We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #190 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel for three nights and while I was impressed with the outside of building, the lobby and the helpfulness of the concierge staff, there is really not much else I could say that could paint this hotel in a positive light. The worst, most unbelievable part was the amount of money I paid for my room for the size, especially the bathroom. I understand that we are talking London prices here but this was a joke. The bathroom was the size of a powder room and you had to walk in sideways to get in because the basin protruded into to the entry way – badly designed! The breakfast was average too. One good point is that right next door to the hotel is Victoria station and there is a bus stop directly in front of the hotel so it’s easy to get around London. Sorry, but I'll be finding other accommodation next time I’m in London.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I regret that your stay with us was disappointing due to the size of your bedroom. The Grosvenor was built in 1862 and due to its age has varying different shaped and sized rooms; being a Grade 2 listed building there is very little we can do to alter the size of some of our bedrooms. I would love for you to give us a second chance and if you do, please contact me directly and I will ensure that you are allocated one of our larger bedrooms.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,092
    1,265
    385
    124
    50
See reviews for
806
1,657
171
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (894)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Best location, good service and breakfast. Ideal for those travelling via Gatwick ( direct access to Victoria Station!). Budget friendly. Rooms are a little too small for two beds. Would highly recommend to everybody looking for the best central location with easy access to all sorts of transportation.

Room Tip: away from street exposure, higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladlen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. We do have a super location here at The Grosvenor with Buckingham Palace just steps away from the hotel and excellent transport links to all of the sights that London has to offer. I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I recently stayed a this hotel for several nights. The check in process took longer than I would have liked. The front desk clerk seemed to be a trainee so it would have been better if she had a supervisor standing next to her guiding her through the process.

I asked the concierge for nearby restaurants when I first arrived and was sent on a wild goose chase of sorts. I discovered on my own that there's a centre nearby with a number of restaurants, which the concierge could have easily directed me to. It seems as though a lot of people working in the hotel are not locals and not familiar with the areas around the hotel as they should be.

The morning buffet is average at best. I had to ask waiters to refill the stacks of dishes and cups a number of times. Typically, guests should not have to ask staff to do this kind of thing. Hotel staff should be paying attention and restacking dishes/cups as the quanttities get low. I also had to call over the waiter to get coffee every single day I had breakfast there. Considering the number of staff/managers working there, I found that a lot of people were standing around doing nothing. I figure it's never a good thing to ignore guests.

The location of this hotel is outstanding in that it's next door to Victoria station and close to a number of attractions, but if you're looking for superior customer service, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The rooms seem to be fairly standard. The hotel itself is quite old and the rooms could use some maj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Restless_Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. We do indeed have an outstanding location her at The Grosvenor. I regret that you were disappointed with the service that you received during your stay with us and I can assure you that this is certainly not indicative of our usual high standards; I will most definitely look into your concerns raised and thank you for bringing them to my attention.
With kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel air, md
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We loved this hotel! Just stayed first week in August 2014 for 4 days. The hotel is stunningly beautiful on the outside and inside. Very grand lobby. Our room was very spacious, with two twin beds - very large bathroom. Room was very grand and beautiful - super clean and updated. We would definitely stay here again. The location was at the Grosvenor Victoria, was excellent - beautiful area, close to Buckingham palace, westminster abbey, plus great pubs around the hotel. Very easy to get a taxi and the costs weren't too bad since the hotel was so central to all the areas we toured. Staff was warm and attentive. We had dinner several times in the Lounge & room service, which was quick & delicious. they make a great, huge cappuccinos! Highly recommend this hotel if you're visiting London!

Room Tip: Twin rooms are larger than king rooms in some parts of hotel. We stayed in room 310, which was on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marylandmomBelAir_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your excellent post and for highly recommending us! I’m thrilled that you loved our beautiful hotel. We have undergone a full refurbishment here at The Grosvenor and have restored the building to its former Victorian glory. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

chose this hotel for its location near to theater we were going to (wicked) as its only 2mins walk away,.Its an ideal location for Buckingham palace and Westminster area and central London.
The reception staff very friendly and helpful, we checked in early and left our bag which was delivered up to our room, we went into the cocktail bar for an afternoon drink a little pricey but your in London dont like service charge adding to bill i like to pay if service is good but most hotels do it this way now. The cocktail bar can be a little dark depending on where you sit, but staff helpful and pleasant.Our room was on top floor a bit of a treck to get to, have to use two lifts to get to top floor.When in side found room on small side, bathroom also small but with everything you need, including a very good shower, the beds very comfy and we slept well, heard some tannoy announcements from victoria station but not intrusive.we had a view from window which was better than some we have had whilst staying in London.Breakfast was hot and plentiful if having English and plenty of cold choice if not.All the staff we came across where helpful and polite, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: try to book a room on first 4 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceh1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post and for your kind comments regarding my team which I will enjoy sharing with them. We do have an excellent location here at The Grosvenor with both Billy Elliott and Wicked just steps away from the Hotel. I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to London.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Given room 616. I had to stand with the bathroom door open in order to stand in front of the mirror to shave. Whilst fittings were new and tasteful, the owners / management must be very cynical if they believe this room is of an acceptable size for the class of hotel they aspire to be. I came down the following week (yesterday) and asked the company to put me in a different hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank IanBrown1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. Due to the age of our building we do have varying different shaped and sized rooms here at The Grosvenor. I was disappointed to read that you requested a different hotel for your next trip to London; if you do decide to give us another chance, please contact me directly and I will ensure that you are allocated one of our larger rooms for your future stays.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location and the building is beautiful. The potential for wonderful was there but was let down by mostly average service and lack of organization, although a few individuals rose to the occasion. For the price paid and the grandeur of the hotel we were expecting much better.
Although the breakfast buffet was plentiful with a good selection, most of the servers in the breakfast room were lacking. Although they were quick to pour the first cup of coffee or tea, it was rare they'd come around to refill without having to ask for it and if you went back to get something else from the buffet the old plates were rarely cleared away. One morning we were missing some cutlery in our settings and when asked if she'd bring some, she snapped she was busy at the moment (which she was). She never did bring it so we grabbed some from another table on our own. We had dinner in the restaurant twice and I'm happy to report the service was the exact opposite from breakfast - very tentative.
The rooms were recently updated but I was disappointed there was no chest of drawers or shelves in our room to unpack clothes (for our 2 week stay). We asked for more hangers and they brought us 6 more. They also weren't the greatest at remembering to replenish the coffee supplies. We started out in a room across from a service door which slammed every 5 minutes or so, which was very irritating so we asked them to move us. They did this quickly but this room wasn't as well laid out as the original room. Something that bothered me a lot was hall windows left open - 2 of the outside ledges were reasonable, but the 3rd one was so covered with bird poop it was really off-putting. Why clean off only 2 of them?
A real highlight for us was access to the Club Lounge that came with our room. From 5-9 pm, they offered a great selection of drinks, snacks and hors d'oeuvres. The service in there was wonderful, especially Zahir (hope I got his name right), who was actually a trainee. His service was better than anyone else we had dealings with during our stay.
Will we be back? Hmmm - good question. As I said, tons of potential, but unless they get a training plan to organize their staff better, I think I can get better value and service for my money elsewhere. Pity, really.

Room Tip: We were in Room 312 - no chest of drawers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsEff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for such a comprehensive post. I regret that we let you down during your stay with us in particular at breakfast; this is an area we are currently focusing on improving and I hope that if you do give us another chance you will get the opportunity to see the improvements we are making. I’m pleased that you enjoyed our Executive lounge and will pass on your kind comments to my team. I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#311 of 1,067 in London
1,563 reviews
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,067 in London
4,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#250 of 1,067 in London
4,227 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,067 in London
775 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing