We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good, remember your cardigan!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Cinemas

Empire Cinemas
Ranked #71 of 337 Fun & Games in London
Attraction details
Wigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, remember your cardigan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Watched Dallas Buyers Club at the cinema and was a little surprised when realising that the screen 5 only contained a few rows of seats and feared being overwhelmed by the screen, however fears dissipated when entering the auditorium. The screen suited the size and the seats were very comfortable. The service of all staff was excellent from the ticket desk, usher and bar service. The building was clean throughout, including the bathrooms. Definately worth another visit for the feeling of coming out after the show to the hubbub of Leicester Square - it made you feel that you had been to an event!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    19
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“terrible service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

the woman at the ice cream counter where we purchased our tickets was cold & unfriendly & totally ignored my friend who was waiting to be served. her attitude was like she coulndnt be bothered & we were a nuisance. do not know how she got a job in front line customer service.....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank adam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Empire Cinema Basildon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This has become our favourite local cinema. It is so easy to book your seats on-line and pick up the tickets in the Foyer or any till point. There is plenty of Disabled Parking close to the door and ramps to get up kerbs. If you get your tickets on-line you automatically get bigger reclining seats. There is a range of food available in the cinema and other restaurant's in the Foyer area. Plenty of screens equates to a variety of films available.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank F2Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wolf of Wall Street”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Went along to the Empire Cinema Basildon to see this film. Film started 13:40 pm We arrived at 13:20pm and waited and waited in a queue to get our tickets. It was 13:45pm before we got served. Too long a wait. The film was good seating good. Everything else ok. But will not go back to this particular cinema who feel it is acceptable to treat its customers with such disregard.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Empire cinema Basildon- fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Booked in to see the hunger games movie girl on fire a couple of Sundays ago, and my friend was unable to make the showing that we had booked through no fault of her own. I live locally and went to see the manager there who had absolutely no problem or hesitation in allowing us to swap to a later showing despite that being against the company policy.

He was extremely helpful and the film was very good also, as we watched it in the IMPACT screen.

Really really impressed with the customer service and the fact that the manager wasn't interested in being a jobsworth. Comfortable good film great service

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Empire Cinemas also viewed

 

Been to Empire Cinemas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing