We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb bistro for post match relaxation”
Review of La Muse

La Muse
Ranked #1,370 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$53
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A little gem right on the Holloway road close to Highbury and Islington station. A lovely little independent, shabby chic, arty and very relaxed restaurant serving food cooked with passion for food. The menu changes frequently following the seasons but continually with French cooking as the heart of the menu. With the addition of daily specials there is always more to explore as the charcuterie which provides you with imported French gourmet products such as cheeses, saucissons and cured hams (Also available to buy to take out). There is also an extensive all French wine list with 16 wines served by the glass to suit every taste. We use locally sourced products and only the best ingredients (local butchers etc) At the back is a fantastic walled garden ideal for spring and summer times.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb bistro for post match relaxation”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

On my way home from watching Arsenal give Liverpool a good hiding I discovered La Muse. An excellent little French Bistro that I must have walked past countless times. Delicious food accompanied by very good reasonably priced wines. Polite and knowledgeable service with a very relaxed ambiance. My whitebait was fresh, the glass of picpoul that accompanied it delicious. My main course of lamb was simple, tasty and cooked to a pink perfection. I really enjoyed the warm chocolate and tahini pudding with ice cream washed down with a glass of Sauterne. A enjoyable experience, I would heartily recommend La Muse and intend to eat there again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thesiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baris D, Manager at La Muse, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words.
Hope to see you soon again, this time with your wife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    32
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful La Muse”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Love it. 5 mins from Highbury & Islington station. It won't stay secret for long. Lovely fresh home made food. Charming staff and smooth service, with nothing being to much trouble. Don't miss the homemade Carrot cake and Apple tart. Gorgeous.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Duchess000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Islington best eating place”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a great place to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner with family or friends. Lunch, including starter and main goes under very attractive price!
Boasting simple, yet tasty French food from fresh ingredients, this bistro offers excellent selection of affordable wines and good quality coffee (btw, beans are said to be sourced from very good suppliers ;) Do allow yourself a yummy dessert - crem brulee or tanjine chocolate cake with ice cream.

Don't forget to have the perfect cheese plate with hand-picked jams on the side - you will appreciate it a lot either before or after the meal as a tasteful finishing touch. The overall experience is even more pleasant, thanks to friendly service and welcoming atmosphere of the place.

I would surely recommend this place to anyone staying or visiting in Islington area/Holloway road.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneDotsenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
“A treat for the taste buds.”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

If for some reason I was forced to have all my meals for the rest of my days in one establishment, I wouldn't even think to shed a tear if it was at La Muse.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb little restaurant”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

I came here with friends before a concert down the road. I gulped when I walked in because it looked more like a sandwich bar than a restaurant, but that was before I'd spotted the charming little room at the back. We actually sat at the table at the end of the counter which was great because we could see what was going on in the open kitchen.
For starters we had duck rillettes, pear and Stilton salad and baked Camembert. All were excellent. Main courses were their home-made burger and chips, lamb rump and the aubergine millefeuille. Again wonderful food beautifully presented. The lamb was the best I had tasted in quite some time.
The staff were lovely and the meal for four, including two bottles of good red came in at £30 a head.
I will definitely go back when I'm next in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravenbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Muse also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to La Muse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing