We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Ranked #4 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed for three nights over the August Bank Holiday weekend. Tom on the front desk was extremely helpful. We got a garden view room with a king sized bed and a disabled access bathroom. The rooms are arranged cloister style around an attractive central courtyard. Overall it's a peaceful, tranquil environment.

Comfortable bed - we got a good sleep; pleasantly surprised not to be disturbed by any noise from the trains that seem to run practically overhead, nor by other guests. A fine quality continental breakfast was included in the room rate, served each morning in the refectory.

Very little for tourists to do in this part of town but the retreat is so close to the DLR that it doesn't matter - trains into the city run so frequently we never had to wait for longer than two minutes.

Excellent value for money, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valentine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Valentine,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

It is really not an ordinary hotel. It is a guest house in it's best form. Really good people working at the reception, breakfast room, maids. If you arrive early or leaving latter than your check out time they will provide you with a free luggage storage. Room was very, very, very, very small. We had to unpack and place everything in the small room closet to be able to move around. Hardly any space for the laptop, beside coffee maker placed on the small desk. By the way, internet - fast and good. AC units are available in some rooms (but they are on the outside of the buildings and street noise is present). My AC unit was a large stand up fan. Thanks god for it as it was very warm and we Americans...you know, spoiled... Regardless, it was not easy to sleep in a worm room. Room was at the garden side, quiet.
DLR station is just 3 minutes walk away, which is great as this place is outside London, but step away from it. With Oyster card £3.00 from LHR to this place!
There are several food stores nearby, one of them outside DLR on your way to the RF of SK.
The price for the room was fine considering a fantastic (I repeat, fantastic) breakfast buffet and previously mentioned size of the room, the queen bed lack of AC. In addition, I have to mention a small shower, bus really great one. I enjoyed: great shower had and the feeling I am in RV shower unit. In addition, lights in the bathroom should be less invasive (if you go there during the night, you might go blind).
Go there, you will not be disappointed if you do not mind a room at the smaller side. Just remember, in London you can get the same room size but without windows and without breakfast for more money. Using DLR and Underground transportation was a great experience. Do not think you will be far away at Limehouse location.

Room Tip: If you want larger rooms, they are available if you book early. If you want AC, you can get it if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoweDZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear HoweDZZY

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This is a reasonably priced little gem of a property right off of the Limehouse DLR stop, a two minute walk. We stayed here because we had a very early flight out of London City airport. The first train to the airport was 0538 and we were there by 6am.
The room was small and spartan but comfortable and the property was very nice. There was a bit of train noise with the open bedroom window but nothing outrageous. The breakfast was typical European continental. Overall a great find.

Room Tip: We were in room 9; courtyard facing which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tailstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Tailstrike

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in this retreat for one night – it really is a little gem. We had one of the “flats” – 2 bedrooms with a kitchen (of sorts). Clean and good standard of accommodation (no TV), with very helpful staff, 24 reception and secure – the gate are all accessed by the keycard. Breakfast was good – continental, with plenty choice. The surroundings are very peaceful, with the courtyard and cloisters very welcoming. This is well worth consideration for a stay in London – just 2 stops on the DLT from Bank tube station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mad_scotty_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Mad Scotty Dog

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband daughter and a cousin from New Zealand and I spent a long weekend visiting the sights of London while staying at this very special venue. It is indeed an Oasis of Calm in the east of the city. It was easy to reach by bus or DLR train connecting easily with the underground, only a few stops away from the city centre. We received a lovely welcome and were well looked after by the pleasant, gentle and polite staff for whom nothing was any trouble. The rooms were very clean and had all we needed for a comfortable stay. Breakfast was delicious. The atmosphere is quiet and calm and there is a beautiful central courtyard and chapel which anyone can go into if they wish. Very reasonably priced. We will certainly come again when visiting London.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarinda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Clarinda

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I spent one night in this B&B. I had read the good reviews, but my experience was really disappointing.
To start with, the room was extremely small, and not really clean. The carpet was dusty and stained. Bed linen was not really clean (especially the cover). In general, the room was not in very good conditions.
And the worse part is that there was so much noise coming from the street that it was impossible to sleep.
Breakfast was average-acceptable, but the overall experience was terrible.

Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZAP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebslater, Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

We are very sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your recent stay at St. Katharine's - we have noted your comments and are looking into them carefully.

Our bedrooms are usually rated highly in terms of cleanliness and our guests tell us that our bedrooms are of comfortable size, and that access to our spacious communal areas, including peaceful chapel and garden make St. Katharine's an attractive and unique place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed for two nights to visit museums and take in a couple of shows. It is outside the congestion zone and has parking and is also only 5 minutes walk from Limehouse DLR station. Room was quiet, comfortable and had a great view of garden. Think of it as a stay in an up-market monastery ( there is a chapel and daily services). Breakfast was quality continental. 24r service in reception as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1947G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2016

Dear Mike,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#71 of 1,075 in London
3,565 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,075 in London
3,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Foundation of St Katharine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Address: 2 Butcher Row, London E14 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: £81 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Foundation of St Katharine 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine is a charitable foundation which sits within, yet apart from, the heart of London’s East End. Just minutes from the City and Canary Wharf, our comfortable accommodation offers a secure and relaxing environment and an unparalleled sense of peaceful seclusion. We invite you to explore St Katharine’s and to discover what you may find in this hidden oasis. Simple, comfortable, and all with en-suite facilities, our recently refurbished bedrooms are available both to individuals and members of groups at St Katharine’s. For a long stay or short, take advantage of our proximity to central London, our excellent transport links, and the unrivaled calm you will find here. Our quiet garden and serene chapel are open to all our guests and provide a welcome contrast to the hustle of a day in the capital. We have recently opened St Katharine's Precinct adjacent to our main site. This includes the only Yurt Cafe in London serving freshly prepared breakfast, Lunch and craft coffee 9am - 5pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Foundation of St Katharine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing