We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Ranked #7 of 869 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The rooms, people, grounds, service and breakfasts were all top quality, but coming home late on the DLR I found a bit nerve wracking as men hang around the dark tunnels that you need to walk through to get back. Perhaps I could have found another route and I would in future catch a cab back. Very good location for the Thames walk, the Globe and Tate modern though. Just catch DLR to Bank and it is a great walk from there. Do visit the chapel. It is quite profoudly moving integration of the past and present of the Foundation, reflected in the contents, the design and the materials. I was also interested to read about the innovative work they are involved in on the noticeboards.

Room Tip: Many people recommend the garden rooms. The garden is lovely from the breakfast room (squirrels!), o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear Clarice,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    124
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
73
129
57
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a find! Easy to fins with excellent parking. Rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. Breakfast included and good value.
It is always difficult to get into London from the country because of parking and this is close to the Docklands Railway Limehouse station/ Also very close to good restaurants in Docklands and the Thames.
No TV but not a problem for us
WIFI access.
We will use this again as it opens up London to us again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear Ray

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

As a lone female business traveller in London I am always apprehensive about security and chose this as my choice for a recent trip due to excellent reviews on here.

Firstly the location is just a couple of minutes direct walk from a busy DLR station and signposted well. I would suggest grabbing a bite to eat en route or a sandwich before getting to the area (although there is a costcutter and sainsburys local about 1 minute walk away on a main road) as evening meals are not served here as a rule.

St Katharine's is a wonderful calm oasis in the midst of Limehouse with professional attentive staff. This is a Christian retreat and used by groups as a conference centre but if you are not that way inclined don't worry at all.

What I adored about RFSK was the secured central gardens and spacious communal lounge with huge comfy sofas. This was a lovely change from other hotels where the only place you can work or read in peace is your room. Ask the reception staff if you fancy a tipple or two and they will bring it to you in the lounge. A wonderful feeling of peacefulness, safety and space is present here I did not feel compelled to stay in my room - a first in many years of travel in the capital

There are no tv's which was what initially attracted me to RFSK but there is super quick wireless internet all around if you feel the need for contact with the outside world.

I stayed in a single room which did overlook the main road and I was initially concerned about road traffic noise which is present I think those used to living on a main road would not be bothered by it but as I live in a quiet close it was noticeable. £2 from reception bought me a pack of 3 sets of excellent quality earplugs (bargain!) and I slept like a baby.

The room was immaculately clean & comfortable with a single bed, good sized desk & wardrobe, the bed was very comfy with crisp white sheets.

The bathroom was generous in size and modern, again it was spotlessly clean with a powerful shower cubicle.

Breakfast was served in the dining room overlooking the gardens with buffet style juices, toast, boiled eggs, ham, cheeses, croissants, yogurts, fruit and delicious real coffee (decaf available too) it was extremely filling and again a pleasant change from the dried up Luke warm offerings presented in some hotel buffets.

Check in and out was seamless with attentive friendly staff.

Would I stay again? In a flash - I have found my little London niche now and at £68 including breakfast pleasant on the pocket too.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear Nikki,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having read earlier reviews I found that they gave an accurate description of this charming guest house. I occupied a single room that, unfortunately, overlooked the main road, Butchers Row, which is obviously busy 24/7. At first I thought that the triple glazing would do the trick as during daylight hours I didn't notice too much traffic noise. However once the density of traffic eased in the late evening, vehicles were travelling faster and that was creating greater noise. The room also has an air conditioning unit which sprang into life occasionally during the night despite being switched off!

The continental breakfast was good and the overall service by the staff was excellent. My advice is book early and secure a garden room.

Room Tip: You must secure a garden room particularly if traffic noise is an issue for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urbanorienteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear Urbanorienteer

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We held a small conference at the Foundation in September. This location was ideal for some peace and quiet, conducive to a productive conference for our charity and we also came away from London feeling refreshed and invigorated instead of usually being worn out by a trip to the capital. Such a convenient location, close to the Docklands Light Railway, (and therefore London City Airport) and it also has a car park. We took advantage of the garden to sit out after our first day, enjoying a drink from the alcohol supplies kept in a fridge by reception. Overall, the Foundation was such a welcome change from some of the impersonal places you get in the capital and we will happily return there. The prices are also extremely reasonable for London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderRoad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear ThunderRoad123

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Very good position (zone 2) not too far to the overground station. The room was very clean and neat, the garden was just a pleasure to laze in and what we ate for breakfast lasted untill dinner. Price affordable. We are definatly going back to RFSK asap we are in London!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaQuerci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear Isabella,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a lovely stay on a Weekend. It's very peaceful and welcoming. It was convenient for the tube station which is only a short walk away. We would definitely recommend or visit again. The car park was private and there was plenty of room. Time stands still in this little area in central London. We used this stay to go to the Anniversary of the Olympic Games at Stratford and visit our Daughter who works in that area. We enjoyed a quiet drink before going to bed but do not expect a hotel bar. We spent a little quiet time in the gardens and the Chapel. The Staff were all helpful.

Room Tip: I expect they are all good ...we stayed looking in to the Garden... car park was private and excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_pearce3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 4 January 2016
Dear Mark,

We truly regret the length of time it has taken us to respond to your wonderful review. A lot has happened since your stay, with inclusions such as FREE high-speed WiFi, upgraded Breakfast buffet, redecorated bathrooms and increased retreat activities. And our bells are still calling for Service at 8am Monday to Friday, for those who wish to start the day with a few minutes of reflection.

We do hope to welcome you back to our Extraordinary Urban Oasis in 2016, and encourage you to book direct via our upgraded website, ensuring you can take advantage of our exclusive online offer.

With best wishes for a healthy 2016

The TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,069 in London
3,142 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#71 of 1,069 in London
3,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Foundation of St Katharine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Property: The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Address: 2 Butcher Row, London E14 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 869 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Foundation of St Katharine 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine is a charitable foundation which sits within, yet apart from, the heart of London’s East End. Just minutes from the City and Canary Wharf, our comfortable accommodation offers a secure and relaxing environment and an unparalleled sense of peaceful seclusion. We invite you to explore St Katharine’s and to discover what you may find in this hidden oasis. Simple, comfortable, and all with en-suite facilities, our recently refurbished bedrooms are available both to individuals and members of groups at St Katharine’s. For a long stay or short, take advantage of our proximity to central London, our excellent transport links, and the unrivaled calm you will find here. Our quiet garden and serene chapel are open to all our guests and provide a welcome contrast to the hustle of a day in the capital. We have recently opened St Katharine's Precinct adjacent to our main site. This includes the only Yurt Cafe in London serving freshly prepared breakfast, Lunch and craft coffee 9am - 5pm daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Foundation of St Katharine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing