on the other hand your coffee and tea are always refilled which i found weird. at least water should be refilled in a 4 stars hotel.
room service is very good.

for a price like this you should be getting service.

Room Tip: not over looking the victoria station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XRS_ahai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I’m pleased that you found our location convenient but regret that the noise from the station made you uncomfortable. Thank you for your feedback on our Executive lounge, we do offer a Full English breakfast in the morning with snacks and canapés throughout the day so I’ll certainly look into why this was not the case during your stay. I do hope you’ll give us another chance in the future and if you do, please email me prior to your stay and I’ll ensure to allocate you a room away from the station.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,021
    1,223
    367
    119
    49
See reviews for
777
1,598
167
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (863)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here with my daughter sister and niece for Mother's Day weekend and enjoyed every single moment. First of all the convenience of arriving in Victoria Station and walking straight into the hotel, what a beautiful foyer to arrive in. The decor, flowers and welcome were outstanding and it just got better and continued to impress the whole night. We ate the first night in the Imperial Restaurant beautiful Chinese food then followed this with cocktails in the bar. Again beautiful decor, lovely staff and would recommend the Flying Scotsman cocktail!
Both mornings we asked if we could have breakfast in the room beside the dining room which was very busy and as my sister had had foot surgery we were being very careful. It was no problem at all and what a beautiful room, afternoon tea is served here. The second morning they were serving Buck's Fizz for Mother's Day which was a lovely touch. I sat at the window feeling like the queen in this opulence. My only criticism would be that the breakfast could have been warmer, both mornings I'm afraid. Each time we went in or out of the hotel the concierge asked were we okay and if he could do anything for us. The staff were all so helpful and even moved my sister to a bigger room the second night because of her mobility difficulties and crutches. If and when I return to London I will certainly return to this beautiful spot which couldn't have made my weekend any better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greecefanatic-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. It was great to read your comments about our fabulous hotel and I am delighted you enjoyed every single moment of your stay with us. We always do our utmost to make our guests feel at home and your review will certainly be shared with my team who enjoy providing everyone with superb service. We do have an ideal location here at Victoria and receive a lot of positive feedback about our beautiful décor and cocktails from our Reunion bar. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back to this beautiful spot soon.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Have stayed twice now with another stay in the coming week. Hotel was chosen due to proximity yo a client but it couldn't be handier for Victoria Station (the hotel is attached) and so particularly good if you are flying from Gatwick.

The public areas are grand and well maintained. The in house Chinese reatuarnt is excellent. Breakfast has a fair selection on the buffet although service can be a bit haphazard - you can order toast and sometimes it comes and sometimes it doesn't.

Some of the rooms are a bit on the small side but they are all well maintained and comfortable.

Check you receipt on check out as mine has dome wrong charges and there seemed to be a spate of people being given the wrong bills judging from what happen to colleagues and from other complaints I could hear.

This is part of the same chain as Thistle hotels but don't confuse the class of the Grovenor with the grizzly Thistles you'll find in other parts of a London.

I'd recommend this hotel - although it's not cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjh2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I enjoyed reading your feedback and will pass on your compliments to the team in our Chinese restaurant. Thank you for bringing your breakfast and billing issues to my attention which will certainly be investigated. Due to the age of our building we have several different shaped and sized rooms. Please do let me know when you are next staying with us and we will do our very best to allocate you one of our larger bedrooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were pleasantly surprised when we got off the train and were able to walk right in the hotel from the inside of the station. We chose this hotel because it was close to where Wicked was playing and it turned out to be right across the street. We took a walk and saw Buckingham Palace as well as Big Ben, Parliament ,Westminster Abbey on and on and so close together! I had no idea we would be able to see so much in one place. The hotel is elegant inside and we enjoyed the cocktail area before the show. Our room was quiet and very comfortable after a very full day of sight seeing and a show. We wanted a king bed as my husband is quite tall but they didn't have any so we opted for two twin beds which worked out well. The staff was so helpful showing us around and when we checked out they actually helped us find our train connection to York! I don't know how we would have done it without his help as it was quite confusing. We just can't say enough good about how well we were treated and what a great experience it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. We are very lucky with our location here at Victoria with many of the top sites that London has to offer within walking distance and travel links to the underground, mainline and underground stations just steps away. Our helpful team here at The Grosvenor take pride in offering the very best personal service to our guests and your feedback is really appreciated. I do hope you enjoyed the theatre and should you come to London again please do let us know of your preference for a king size bed and we will do our very best to accommodate you. We hope to see you again soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at The Grosvenor for 6 nights, and had a great experience. The hotel itself is beautiful and charming in the both the inside and outside. We choose a smaller room with just two twin beds in it, but even then it was still a very nice room with enough space and the amenities that we needed. All of the staff that we ran into while there were always pleasant and helpful - I always felt safe and cared for.

We went to several of the hotels restaurant - we had the afternoon tea when we first arrived, had the breakfast buffet one morning, dinner in the lounge one evening, and drinks at the hotels bar a couple of different evenings. All were very good quality, enjoyable, and had a great atmosphere (especially loved the Rose Petal drink at the bar!!).

The hotel is an excellent location - right next to Victoria Station (extremely convenient to catch the tube as well as busses for tours and for transfer to and from Heathrow Airport). It is also close to many attractions such as Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Westminster Abbey, and Big Ben. The location is also near many, many restaurants and shopping.

I highly recommend The Grosvenor for a stay in London!

Room Tip: We had a wing room which required taking an elevator to the 4th floor, and then up another elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. I was thrilled to read your review on our hotel and the team who strive to ensure all our guests enjoy The Grosvenor experience and that you felt safe and cared for. We do have several dining options available to entice our guests and I’m delighted that you were able to sample a few of them along with our Rose Petal cocktail from our Reunion bar. Our location is second to none here at Victoria with travel links on our doorstep and several of the sites that London has to offer within walking distance. Thank you for recommending us and we hope you’ll come back for another visit soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Arranged to stay at The Grosvenor overnight Sat 26th April 2014 for Daughter's 21st Birthday treat because the hotel was close to the Victoria Palace Theater, where we had arrange to see Billy Elliot, and what a good Hotel choice!

We booked two standard rooms which included Breakfast.

A special mention to Jackie who when she found out about the Birthday offered and arranged wine and Birthday card to be in our Daughters room on arrival.

As an experienced traveler (Business and Pleasure) I can say that every single member of staff we met at The Grosvenor was not only very helpful and cheerful but because it actually felt like they meant it, compared to some other London hotels I have stayed in, it made the visit even better.

The hotel had a major recent refurb and the whole hotel has a splendid grand feel to it, the rooms although in keeping with grand past history of the hotel were very well furnished and bathrooms spotless and modern, great power showers. There was a little plumbing noise occasionally when own bathroom used but nothing serious and almost expected from a building of this age.

Our rooms were on 1st floor and we could see directly onto the Victoria Train Station concourse, I have read others comments about hearing platform announcements but except for an occasional very quite murmur and when it was completely silent in the room – couldn’t hear a thing.

Both our rooms were quite spacious by comparison to other London Hotels for the cost and basic standard type, the bed in particular was large and exceptionally comfortable.

This hotel is ideally suited for just about everything – a relatively short walk of 1/2 miles or very short taxi ride from all the main tourist attractions like Buckingham Palace, Nelsons Column, Harrods and many more. Ideal for the VP Theater and when it comes to public transport spoiled for choice – the hotel even has it’s own entrance onto the Train, Subway and Coach stations.

Congratulations to the management and staff of The Grosvenor Hotel, thank you for making the Birthday weekend so special.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderfully detailed review and awarding us five stars. It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Grosvenor for such a special occasion and I was thrilled you decided to celebrate this with us. We do our very best to make our guests stay memorable before they have stepped through our doors and I will pass on your special mention to Jackie who will be very pleased that she played a part in making the birthday weekend so special. Our excellent team here at The Grosvenor take pride in their work, nothing is too much trouble and we genuinely want our guests to feel welcome and comfortable. Over the past couple of years we have redecorated our grand old building enhancing and restoring the Victorian features and adding a modern and contemporary twist with rainfall showers, Hypnos beds and mattress toppers along with some other special touches. It will certainly be an honour to pass on your feedback to my team and we hope you’ll choose to stay with us again soon, maybe to celebrate another special occasion.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This Hotel has been handsomely refurbished by Guoman. Excellent rooms friendly staff has a homely feel for a large hotel. Location is in a superb part of the city one minutes walk from the Gatwick express. Convenient for the tube, taxis and busses. Hyde park and St Jame's park only 10 minute walk. Walked to Oxford street via park lane in 20 minutes. Loads of shops bars and restaurants in Victoria area. Will recommend to anyone who is unsure of how to get about in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I was delighted our team made you feel at home and you had such a great stay with us. We are very centrally located here at Victoria which is one of the many reasons that our guests choose to visit us along with our friendly team and excellent rooms. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#239 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#83 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing