We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PubLove at The Great Eastern
Ranked #244 of 557 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic and Cheap”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I stayed here with a friend, for about three nights and I have been thoroughly impressed. The bedding was clean, staff very friendly, and location was not that bad. For paying around 15 pounds per night per person I was quite content. The location is about 20 minutes from tower hill, and 30 from westminster. Another plus on location is it is about 5 minutes to Greenwich, which was one of my favorite parts of London. My friend and I, both 18 year old females, were in a 9 bedroom mixed dorm. It was awesome, we met some nice people! The only complaint is that in our 9 dorm beds there was mostly guys, which meant it had a heavy smell of axe (or of man as we call it). We were definitely grateful for the window! Although everybody in our room was very kind, and we all had a good time. The breakfast is cereal and toast. The staff is always willing to start a convo, and all of them are friendly. Definitely staying here next time!

Room Tip: If you are shy try and get an all of your same gender room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    81
    70
    37
    38
See reviews for
6
19
136
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I'm currently writing this view sat eating breakfast at The Great Eastern! I stayed here with the Fresh! Backpackers company and I was delighted with the service I received. The lack of curfew meant I could arrive at 11pm and checkin was very fast and the staff were lovely. The room was ever so clean, and the bathroom spotless too. Wifi is also decent! Breakfast was free with the deal and I was pleasantly surprised. Only cereal or toast available and hot drinks, but for the price - i'm not complaining! :) Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

It may take a little longer to get to the centre of London from here, but I liked the quieter neighbourhood. I was a little apprehensive about the triple decker bunks, but they were pretty solid, no squeaking etc. Pre-made beds were a very nice touch. The hostel is above a very nice pub- definitely not your average boozer, which is the only common area. I'd give another star if they had a kitchen, but there are a few grocers and takeaways around so no big deal. Fairly clean and well run- I wouldn't mind staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

If you want to stay in a little, nice hostel for good price you can stay in 'the great eastern'. Good price for the room, quite clean' breafast is included (however tosts and jam are everyday). Generally there is great atmosphere, you can feel comfortable. Only1 minus - water is cold. Spending 4 days in that hostel i had hot water in shower only once. Good localization. Great and helpful staff

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uhu-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I stayed here 3 nights and had a fine time. The room was for four women with en suite bathroom. The bedding was clean and comfortable. The metal bunks were a bit squeaky, but still comfy.
There was plenty of room to spread out. The downstairs lounge was a great place to review the day over a pint. The staff was very friendly. When we checked in Edward walked us upstairs (even carrying a bag) making sure we were able to use the key codes. The Great Eastern is about 2 blocks away from the closest train (DLR) tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood on the river. I enjoyed watching the local children walk to school each morning. It made me feel like I belonged there. The only down side is that it is almost a one hour tube ride into the city center. This hostel was a great value for the money and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsWeasley6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed for with a friend in a 6-bed dorm from 16-19 November 2012, room was decent, clean, had en suite bathroom with newly fitted appliances (shower, sink, toilet etc).

The Great Eastern is situated on the upper floors of a pub of same name, has complimentary wi-fi throughout and a voucher for half-priced drinks at the bar when you stay. The hostel is quiet, does not allow consumption of alcohol not bought on site, has a 24-hour reception and a generally pleasant atmosphere at a good price. About 5-minutes walk from Island Gardens station on the Docklands Light Railway and about 15-minutes walk (via the foot tunnel) to Greenwich village where the Cutty Sark, the Royal Observatory and Naval College are located.

The bar has been recently refurbished and there is a spacious and comfortable lounge for customers. Breakfast is included in the price and is basic (cereal/toast) but can't really complain given the cheap price (paid £65 for two nights for both myself and my friend). The hostel also does decent pizzas in the evening for £7.95 if you missed dinner. The only down side was the guy who snored all night in the dorm, but that's not the fault of the hostel!

Private 2-bed dorms and all-female dorms are available. Ideal for a budget trip to London, would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Decent hostel for visiting Greenwich. Found it clean and relaxed but breakfast finishes too early. Who wants to get up at 8 when theyre travelling?

Also there are not enough showers on second floor. Apart from that it was fairly good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
#230 of 557 in London
122 reviews
Norbury Apart Hotel
#198 of 557 in London
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bennys B and B
#107 of 557 in London
182 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#340 of 557 in London
279 reviews
A to B Hotel
#395 of 557 in London
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PubLove at The Great Eastern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PubLove at The Great Eastern

Property: PubLove at The Great Eastern
Address: 1 Glenaffric Avenue, London E14 3BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — PubLove at The Great Eastern 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PubLove at the Great Eastern is an award-winning backpacker hostel above a traditional London pub. We have comfortable beds, in-room security lockers, 24 hour reception, and a great team of PubLovers to make your London experience the time of your life. We also have a pool table and a wide range of damned good drinks waiting for you in our glorious London pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your PubLove at The Great Eastern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing