We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (529)
Filter reviews
529 results
Traveller rating
357
144
20
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
144
20
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimehouse stationgarden roomchristian retreatoverlooking the gardencontinental breakfastdocklands light railwaypeace and quietcanary wharffree wifiboiled eggscold meatsfresh fruitlondon city airportsitting areasingle roomminutes walk awaylate at night
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 529 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2017

The Royal Foundation of St Katherine's is a very special place. A haven of peace and reflection amidst the urban hustle and bustle. The location is great for anything you'd like to do in London as it's very close to the Limehouse DLR station and the Thames Path is nearby, for example. Arriving here after a busy and tiring day really did feel like coming home. RFSK values quietness and reflection, which, for example, means no TVs and calm decor (and a chapel and lovely garden!), which was blissful. Breakfast was wonderful and plentiful.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DLim70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you found peace and reflection during your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting London.

Kind regards,

Tom
15% off using the code 'STKD15' on our website for bookings of two nights or more in January and February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

A place of quiet calm perfect for a business stay over in London. Breakfast excellent, I appreciated the fair trade products. Room spotlessly clean. Hope to return in daylight to enjoy the gardens. Very convenient to DLR you just need to know where to exit the station.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Trevor,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and in particular enjoyed our breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again whether on business or just visiting London.

Kind regards,

Tom
15% off using the code 'STKD15' on our website for bookings of two nights or more, in January and February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

The staff, the lovely breakfast, the immaculate room, the building itself, and the gardens, were all charming and of a consistently high standard. The only downside was finding it. The turn onto the site is all too easily missed when driving (in the dark) down Butcher Row. On our first attempt we ended up in the Limehouse Tunnel, our second saw us drive onto the cycle track in the neighbouring St James Park! But it was third time lucky, after a pretty stressful hour of mishaps. With better signage and/or clearer How to Find Us directions, the really quite unique Royal Foundation of St Katharine would be pretty much perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Jack,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted you had such a positive experience whilst staying with us.

We are sorry you had some difficulties finding us. We do have a map, with detailed directions on how to find us on our website on the page 'directions'. However Following your feedback we will look at this, to make sure that it is clear as it can be.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to London.

Kind regards,

Tom
15% off using the code 'STKD15' on our website for bookings of two nights or more in January and February 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 4, me taking a business trip to London, the husband and kids enjoying some sightseeing.
St Katherine's had everything we needed: free car parking, 2 minutes from the tube network, a spacious family room with 2 bedrooms, and a delicious breakfast.
It was absolutely perfect for our needs and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Clare,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that we provided you with an ideal base for working in, and visiting London.

We are also delighted you enjoyed our breakfast, and I will pass on your kind words to the team here.

We hope to see you on your next trip!

Kind regards,

Tom
15% discount code 'STKD15' when booking for two nights or more in January & February 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Booked in by friends as a last minute requirement and only requirement was to sleep in the room. Arrived to find plenty of secure parking at no extra charge, a friendly welcome, and a modern, well decorated clean ‘hotel’. It definitely does feel different in a positive way, quiet, peaceful, yup oddly somehow it does feel like a retreat. Only minus you can come up with is no television, but really lovely restful well furnished lounge, possible to buy bottle of wine and crisps etc to sit and chat in a social way. Good continental buffet breakfast range and quality plus excellent coffee. Don’t suppose we would have chosen it if we had been looking for a hotel, but having experienced it will go there again

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank andymulholl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom S, Guest Services Manager at The Royal Foundation of St Katharine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2017

Dear Andy,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that after your stay with us, you want to stay with us again!

As we are a retreat centre, we don't have TV's in our rooms to preserve the quiet atmosphere that we strive to create. However we do have high speed WiFi free for all our guests if you want to watch something on your laptop or tablet.

Kind regards,

Tom
15% discount for bookings made in January or February 2018 for two nights or more. Use the code 'STKTD15' on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews