We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience average food”

The Folly Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #2,364 of 22,664 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: Step inside into a haven of foliage and garden-inspired interiors where you can sip creative cocktails and enjoy the seasonal all-day dining menu from early morning breakfasts through to dinner and late night drinks. Spread over two floors and with a spacious private dining room downstairs, The Folly is equipped for your every need.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely experience average food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Ambience and quirky service were good, however this did not makeup for the tasteless and under seasoned food which was a letdown

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrumpy7255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Folly Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us.
We're so happy that the service and atmosphere were at such a high level for you.
We would love for you to re-book with us for a lunch or a dinner to make sure that you receive the high quality folly food standards that our customers are used to. Please contact our reservations team to book a table on 0845 468 0102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    268
    149
    124
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lucky find”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stumbled across this place when we were walking to the Thames and the heavens opened up so we went in and decided to have lunch we were so glad that we did. The atmosphere in the place was great and the food certainly did this place proud. They do sharing plates and gourmet food we had crispy aromatic Duck on flat bread and the ribs after consulting with our very helpfull waiter ( Otilah ) hope that's right we were not disappointed. The place was almost full and yet we felt that we received personal attentive service..all in all a great little find..Down stairs looks like it would b a great place to just stop in for a drink, great atmosphere..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenSkidmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Folly Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review!
We're glad we gave you a haven from the rain. We do pride ourselves here on our customer service and Attila is a wonderful figure to head this for us!
We're glad you enjoyed our food too! We make sure we are as innovative and original as we can be with our delicious menus!
I hope you can come back and try some of our delectable and beautiful cocktails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous evening!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

What a great evening! I've been here once before for Mother's Day and the service was great, the staff couldn't do enough for us and the food was amazing and was very reasonably priced. I came again with work colleagues and although it was completely packed the bar staff worked at such a fast pace that we didn't wait long for drinks. We didn't reserve a table on advance but after asking they sorted one out for us, which was a group of 11 people! Great atmosphere, great staff and amazing cocktails! All round a brilliant night!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurencobb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Folly Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a glowing review!
We do pride ourselves on our service here at The Folly and are very happy that you enjoyed yourself enough to shout about it!
Please do book an area to come in for drinks with us and experience our beautiful and delectable cocktails! Contact our reservations team on 0845 468 0102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent evening!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went last night for a cocktail making lesson for some friends birthdays.. It was so much fun! Jacob was brilliant, amazing teacher and he got involved with our party, made it all the more fun.. Made 3 delicious cocktails! Had dinner before hand which I would recommend, not only because it's delicious but you may need to line your stomach before the cocktails! Lovely atmosphere and the place is beautifully decorated! Thanks again Jacob.. Definitely be back soon, even it's just for dinner!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heaf91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly B, Public Relations Manager at The Folly Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review!
We're so glad you were able to try the food and our delicious drinks too!
Our mixology classes are such fun and this way because of how interesting, fun and entertaining Jacob is! We're glad you noticed this too!
Our mixology classes are a brilliant way to celebrate with something a little different, birthdays, leaving parties, hen or stag weekends!
We look forward to seeing you again, if you would like to book a table for dinner, please contact our reservations team on 0845 468 0102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Sultan, what a man”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The Foley is quite simply the go to place if you're a cannon street worker - I always get served by Sultan, the guy is a legend, efficient, charismatic and a legend amongst bar men. Cheers Sultan, you're the man!

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folly B, Public Relations Manager at The Folly Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a lovely review!
Sultan is a fantastic bar tender, do come back in to see more of his wonderful work.
Or come in the day for some yummy lunch! Contact our lovely reservations team to book a table on 0845 468 0102.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Folly Bar & Restaurant also viewed

London, England
 

Been to The Folly Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing