We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, and best location hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surprise Backpackers
Ranked #570 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly, and best location hostel”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed for two night in Surprise hostel, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel is located at the Vauxhall bridge road (main road) and just 10 minutes walking distance from Victoria train station and it is also walking distance to Westminster and Buckingham palace (you can take tube train to those places, but you may miss out the nice street view)

Clean and comfortable bed, but the flooring is dusty. Great breakfast ever (bread, oats, milk, coffee and tea) this is more than enough for me. Toilet and shower area is OK (acceptable), but the lighting quite dimmed.

Overall experience is absolutely good. Will back again to stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltotheworld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    14
    20
    16
    27
See reviews for
3
2
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zelenograd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Good:
- Friendly staff
- Free wifi
- Breakfast
- No problem with tissues and toilet papers
- Location
- Very good kitchen with a lot of tools, two fridges, cooker, oven, etc

Bad:
- Places around showers were dirty
- Only some of showers worked well (I found only one was good, it's good idea to check before washing)
- Toilet seats are broken almost everywhere (and I couldn't also stay on a toilet bowl because it was in a mess, it was probably glue or something I didn't know)

Very bad:
- bed bugs (it was in the "Orange room" at the beginning of January 2012)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanislav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed for one night with friends in a 12 person dorm.
Other quests were partying hard, going in and out of the room all the time so maybe it was just our bad luck this time, but sleep was just a dream we didnt have...

Location was ok, some walking from the main subway lines though.
The included breakfast was almost a joke - instant coffee and toast, but what would you expect for a 13eur price per night?
Have to give a plus to the staff though, they were nice and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a dorm away from the busy street if possible. Traffic noises are a nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 00kiksu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Really good location. The facilities were a little bit old, but for me that is not a big deal. They had enough showers/toilets. The staff were friendly.

Close to the Victoria train station, and Pimlico tube station. I walked down to see the major sightseeing stuff, and it was not too far. Two convinient stores are located nearby.

The bed was not very comfy, and the room I stayed in was next to a trafficed road. But I was tired, so sleeping wasn't really a big problem.

If you want to stay in London on a low budget, I recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErlendMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We stayed here for a week and thought the location was awesome. Walking distance from Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, the parks, etc. Really close to an underground station (pimlico) and buses at Victoria station.

The hostel was OK, but not great. It's a bit old and tired but clean. Our room was small (4bed dorm) and had only one power point. The matresses were uncomfortable but OK when I slept on top of my duvet. The kitchen/tv room was small too.

While some of the staff were great and very helpful, most seemed unhappy and unapproachable.

I'd probably stay there again because it was ok value but take a multi plug!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We spent five nights in this special, wonderful place.
Clean linen given when arriving was a really nice thing (helped to survive home sickness..:) -after all sleeping in someone elses linen is always a bit risky.. ;)

The staff was amazing -they all made us feel more than welcome! We spent all our evenings in the pub downstairs feeling happy and wanted. It was really easy to get to know people, and the best part was that the people were "real londoners" :) meaning, that it wasn't filled with turists.

If you wish to eat breakfast (served in the pub) you better be there first thing in the morning. Cereal and toast is served along with instant coffee and te -enough to make it to the city. And the city and it's all attractions are just a few minutes walk away!!

Most of all loved the people we met there! Miss them already. Athmosphere makes a difference.

Room Tip: Four bed female dorm -quiet, facing inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 72411Anu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Victor Hotel London Victoria
Victor Hotel London Victoria
#564 of 1,069 in London
438 reviews
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#227 of 1,069 in London
594 reviews
Westminster
Grange Rochester Hotel
Grange Rochester Hotel
#488 of 1,069 in London
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#226 of 1,069 in London
596 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#112 of 1,069 in London
2,084 reviews
Westminster
Victoria One
Victoria One
#176 of 871 in London
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surprise Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surprise Backpackers

Property: Surprise Backpackers
Address: 110 Vauxhall Bridge Road, London SW1V 2RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #570 of 871 Speciality Lodging in London
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing