We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #192 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before flying out of Heathrow.
Quite simply put, the staff could not do enough for us.
We were celebrating my hubby's 60th and they put red wine with a lovely card and some extras in our room.
I upgraded to a club room and it's well worth the extra.
The club lounge was lovely and relaxing.
The breakfast was also very good in there.
Thank you to the staff in there:-)
Our room had some plumbing problems so we had to move out the next day but they upgraded us to a suite which was a nice touch.
The only downside was on the Sunday evening we went for a drink in the bar and the service didn't match that of what I had received in other areas of the hotel.
Would not go in that bar again.
All other areas and all other members of staff and management were amazing and we will use this hotel as our top choice when in London.

Room Tip: Room 436 was a good choice. Large bathroom and huge windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank joylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your review and choosing to stay with us here at The Grosvenor to celebrate your husbands birthday. I’m delighted you had a fantastic stay with us and were well looked after by our team, but disappointed to read of your bar experience. Thank you for making us your top hotel choice in London and we hope to welcome you back for another visit soon.
With kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,412 - 2,418 of 4,192 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for one night. We checked in early on the morning and was able to leave our bags so we could go exploring the sites. The hotel is stunning in looks and right next to Victoria station.
Our room was in one of the wings over looking the station. This didn't effect our sleep at all. The room was very nice and extremely clean, but for the cost I was a bit disappointed , it was tiny, there wasn't enough room to pass each other, one of you had to get on the bed to pass by.
Most of the staff was nice but some was extremely snooty.
Breakfast was efficient but tables was very close to each other and it was very hot in there. The choice was good for breakfast, from fresh fruit , pastries and full cooked English . It was self service, waitresses brought you tea, coffee and toast, ( Luke warm and had to ask a few times for refills) but it set us up for the best part of the day.
The cocktail bar was lovely, and the cocktails amazing.
I don't think I would stay here again, I think I would rather get a cheaper hotel and stay an extra night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank loo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your review that I read with mixed emotions. We do have a beautiful hotel here at Victoria and a great team and I regret that you did not experience the same customer service from all of our team members; The Grosvenor was built in 1862 and our wing rooms added in 1910. Our bedrooms do vary in shape and size due to the age of the building and I do hope you’ll give us another chance. Should you be in London on another occasion please do let me know and we will do our very best to allocate you one of our larger rooms. If you book directly through our website, we offer some great deals. We are currently looking into ways to improve our guest’s breakfast experience and your feedback is invaluable in helping us to get this area right. We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location and we were not disappointed. Victoria Station was around the corner. Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square and good pubs were all within walking distance. The Hop On Hop Off bus had a stop right near the hotel as well. The staff were fantastic. We booked into a standard double room, which was well appointed, but a bit small, so we opted for an upgrade to an executive room, which was really spacious. The Office Manager on at the time, Solari I think her name was, was so efficient and so helpful in organising this change for us. The atmosphere at the hotel was just what we expected from a hotel in London, classy, steeped in history and a beautiful old building. Taking afternoon tea there was a great experience, just soaking up the atmosphere. Breakfasts were really well done, with lots to choose from. Finally Miguel, one of the Concierges was so knowledgable about London, and so helpful. He is a great asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: The standard room was quite small, as it seems are most rooms in hotels in England. The executive ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I’m pleased you were not disappointed with your choice and will certainly share your feedback with Sonali and Miguel; its fantastic when team members are personally mentioned for their great service. Our location is ideal for our guests who want to explore the sights of London, either by foot or public transport which is virtually on our doorstep. I do hope you managed to take advantage of all the extra facilities on offer with our Executive room package and you will come and stay with us again here at The Grosvenor soon.
With kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel's location is central to everything in London. Literally you can access the hotel trough a door with a small sign from the Victoria station. You got access to buses, trains, and all transportation mechanisms within London. The hotel itself is great well maintained, good English breakfast in the morning, great and welcoming staff members. The rooms are apple and nice. This hotel is located within a ten minute walk to Buckingham palace.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. Our recently refurbished hotel is really conveniently located and our side entrance from the station is an added bonus. Here at The Grosvenor we pride ourselves on our hotel and team and it’s always a pleasure to welcome new and regular guests through our doors. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The hotel building is beautiful and full of character. We had a fantastic meal here on a previous trip to London and were excited to stay when returning to London however we were a little disappointed. Our room was quite small, although comfortable and modern. The en-suite was tiny. We stayed on a windy night and the sash window in our room banged all night (as it did not close properly) and we had a very poor nights sleep- this was mentioned on check-out and we were only offered a free upgrade if we returned in the future (which I don't think we will). Drinks were over-priced and on top of this, incurred a service charge that did not match good service. In one of the bars there appeared to be no table service yet a hefty service charge was applied when you went to the bar. The hotel public areas were a little cold. However, the location is brilliant, right next to Victoria station with a tube station and express rail to Gatwick, despite this we will be staying in another hotel in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjryan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for your post. I regret that you had a disappointing stay with us and I will certainly look into the issues that you have raised. We would welcome the chance to show you that you can have a fantastic stay as well as a superb meal here at The Grosvenor. Please do contact me directly in order that I can personally look after you if you are intending to stay in London again.
With kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Very satisfied with our stay here. The rooms are good but the main thing is the hotel is so handy to transport. It is also not far from many attractions and you can choose many restaurants nearby.
Typical English style hotel and the brealkfast is a good variety.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sylvitrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thanks for you post. The team and I here at The Grosvenor hope to welcome you back in the near future.
With kind regards, Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This hotel is situated right in front of a Bus stop and our room happens to be just above the Victoria Station. But the Noise level (if any) is hardly noticeable) Concierge and Staff are very helpful and friendly. Servers @ breakfast are very attentive and were always on their feet bringing us treat coffee hot Choco toast etc. This is much closer to the Westminster Abbey and Parliament bldg. than I expected ... Googlemaps indicate about a 20 min. Walk but it was not. I am not big on walking but I am happy that we stayed here for it's location. It's close to restaurants and pubs. We ate at BAgs of Nails, Shakespeare and Balls Brothers. Bought British Chocolates downstairs at the Victoria Station.
The room we got (booked through at travel agent) were tiny. Good thing we only had carry on luggage, I can't imagine fitting 2 big luggage in the room. I forgot to bring my hair conditioner and the hotel provided only conditioning shampoo.... blah. Beds were so soft unfortunately wasn't good for my back. Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ChokNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanFletcher, General Manager at The Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your post. We are conveniently situated here at The Grosvenor with the mainline, underground and bus terminals really close by as well as many tourist attractions within walking distance which makes us an ideal choice if you are not big on walking. Our hotel was built in 1862 and due to the age of the building has several different shaped and sized rooms. Should you decide to stay with us again, please do let us know and we will do our very best to allocate you one of our larger rooms. Our Housekeeping department are always on hand to assist with any extra toiletries you may require and can remove the mattress topper if you would like a slightly firmer bed. We do hope you’ll visit us again soon.
With kind regards Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Rubens at the Palace
The Rubens at the Palace
#72 of 1,076 in London
4,256 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#317 of 1,076 in London
1,656 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. James' Court, A Taj Hotel
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,076 in London
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 101 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0SJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#105 Family Hotel in London
#110 Romantic Hotel in London
#147 Business Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £133 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grosvenor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grosvenor, London Hotel London
Grosvenor Hotel London
Thistle Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing