We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“l dont want to tell you how good this place is so it always available for me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Ranked #7 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stretford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“l dont want to tell you how good this place is so it always available for me”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stumbled on the by accident whilst looking for somewhere near O2. Its fantastic not near an underground but the DLR limehouse is a short walk away you can see the line from the hotel. No full English but a substantial continental breakfast buffet selection croissants, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, cereals, yoghurts, fruit, toast, tea & coffee.
What no television there are non in any of the rooms but we didn't miss it there is fee wifi

We had a family suite which was well decorated spacious and airy fab mattresses and bed linen. Tea coffee faculties we had a full size fridge in ours.
This is a Christian retreat with a chapel and beautiful gardens.
There was essentials on sale as well as local beer and wine at reasonable prices.
The only downside was retuning by car late one night to the free car park we had to wait for the gate to be opened and the sat nav had a little trouble locating the exact location. But shh please don't tell everyone about this place.
+

Room Tip: We had a family suite spacious l double 2 twins and l think there was pu me up in the cupboard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazand93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Hazand93

Thank you for the fantastic review and we are very pleased that you managed to uncover our Urban Oasis. It is a very peaceful location with such fantastic links to all areas of London and with very easy access by both car and public transport. With our tranquil garden it offers a peaceful experience for all kinds of occasions, whether they are spiritual or after a really good nights sleep.

The choice to offer all our rooms without television has proved very popular by all guests as it enables them to relax or prepare for important decisions. With the imminent upgrade to fibre optic broadband throughout the St Katharine, you can be assured that you will be able to maintain a fantastic connection with the world, whilst enjoying the peaceful settings.

I have made a special note regarding the unfortunate delay with the gates when trying to access us late in the evening and this is now a matter that we will look into in more detail and find a solution to.

The team and I are looking forward to meet you on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    118
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
119
54
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was met by a smiling charming receptionist and this set the tone for my stay, which was relaxing, quiet and comfortable. St Katharine's is a home from home with a large comfortable sitting room, well furnished and comfortable ensuite bedroom, and pleasant airy dining room overlooking the gardens and the chapel. If you appreciate not being disturbed by noisy neighbours this is the place for you. The room I was in was on the first floor and exposed to traffic noise from the adjacent main road. I am sensitive to unwanted noise but it was not intrusive enough for me to lose sleep; nevertheless, I would opt for a ground floor garden room on my next visit. Breakfast offered the standard options but I very much appreciated the higher quality of the food; good quality yogurt, proper croissants, etc. But make your own tea - there is a thermos jug of readmade but it is not good. The WiFi works well, and the chapel and garden are peaceful areas for quiet contemplation. The surrounding area of Limehouse is not salubrious by any measure Avoid the signposted direct route under the bridge which is dark and not inviting. It is better to opt for the marginally longer route past the pub on the corner the turn left to the hotel. St Katharines has all one needs for a comfortable overnight stay or longer. It is easy to get to and is very good value for London.

Room Tip: Avoid Standard rooms on the upper floor if you don't like outside traffic disturbance. Pay a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakselus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Lakselus,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for highlighting some very important views on how we can improve the guest experience.

Being so centrally located with all areas of London within a couple of minutes, we are very fortunate that the majority of our rooms have views over the garden and as such, not disturbed by street noise. As an ongoing improvement plan, we are constantly looking at new innovative ways to reduce the already low noise levels in the rooms.

You made made some fantastic and productive comments regarding the breakfast and tea offer in specific and we are delighted to inform you that we are in the process of upgrading the entire hot beverage offer here at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine. There are other fantastic additions in the pipeline which will strengthen our Ethos around looking after Body, Mind Soul and Earth further, all which will be introduced gradually and tastefully.

I would be delighted to discuss this with you in person on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

About five years ago I started working in London intermittently and I was looking for a quiet place to stay where I would feel comfortable as a solo traveller. I tried various inexpensive hotels in the city centre and I always came away feeling jaded. St Katherine's is different. If you are looking for a clean, welcoming and comfortable place to stay; one that is quiet given its location, then go no further. I always come back to St Katherine's as long as there is space. Breakfast is continental but high quality and plentiful. If you are interested in fitness then up the road there is Shadwell leisure center that will take bookings on a daily basis for the swimming pool. And if you want to make this more of a retreat the chapel is there as a place to restore spirit as well as mind and body. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking courtyard for extra quiet and not too close to the stairwell where door ten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Celia,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our retreat, a delightful Oasis with such great connections to both the City, Thames River Walks and West End. We are specifically pleased to hear that you enjoyed the tranquillity of St Katharine and we aim to provide a destination for both relaxation, spiritual guidance and comfort.

I have noted the very helpful comment regarding doors being noisy and I am pleased to inform you that it is an area that we will now pay special attention to.

We look forward to welcoming you back to this Extraordinary Urban Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Quiet place. Next to the DLR station. 2 stops away from London bridge. Great breakfast bit it is missing the scrambled eggs. Nice staff. The place is beautiful with
a small church too. Free Wi-Fi with a computer available.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipapranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianKaberg, Director of Operations at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Filipapranto,

Thank you for your fantastic review and we are delighted that you chose The Royal Foundation of St Katharine for your stay in London. I especially take on board your feedback on the Free WiFi and am delighted to inform you that we are in the process of installing fibre optic, ensuring a faster experience when surfing the net.

I welcome the opportunity to greet you in person on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in a very comfortable room overlooking a beautiful garden. St Katharine's is a very welcoming place with helpful, friendly staff and a lovely calm atmosphere. Limehouse DLR station is a short walk away with fast connections to the West End, as well as attractions to the East like the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park. A good continental breakfast, including fresh croissants and bolied eggs. We hope to return here next time we visit London and didn't mind the absence of a TV in the room as this meant the accommodation was quieter. In fact more hotels should follow suit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolTraveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterRFSK, Master at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Glad you had one of our rooms overlooking the garden. It is looking wonderful as all the plants spring into life. It is amazing to have such a space so close to the great communication network you mention in your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

1st time here, Looking for inexpensive overnight on edge of City but needed secure off street parking. Succeeded with all if he above. Happy to recommend and will return.

My single occupancy double room was a bit small but acceptable for £70 incl vat. Desk fine, same with shower room. Breakfast decent. Reports of rear rooms noisy with DLR trains true. Excellent parking behind locked gates.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterRFSK, Master at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Many people value the security of our parking as well as the real sense of safety and calm within the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We chose the hotel because it offers free parking and can easily be reached by car.
In sum, this are the most significant advantages of the place.

It is located next to DLR Limehouse, thus, London City can be travelled fast.
Walks to Canary Wharf are fast and nice, too.

The hotel itself is ok.
The rooms are acceptable size for London standard.

The slogan "Quiet oasis" is not true!
The place is surrounded by busy streets and is quite loud.
Some rooms might be more quiet but ours was very loud.

Breakfast is included and is ok.
Continental breakfast and cereals are offered.

Overall: If free parking is not required, better look for a different place.

Better look on Google street view how to get there!
Maps are not that helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterRFSK, Master at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
I am sorry you did not find us the Quiet Oasis that you had hoped for as "oasis" is one of the most common words used in our feedback. The rooms looking onto our lovely garden are the quietest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#109 of 1,067 in London
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#72 of 1,067 in London
3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Foundation of St Katharine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Foundation of St Katharine

Property: The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Address: 2 Butcher Row, London E14 8DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 838 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Foundation of St Katharine 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine is a charitable foundation which sits within, yet apart from, the heart of London’s East End. Just minutes from the City and Canary Wharf, our comfortable accommodation offers a secure and relaxing environment and an unparalleled sense of peaceful seclusion. We invite you to explore St Katharine’s and to discover what you may find in this hidden oasis. Simple, comfortable, and all with en-suite facilities, our recently refurbished bedrooms are available both to individuals and members of groups at St Katharine’s. For a long stay or short, take advantage of our proximity to central London, our excellent transport links, and the unrivaled calm you will find here. Our quiet garden and serene chapel are open to all our guests and provide a welcome contrast to the hustle of a day in the capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Foundation of St Katharine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing