We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely avoid it!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Globe - CLOSED

The Globe
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
1 review
“Absolutely avoid it!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

One star because zero is not possible to choose. Staff really unpleasant and rude. Avoid it absolutely!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank IlsolitoGufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    48
    45
    19
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Makes Shakespeare come to life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you want to understand how a Shakespeare play should look, visit The Globe. The guides clearly love this place and breathe life into every story. A must visit for lovers of The Bard and for students trying to get to grips with his work

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AOBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Turned away because there were 5 in our group”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We came for a nice weekend in London and were recommended this pub as it was in a perfect location half way through our day of tourist activities. Upon entering I was asked 'what do you want'. I explained as it was a pub perhaps some food. I was looking forward to some food too. Then the 4 other people in my group arrived and we were told we would not be served because there were too many people in our group. Apart from making really bad business sense this was really rude. I've never been so embarrassed in all my life. We were treated like we were some kind of mob. We had money to spend and all we wanted was a quiet drink and a bite to eat. Avoid avoid avoid!!!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Global T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dresden, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst pub experience EVER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My friend had booked a table at this pub on the day the Baftas were taking place. She even got a reservation confirmation!
It was almost impossible to get through all the people and barriers and we only got through because we told the security people that we had a reservation at this pub. When we arrived there however, the door was closed and the owner and staff were standing by the window and weren't even letting us in! Although we had a confirmed reservation! It looked like they had barricaded themselves in, so we had to leave. We called the pub owner a few minutes later and he picked up the phone, but HUNG UP on us! How rude is that?!
Even if the reservation was an automated one, they could have mentioned on their website or somewhere that the pub would be closed that night! Awful!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“They didnt want to serve us!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We went to that place on a Saturday afternoon around 4 PM, hoping to drink a tea and eat a cake (that's supposed to be tea time in England right?) - I go to the bar to order, I ask for 2 teas, and I'm being told that they would not give me tea if I don't order food... I say but of course, I'd take 2 brownies with the tea... and then I'm being told no way you'll get dessert without eating a main course before... is that a joke? I will not go back

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Benoit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Globe also viewed

 
Stratford City, London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing