We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great London Hotel except for One Problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #182 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great London Hotel except for One Problem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

A classic restored 19th century hotel attached to adjacent Victoria station has so much going for it: convenient location adjacent to the underground "Tube" and Victoria station, nearby shopping mall, classic elegant interior, restored modernized rooms, friendly staff, and delicious and complete breakfast. However, the one glaring problem is STREET NOISE. I specifically requested a room away from the train station as recommended by other reviewers, so we ended up in a 4th floor room overlooking Buckingham Palace road. To my horror, the street noise was clearly audible, especially when trying to sleep. In fact, you can hear every bus, truck and motorcycle that passes by and the ambulances and police vehicles sound like they are driving through the hotel room! The problem is that during renovation, it appears that they used cheap single pane glass windows (instead of double pane, sound-insulated windows) overlaid upon the original thin glass windows from the 19th century. The result is very poor street noise insulation. Needless to say, sleep was poor until i discovered silicone ear plugs at a nearby drug store. I'm pretty sure it would have been better to overlook the train station and hear the announcements than the street noise. Other than the street noise, hotel was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I’m pleased that you found the hotel great but regret that your stay was marred by the noise from the street. All of the windows in our Grade II listed building are furnished with secondary double glazing which are made to measure due to the age of the hotel. I’m sorry that the street noise prevented you from having a restful nights sleep. I do hope you’ll give us another chance next time you need to stay in London, please let me know should you choose to stay with us again and I will ensure that you are allocated one of our quieter rooms. The team and I here at The Grosvenor hope to see you again soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,022
    1,224
    368
    119
    49
See reviews for
777
1,598
167
582
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here with work as was closest hotel I could get to the Victoria Station. This was a very nice hotel – clean and modern rooms, free access to the gym which was great – decent selection of machines (the usual treadmill, bike etc.). The room had a desk area which I was able to work at. I had dinner in the room which was lovely and the full English breakfast I had the next morning was also very nice. This hotel is very conveniently located – there is a door in the hotel which takes you directly into the concourse of the station; you literally couldn’t get a closer hotel! Reception staff were also very friendly upon checking in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecMayF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. You certainly can’t get a better location than The Grosvenor with travel links right on our doorstep. Thank you for your comments regarding our Reception team which I will enjoy sharing with them. We do hope you’ll visit us again in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is on Buckingham Palace road which is not far from Buckingham Palace and Victoria, which are both in the center of London. This Hotel is ideal location if you want to walk around London as most of the interesting places and shopping are close.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. The Grosvenor offers a perfect location here in the heart of London and we look forward to welcoming you back for another five star stay very soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in this great hotel, located within a 10 minute walk to Buckingham palace. We selected it based on a recommendation for the area and once there found it to be more centrally located for us than we had imagined. We were able to board city tour buses right in front of the hotel, travel all over the city and return at the same stop later in the day. We loved the hotel, with it's classy lobby and great staff. They all went out of their way to make our stay and trip enjoyable. Our room came with a complete breakfast in their fine dining room, which we thoroughly enjoyed each day. The staff was constantly assisting us with either taxi service or recommendations for the best dining nearby. We once had to take the subway back to that side of town and actually came up underneath the Victoria Train station, which has a rear door entrance into the hotel, which we used. That was extremely helpful and convenient. We rate this hotel very highly and will attempt to return for another visit.

.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for such a fantastic post. We are very proud of the service and standards we offer here at The Grosvenor Hotel and it was pleasure to read your feedback. We are conveniently situated here at Victoria for easy access to explore many of the sights that London has to offer, either on foot or by bus, train or tube which are literally steps away from the Hotel. I’m delighted you loved our hotel; our team here will go out of their way to assist with any of our guests requests and requirements. Thank you for rating us so highly and we look forward to welcoming you for another stay.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navarre, Florida, Usa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Hotel is located at Victoria Station. Good location walking distance from palace and some very good pubs are across the street. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Room, a bit small, was very clean. Some second floor rooms are hard to get to. Even if you take the elevator, steps are required. Comp breakfast was wonderful and offered a lot of well fixed items.

Room Tip: do not get room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. We do have a good location here at Victoria with many of the facilities our guests would need either here in the hotel, or within walking distance. Not to mention the many sights that London has to offer within walking distance or via the main, underground or bus stations which are just minutes away from us. I’m pleased you found our team helpful and friendly and our Housekeeping team will appreciate your comments regarding your room. We hope to see you again soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had a great stay at the Grosvenor in London. The staff were beyond helpful and the location is wonderful. We had breakfast (included) each morning and it was sufficient. The concierge level was being renovated, so we missed out on that. They did upgrade our room to a suite and included the mini-bar AND Tea for 3 in the afternoon. The tea was lovely and a wonderful experience, but I am not sure I would pay that much, unless a special occasion. The on/off double decker bus is across the street at Hyde Park which was super convenient.

As a side note, the hotel pushes a lovely scent called "Leaf" into the lobby which greets you when you enter!!

I would high recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not be afraid to ask the concierge for extras...they are there to make your experience wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneL2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your great review. We are really proud of our hotel and team here at The Grosvenor and I am delighted we looked after you so well. Thank you for mentioning our scent which does emit a lovely aroma when our guests enter the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed recently for a special occasion; investiture at Buckingham Palace. On reflection we now consider the Grosvenor to have parity with HRH’s own residence! Title of this review is down to the kids who considered it, ‘better than Disney Land’. Too many positives to mention individually (most comfortable bed, most indulgent breakfast, world renowned cheesecake, etc) but the staff, to a man and woman, really are worthy of special mention; exceptional. I’d urge everyone to give the Grosvenor a shot. You won’t be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your awesome post. I was absolutely thrilled to share your review with my team, being on par with the Queens residence and better than Disneyland is such an accolade! I look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon to enjoy another Grosvenor experience.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#239 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#31 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#83 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing