We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #196 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very satisfied with our stay here. The rooms are good but the main thing is the hotel is so handy to transport. It is also not far from many attractions and you can choose many restaurants nearby.
Typical English style hotel and the brealkfast is a good variety.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylvitrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for you post. The team and I here at The Grosvenor hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,102
    1,268
    387
    124
    51
See reviews for
807
1,660
172
608
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is situated right in front of a Bus stop and our room happens to be just above the Victoria Station. But the Noise level (if any) is hardly noticeable) Concierge and Staff are very helpful and friendly. Servers @ breakfast are very attentive and were always on their feet bringing us treat coffee hot Choco toast etc. This is much closer to the Westminster Abbey and Parliament bldg. than I expected ... Googlemaps indicate about a 20 min. Walk but it was not. I am not big on walking but I am happy that we stayed here for it's location. It's close to restaurants and pubs. We ate at BAgs of Nails, Shakespeare and Balls Brothers. Bought British Chocolates downstairs at the Victoria Station.
The room we got (booked through at travel agent) were tiny. Good thing we only had carry on luggage, I can't imagine fitting 2 big luggage in the room. I forgot to bring my hair conditioner and the hotel provided only conditioning shampoo.... blah. Beds were so soft unfortunately wasn't good for my back. Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChokNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We are conveniently situated here at The Grosvenor with the mainline, underground and bus terminals really close by as well as many tourist attractions within walking distance which makes us an ideal choice if you are not big on walking. Our hotel was built in 1862 and due to the age of the building has several different shaped and sized rooms. Should you decide to stay with us again, please do let us know and we will do our very best to allocate you one of our larger rooms. Our Housekeeping department are always on hand to assist with any extra toiletries you may require and can remove the mattress topper if you would like a slightly firmer bed. We do hope you’ll visit us again soon.
With kind regards Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Being just above of such a central underground and train station such as Victoria is simply amazing. We were able to live really tiring days where we walked as much as we could, and ended up late at night after having drinks in a pub, and the way back to the hotel was always really really easy and close. The location is simply AMAZING.

We were concerned about the noise level, but this was really not a problem. The rooms are confortable and really clean. The staff is super friendly without being invasive. This hotel is very worth it's value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post and for such a great review. We do have an excellent location for our guests after a hard days work or sightseeing with transport links right on our doorstep; you couldn’t get much closer. We do hope you’ll visit us again soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Hotel is located in direct nabourhood to Victoria-Station (railroad & underground); several bus-lines in front of the house; Buckingham Palace a few minutes away (by walk); best conditions for a short visit to see London; the hotel is very traditional & British style; service is excellent and stuff is very friendly and supporting all times; breakfast-lounge is sometimes slightly overcrowded but the buffet gives a plenty of opportunities; our room (Standard) was big enough and silent (only the view from window into the station wasn`t expected but no problem at all).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. Your comments are really appreciated and it will certainly be a pleasure to share them with my team. We always do our very best to deliver the standards and service our guests expect from us here at The Grosvenor and we hope to welcome you back on another occasion.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Loved this hotel..not inexpensive but worth it for the location, service and room size which are much larger than many London Hotels. The hotel has its own entrance to Victoria Station, close to Buckingham palace and westminster abbey and not far from Big Ben. The staff is very helpful and high tea is just plain fun.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-BeachBumsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post and for awarding us five stars. I’m thrilled you loved your Grosvenor experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned home from spending 3 days at the Grosvenor. The hotel is excellent, as is the location. The deluxe room we stayed in was very nice, clean and spacious. The staff and service was excellent and it felt more like a 5 star than a 4 star. The cocktail bar is a must, amazing cocktails, great service and wonderful ambiance. We look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedimatt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your wonderful post and five star comments which I know my team will really appreciate. Thanks for your compliments about Reunion cocktail bar, we hope you will visit us again soon for more cocktails and excellent service.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We recently stayed and the Grosvenor Hotel for 3 nights. We had a room on the 6th floor of the new wing, which does require you to take 2 different lifts, this wasn't a problem for us but there is a short walk to the second lift. Or there is the stairs

The room was very clean and tidy, the bed was very comfortable. The room was a little small but this wasn't a real problem and it was only used to sleep. The room was serviced each day. The only minor comment, we used the cups and glasses and put these outside the door to be exchanged but this didn't happen. The room overlooked Victoria Station, we experienced no problems with noise or station announcements.

We eat in 2 of the 3 restaurants in the hotel, The Brassiere and the Imperial. The service and food was very good.; a little more expensive than we would normally spend, approximately £25 per head for a starter and main course, but hey, this is London

The full English breakfast was one of the best we have had, in a hotel.

The Grosvenor is very close to a number of sights, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Big Ben, all within a 20 minute walk.

There were no problems at checkout, very quick.

We would definitely stay at the Grosvenor again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve_hill2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I’m pleased you chose to stay with us and enjoyed our location, friendly team and atmosphere. Thank you for your compliments regarding your dining experience which I will certainly pass on to my team. We do hope you’ll visit us again soon.
With kind regards, Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#73 of 1,067 in London
4,102 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#309 of 1,067 in London
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#245 of 1,067 in London
4,246 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#35 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Property: The Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing