We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“march weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #503 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“march weekend.”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Checked in. Third Floor. Room OK for Me. Shower, Very Good. Breakfast, Plenty of Choice. Only Problem. TV in Room, kept Losing Signal. Radio OK. Staff, Very Attentive & Welcoming. Nice Location. Enjoyed Stay. Will Come Back Again.

Room Tip: Maybe Away from Lift. Noise Bothered Some. Not Me, though. Do not Expect to Watch TV. At Least on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOMYNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
You and everybody else should expect to be able to watch TV while staying with us. I wonder if you reported the problem to any of my staff. This is really a first for us; we never had problems with our TV sets............. The whole system is brand new. Is it any possible that the antenna cable in your room came a bit loose....? I only wish you had given us the chance to sort the problem out for you.
Take care and we hope to see you soon.
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    201
    76
    20
    9
See reviews for
114
94
64
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skierniewice, Poland
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A small hotel, clean, tidy and reasonably priced. literally 200m walk from Gloucester Road Undergraound station. There is a Waitrose and Tesco nearby and the usual restaurants, plus a Boots pharmacy.

Staff in the main were helpful and willing

Breakfast was a poor continental style and at weekends was served later which meant a missed breakfast due to a business appointment. On the whole ok for a night but not much longer.

Free WiFi but judging on the signal can be variable in the hotel, just ask at reception for the password to access.

The value is good compared to what I know of the two top hotels accross the road

Room Tip: Don't book a single room unless it's for one night, they are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback. Next time around, please let us know if you need to leave earlier; we could have prepared some breakfast "to go" for you.
Best regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I was staying here in a twin room with my brother in november for one night.
The positive things: Location, only 5 minutes walk away from the underground station. The staff members were very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast (included) was good enough with a lot of choices (but the price for the full english, what is excluded from the price, was a bit too high). The room was not so big but very nice and clean, with tea and coffee facilities what I appreciate, and the en-suite bathroom and toilet was tidy aswell.
The negative things: The full english breakfast mentioned above. The (air-)heating didn't really work in the room and we were freezing actually, but we have got a portable heater from the reception so it was ok after that.
Maybe I would lower the price a bit (the twin room for one night was £100).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and comments. I am really sorry your rooms was cold. I am not sure what went wrong, but I will certainly investigate. I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Far too noisy for someone wanting a good night's sleep! No traffic heard, but too much noise going on within the hotel itself...very poor indeed.

Breakfast was basic...fruit didn't seem to be fresh, ham and cheese was left out far too long and was starting to go hard!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrenchMaid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest,
I am really sorry, looks like you did not have such a good time with us. I only wonder why you left without letting us know.....Were other guests close to you noisy...? Was it a member of my team...? We greatly appreciate every feedback, the more constructive the better..... We normally put out those fresh breakfast items in small quantities at the time, just to avoid what you mentioned. I will review the way we display this type of food. You are and will always be welcome if you ever choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards
Ferdinand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Being a regular Kensington visitor, I found this hotel comfortable, clean, the staff are helpful, great location for business and even managed to squeeze in some sightseeing. Breakfast was nice, I have paid more for a lot less, .... Will definitely recommend!

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lvxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,
I am just very pleased you did enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Recently renovated, this hotel is in a great position, so close to the tube station to Heathrow, shops, grocery shops, Hyde Park. The rooms, while small, are very adequate and clean and the included breakfast is again very adequate. Check in is prompt,efficient and staff friendly and helpful. We have regularly used this hotel on our travels and will do so again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Clio261635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest,
We are all just so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon.
Take care
Ferdinand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Having stayed at this hotel recently, I would not be in a hurry to return! I stayed in three different rooms in three nights...it wasn't what I expected from a hotel and was far from relaxing! In my email (and on arriving at the hotel), I asked for a quiet room...
The first night was spoilt by an extremely noisy air-con unit somewhere outside my window, which went on ALL night long. The "24 hour Reception"(!) didn't answer the phone when I called them at 11.30am asking to be moved!
The second "quiet room" was in the basement room (with a 2" gap under the door to the corridor outside) - right next to the extremely noisy lift mechanics, loud footsteps right above me as people walked across the marble floor in Reception and a really loud noise which sounded like the water system gushing - these noises were heard all night! More worryingly was the fact that I was woken at MIDNIGHT by two very noisy men using steps outside the hotel which lead to an area right outside my window (these steps aren't for customers to use). They were shifting something from a store room opposite my room. As a woman sleeping in the room alone, it was VERY scary to be woken up by the iron gates being thrown open and loud footsteps going up and down the steps. The men (staff?) seemed oblivious to the fact that there was a guest in that room! After complaining in the morning, I was (at last) given a relatively quiet room on the 3rd floor...why I wasn't given this room in the beginning, I'm not sure!
Interestingly, the Manager said she'd not had anyone complain about noise before (esp in the basement room)...perhaps she should read Trip Advisor (as I should have done before I booked!) as someone has had exactly the same problem with that basement room!

The hotel is a nice looking place, the rooms are nice and the staff were generally helpful, but I certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to sleep at night...I was hoping for a relaxing time, but ended up feeling so tense and absolutely worn out from lack of sleep and the feeling of being unsafe in that basement room - certainly not somewhere that a women should stay on their own.

Room Tip: If you ask for a noisy room, you might be lucky and get a quiet one...as I asked several times for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoggyHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest,
I am just so sorry you had such a bad experience staying with us. With the intention of making your stay better, we ended up making it worse...On the first night you had booked a Single room. We decided to upgrade you to a Double room free of charge. As it happened, the last remaining Double room was a bit noisy. The following day, not wanting to ask you to move to Single room as you had originally booked, my assistant manager offered you what in normal circumstances our guests consider to be a quiet Double room. I have personally complaint to the company delivering our laundry, because their behavior was unacceptable. I sincerely apologize to you again and I hope you will give us another chance.

Kind regards
Ferdinand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#421 of 1,067 in London
764 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#175 of 1,067 in London
936 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#323 of 1,067 in London
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#353 of 1,067 in London
2,033 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#298 of 1,067 in London
511 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#517 of 1,067 in London
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Property: The Villa Kensington
Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing