We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Sports Pubs in London!”

The Bowler Pub and Kitchen
Ranked #11,749 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Clerkenwell
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best Sports Pubs in London!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A friend and I were looking for a pub to watch the 6 nations this past Saturday. After perusing matchpint.co.uk, we decided on The Bowler due to the convenient location and the rave reviews on the matchpint site.

We arrived for the later game (England v Scotland) around 4:30 with there being a bit of a crowd. There were chairs set up cinema style in front of a gigantic HD projector, as well as some sofas up front. We went to the bar to order some drinks and ask if we would be lucky enough to grab some chairs, or if they were already booked. The bartender directed us to the owner, Lee, who coincidentally had a cancelled reservation for one of the sofas and asked if we'd like to have that spot. Perfect! Since we had a place to sit, we also ordered two cheeseburgers which were pretty amazing and almost reason enough to visit the pub (unless you hate cheeseburgers).

I think this might be my new sports pub!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBowlerEC1, Owner at The Bowler Pub and Kitchen, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Vincent P

Glad you like the sofa spot, talk about good timing.

Big Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you liked the Cheeseburgers and hopefully we'll see you again at The Bowler for more beers, burgers and sports.

Best

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    4
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Drinks and a game”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This pub is great to watch a game and have a relaxing drink. With a large screen, projector and ample seating, this makes for a great atmosphere to enjoy your favourite sport. The service was good and the food was delicious and well-priced. The staff were friendly and overall this was a lovely experience.

Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KAD86_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBowlerEC1, Owner at The Bowler Pub and Kitchen, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear KAD86_UK

Thank your for your review. I do appreciate people taking the time to write their views on this forum, and even more pleased to read a glowing report.

Until the next game!

Best

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Work lunch - never again!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We visited The Bowler for a work lunch this afternoon, having intially booked a table for 8 another 5 colleagues decided they wanted to come too - being a bar we did not see this as being an issue.

On arrival the waiter serving us was instantly rude and commented 'you should have booked for more, its easier to remove a table then add one' - not greatful for the extra custom, instead making us feel like we were an inconvenience.

When taking our food order the same red faced waiter was again rude to 3 colleagues who had decided to just have a drink rather than eat, again making us feel like we had inconvenienced him by making him move table when some were only having a drink.

The service didn't improve... when the food eventually arrived (after nearly and hour) one of our orders was wrong and another was missed and when we questioned this we were again treated like an inconvenience. The angry waiter who had taken the order butted into a conversation being had with the manager and said aggressively 'people shouldn't come into a restaurant and move tables' when we replied that this was outrageous customer service, he then replied 'well the customer isn't always right'. Not making any apology for missing the order in the first place.

Needless to say neither myself or the rest of my colleagues will ever visit this pub again. We will stick to the Wilmington & Exmouth Arms where customers are treated decently and would recommend others do to.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J0nes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBowlerEC1, Owner at The Bowler Pub and Kitchen, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear JOnes86

Further to your review I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to write your opinion. I find it invaluable to receive feedback whether its positive or negative such as yours, so that I can continually improve on the experience we offer our guests and as such are extremely grateful that you have done so.

At The Bowler we take the greatest of pride in providing the highest standards of customer service in all areas and at all times and as such it is a disappointment to learn that we fell short of this on this occasion. I can assure you that a full investigation has taken place regarding your complaint, all relevant staff have been spoken to and where necessary appropriate measures have been put in place to prevent any type of reoccurrence.

This is a situation that we do not take lightly and that relevant training sessions will take place with our entire team to ensure that our service standards are at the highest level we insist on. Please do accept the apologies of the management team for the unacceptable delays and shortfalls in service on the day and any resultant displeasure caused to you.



With regards



Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Six Nations Pub”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Throughout the 3 games the service was excellent, friendly, and efficient. Food was fantastic, scotch egg heaven and heart stopping nachos. The manager has really taken out all the stops to ensure that the customers get exactly the type of atmosphere a rugby fan would want. If you do want to sit down, then definitely book ahead, but plenty of room to stand, jump up and down and yell as well.
Would like to say thank you to the team for going that extra mile with the sticky toffee puddings at the end of the evening. Will be returning to work my way through more of the menu later.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Town
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on this Farringdon gem!”
Reviewed 7 November 2012

I have been to the Bowler on multiple occasions now, and was never left disappointed. Their service, food and drink are always good. I have also been here on 2 occasions for work functions and the finger food and service for these big corporate events were fantastic! Everybody could not stop mentioning how nice the food was in comparison to the normal buffet style we are used to on nights like this.
If you are in the area, be sure not to miss out - especially for BUrger Wednesday!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpretorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBowlerEC1, Owner at The Bowler Pub and Kitchen, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
HI

Many thanks for your review, I am happy you have had a good night with us.
i look forward to seeing you here again soon.

With regards
Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bowler Pub and Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Bowler Pub and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing