We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgraded since Abcone?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #498 of 1,069 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
“Upgraded since Abcone?”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was wondering if like me, travelers have stayed here since this hotel change ownership. I stayed here about 12 times since the late '80s (left a review in 2009). I am planning another trip in 2014 and hope this friendly and convenient hotel kept the small hotel charm that Ali and his uncle Rahanni gave to it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnLaRockNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Very much upgraded! If you liked us before, you will love us now. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    204
    77
    21
    9
See reviews for
117
94
66
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We visited this hotel with a group of students and the hotel could not have done more for us. Some of the 6 rooms we booked were on the small size but adequate for the amount of time we spent in them. Staff were efficient when we checked in and had sorted an early check in for us. All paperwork, key cards, WIFI codes etc were ready. Excellent location near Gloucester Road and close to fast food outlets etc. Pretty decent continental breakfast to get us ready for the day. Would definitely use this hotel again, especially when travelling with a group.

Room Tip: The triple room on the below ground floor was massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,
We are all just so pleased about your nice comments. Looks like you and everybody else did have a good time staying with us. Thanks again. Kind regards. Ferdinand . GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is a good location and a good hotel, about 150 yards from Gloucester Road Tube. The staff on reception were efficient and friendly. The room was on the small side but well equipped modern and clean. Free wifi is always good, but it disconnected a few times. The breakfast was good with an excellent choice on the inclusive price.

Agood hotel at a good price in a good location,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjaytees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and i visited London the first week of December 2012.The room was booked by my daughter who lives in London.
The location is good ,quite convinient for people who wish to visit all the sights of the uk capital,as the untergraound station is only working distance .The room not so spacy but modern and clean.Breakfast resenable ,with buffe wher you could help your self as many times you wanted but the variery poore.The staf at the breakfast room very helpfull and friendly .The day we were living we left after request our suitecases at the reception but when we went buck to collect them there was nobody there and we had to wait 30 minutes for somebody to show up.When finally a memper of staf came was rood and did'nt bother to apollogise .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Overall it looks like you had an enjoyable time with us. I am quite concern though about the day you came back to collect you suitcases. So concerned, that I actually managed to contact and speak with your daughter. I left with her my personal details. I would appreciate if you could please contact me directly.
Kind regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Checked in. Third Floor. Room OK for Me. Shower, Very Good. Breakfast, Plenty of Choice. Only Problem. TV in Room, kept Losing Signal. Radio OK. Staff, Very Attentive & Welcoming. Nice Location. Enjoyed Stay. Will Come Back Again.

Room Tip: Maybe Away from Lift. Noise Bothered Some. Not Me, though. Do not Expect to Watch TV. At Least on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOMYNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
You and everybody else should expect to be able to watch TV while staying with us. I wonder if you reported the problem to any of my staff. This is really a first for us; we never had problems with our TV sets............. The whole system is brand new. Is it any possible that the antenna cable in your room came a bit loose....? I only wish you had given us the chance to sort the problem out for you.
Take care and we hope to see you soon.
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skierniewice, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A small hotel, clean, tidy and reasonably priced. literally 200m walk from Gloucester Road Undergraound station. There is a Waitrose and Tesco nearby and the usual restaurants, plus a Boots pharmacy.

Staff in the main were helpful and willing

Breakfast was a poor continental style and at weekends was served later which meant a missed breakfast due to a business appointment. On the whole ok for a night but not much longer.

Free WiFi but judging on the signal can be variable in the hotel, just ask at reception for the password to access.

The value is good compared to what I know of the two top hotels accross the road

Room Tip: Don't book a single room unless it's for one night, they are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your feedback. Next time around, please let us know if you need to leave earlier; we could have prepared some breakfast "to go" for you.
Best regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I was staying here in a twin room with my brother in november for one night.
The positive things: Location, only 5 minutes walk away from the underground station. The staff members were very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast (included) was good enough with a lot of choices (but the price for the full english, what is excluded from the price, was a bit too high). The room was not so big but very nice and clean, with tea and coffee facilities what I appreciate, and the en-suite bathroom and toilet was tidy aswell.
The negative things: The full english breakfast mentioned above. The (air-)heating didn't really work in the room and we were freezing actually, but we have got a portable heater from the reception so it was ok after that.
Maybe I would lower the price a bit (the twin room for one night was £100).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emi89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and comments. I am really sorry your rooms was cold. I am not sure what went wrong, but I will certainly investigate. I hope you will choose to stay with us again. Thank you. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#395 of 1,069 in London
778 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#321 of 1,069 in London
678 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#285 of 1,069 in London
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,069 in London
2,061 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#170 of 1,069 in London
952 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#448 of 1,069 in London
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Property: The Villa Kensington
Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing