We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for one night in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #501 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I was staying here in a twin room with my brother in november for one night.
The positive things: Location, only 5 minutes walk away from the underground station. The staff members were very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast (included) was good enough with a lot of choices (but the price for the full english, what is excluded from the price, was a bit too high). The room was not so big but very nice and clean, with tea and coffee facilities what I appreciate, and the en-suite bathroom and toilet was tidy aswell.
The negative things: The full english breakfast mentioned above. The (air-)heating didn't really work in the room and we were freezing actually, but we have got a portable heater from the reception so it was ok after that.
Maybe I would lower the price a bit (the twin room for one night was £100).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and comments. I am really sorry your rooms was cold. I am not sure what went wrong, but I will certainly investigate. I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you. Ferdinand. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Far too noisy for someone wanting a good night's sleep! No traffic heard, but too much noise going on within the hotel itself...very poor indeed.

Breakfast was basic...fruit didn't seem to be fresh, ham and cheese was left out far too long and was starting to go hard!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrenchMaid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Guest,
I am really sorry, looks like you did not have such a good time with us. I only wonder why you left without letting us know.....Were other guests close to you noisy...? Was it a member of my team...? We greatly appreciate every feedback, the more constructive the better..... We normally put out those fresh breakfast items in small quantities at the time, just to avoid what you mentioned. I will review the way we display this type of food. You are and will always be welcome if you ever choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Ferdinand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Being a regular Kensington visitor, I found this hotel comfortable, clean, the staff are helpful, great location for business and even managed to squeeze in some sightseeing. Breakfast was nice, I have paid more for a lot less, .... Will definitely recommend!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank lvxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Guest,
I am just very pleased you did enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Recently renovated, this hotel is in a great position, so close to the tube station to Heathrow, shops, grocery shops, Hyde Park. The rooms, while small, are very adequate and clean and the included breakfast is again very adequate. Check in is prompt,efficient and staff friendly and helpful. We have regularly used this hotel on our travels and will do so again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Clio261635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Dear Guest,
We are all just so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon.
Take care
Ferdinand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Having stayed at this hotel recently, I would not be in a hurry to return! I stayed in three different rooms in three nights...it wasn't what I expected from a hotel and was far from relaxing! In my email (and on arriving at the hotel), I asked for a quiet room...
The first night was spoilt by an extremely noisy air-con unit somewhere outside my window, which went on ALL night long. The "24 hour Reception"(!) didn't answer the phone when I called them at 11.30am asking to be moved!
The second "quiet room" was in the basement room (with a 2" gap under the door to the corridor outside) - right next to the extremely noisy lift mechanics, loud footsteps right above me as people walked across the marble floor in Reception and a really loud noise which sounded like the water system gushing - these noises were heard all night! More worryingly was the fact that I was woken at MIDNIGHT by two very noisy men using steps outside the hotel which lead to an area right outside my window (these steps aren't for customers to use). They were shifting something from a store room opposite my room. As a woman sleeping in the room alone, it was VERY scary to be woken up by the iron gates being thrown open and loud footsteps going up and down the steps. The men (staff?) seemed oblivious to the fact that there was a guest in that room! After complaining in the morning, I was (at last) given a relatively quiet room on the 3rd floor...why I wasn't given this room in the beginning, I'm not sure!
Interestingly, the Manager said she'd not had anyone complain about noise before (esp in the basement room)...perhaps she should read Trip Advisor (as I should have done before I booked!) as someone has had exactly the same problem with that basement room!

The hotel is a nice looking place, the rooms are nice and the staff were generally helpful, but I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to sleep at night...I was hoping for a relaxing time, but ended up feeling so tense and absolutely worn out from lack of sleep and the feeling of being unsafe in that basement room - certainly not somewhere that a women should stay on their own.

Room Tip: If you ask for a noisy room, you might be lucky and get a quiet one...as I asked several times for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoggyHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,
I am just so sorry you had such a bad experience staying with us. With the intention of making your stay better, we ended up making it worse...On the first night you had booked a Single room. We decided to upgrade you to a Double room free of charge. As it happened, the last remaining Double room was a bit noisy. The following day, not wanting to ask you to move to Single room as you had originally booked, my assistant manager offered you what in normal circumstances our guests consider to be a quiet Double room. I have personally complaint to the company delivering our laundry, because their behavior was unacceptable. I sincerely apologize to you again and I hope you will give us another chance.

Kind regards
Ferdinand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was my 4th stay at this hotel and my first visit since their remodel. The biggest benefits of this hotel are the location and price. It is a two-block walk from the Gloucester Tube station on the Picadilly Line (about a 30-minute underground ride from Heathrow). There are all kinds of restaurants, cafes, coffee shops nearby, and a Tesco Express and Waitrose market for take-away food & groceries. A 10-minute walk will get you to the Natural History Museum, the Victoria & Albert, the Science Museum, and a bit further down the road will take you to Harrod's and all the shops and boutiques near there.

The hotel is down a side street off of Cromwell Road so you are distanced from noisy street traffic, however rooms facing the street are noisier than the Inside rooms. Hotel staff is very nice and helpful. There is free wi-fi, and now you can purchase cold beverages (sodas, bottled water) at the front desk. They've done away with tea kettles in the rooms (not a good change in my mind) but you can get a cup of tea in the lobby.

The hotel's remodel included new carpet, drapes and updated furniture. The bathrooms have all been redone with nice tile floors and walls. The breakfast is better than before with fresh fruit, yogurt and muffins/croissants in addition to the cereals, breads & hard-boiled eggs from before.

That being said, there are a few problems with the rooms. We were on the 4th (top) floor and there was no water pressure at that level. Our showers were barely a dribble of water. The new showers are poorly designed so that you have to get INTO the shower to turn on the water, you can't reach the faucet from outside the shower. That was unpleasant as there was only cold water for the first 5 minutes. It literally took 5 minutes or more to get hot water! The only amenities offered are shampoo and shower gel - no hair conditioner or body lotion. They don't provide hand towels or floor mats (on a tile floor) - only bath towels that you have to use for all the other purposes. The hotel will provide extra towels to use but we found out you need to ask for them every day or they won't be there.

Even with these problems, I would still stay here again when in London. I have stayed here both as a single and with a friend, and it seems to be a safe neighborhood for walking around, even late at night.

Room Tip: Inside rooms will be quieter. The higher up you are the less water pressure and hot water will take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HappySnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this very comprehensive, and yes honest review. (By the way, we still provide tea and coffee making facility in every room....) I am just so glad we are your favorite hotel in London and we are looking forward to welcoming you back! We are constantly working on improving every aspects of the business and your feedback is greatly appreciate.
Ferdinand. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in the hotel. Breakfast was good, the staff was very kind and helpfull, the room was more then ok and the location - near Gloucester road metro station -was perfect.
As my sister and I visit London every year in december , we probably will book again in yout hotel next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Linda,
Thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#437 of 1,081 in London
432 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#429 of 1,081 in London
844 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#356 of 1,081 in London
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#317 of 1,081 in London
727 reviews
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#339 of 1,081 in London
2,291 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#190 of 1,081 in London
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £68 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing