We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with Reasonable rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #519 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Islamabad, Pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Reasonable rates”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We two friends stayed in this hotel in Mar.2013.We already lived in this hotel in July 2011 when its name was Abcone Hotel.But now the hotel was fully renovated with neat and clean environment and furniture. Its location is ideal the Management is friendly consisting upon beautiful English and Spanish people .Always ready to co operate even during stay, if there is any problem with your room they happily change the room without any extra charges The only problem in some rooms is low water pressure in bath rooms and no bathroom foot wears (sleepers)Nice continental breakfast. It is near to the tube station,bus stops and the the shopping malls.

Room Tip: before check in have a look at your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piracha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear Guest,
I was very pleased to read your review. We want to constantly improve and your feedback are very appreciated. Next time around you will most probably find slippers in your room. Take care and see you soon. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    204
    79
    21
    10
See reviews for
119
95
66
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal for Harrods, Natural History Museum and Royal Alber Hall. All are within 20 mins walking distance, The room was small but the bathroom was a good size. Continental breakfast included in the price was a bonus. The only problem we had was our room 92, backs on to the lift so there was quite alot of noise when it was in use. ALL NIGHT. If we had been stopping more than one night we would have asked to move, we did point out our disappointment to the receptionist on leaving but were only greeted with a shrug !

Room Tip: Don't have room 92!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saturnstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this review. Recently we had works done to improve the lift ride quality. I wonder if this was before or after your stay; my sincere apologies for the noise. Next time around, please let us know about your stay; we totally welcome guests' feedback. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kieldrecht
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Good hotel to stay when you are on a business trip or city trip. Not a luxury hotel but a decent standaard room to stay. Staff are very kind and helpfull. Due to a fully booked hotel I got the smallest room available which was really small. But when you're alone on a business trip, you don't need more space. The hotel is located about 500 meters from the Gloucester Road underground station which makes it easy to travel to the different touristic locations of London. Staff is available 24/24. There is also free Wi-Fi available for the guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggeleyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave this review. Please, come back again, next time around we will try to allocate a more spacious room for you. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I was wondering if like me, travelers have stayed here since this hotel change ownership. I stayed here about 12 times since the late '80s (left a review in 2009). I am planning another trip in 2014 and hope this friendly and convenient hotel kept the small hotel charm that Ali and his uncle Rahanni gave to it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnLaRockNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Very much upgraded! If you liked us before, you will love us now. We are looking forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We visited this hotel with a group of students and the hotel could not have done more for us. Some of the 6 rooms we booked were on the small size but adequate for the amount of time we spent in them. Staff were efficient when we checked in and had sorted an early check in for us. All paperwork, key cards, WIFI codes etc were ready. Excellent location near Gloucester Road and close to fast food outlets etc. Pretty decent continental breakfast to get us ready for the day. Would definitely use this hotel again, especially when travelling with a group.

Room Tip: The triple room on the below ground floor was massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireLottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,
We are all just so pleased about your nice comments. Looks like you and everybody else did have a good time staying with us. Thanks again. Kind regards. Ferdinand . GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This is a good location and a good hotel, about 150 yards from Gloucester Road Tube. The staff on reception were efficient and friendly. The room was on the small side but well equipped modern and clean. Free wifi is always good, but it disconnected a few times. The breakfast was good with an excellent choice on the inclusive price.

Agood hotel at a good price in a good location,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjaytees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corfu, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

My husband and i visited London the first week of December 2012.The room was booked by my daughter who lives in London.
The location is good ,quite convinient for people who wish to visit all the sights of the uk capital,as the untergraound station is only working distance .The room not so spacy but modern and clean.Breakfast resenable ,with buffe wher you could help your self as many times you wanted but the variery poore.The staf at the breakfast room very helpfull and friendly .The day we were living we left after request our suitecases at the reception but when we went buck to collect them there was nobody there and we had to wait 30 minutes for somebody to show up.When finally a memper of staf came was rood and did'nt bother to apollogise .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Overall it looks like you had an enjoyable time with us. I am quite concern though about the day you came back to collect you suitcases. So concerned, that I actually managed to contact and speak with your daughter. I left with her my personal details. I would appreciate if you could please contact me directly.
Kind regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#401 of 1,069 in London
790 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#322 of 1,069 in London
682 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#312 of 1,069 in London
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#344 of 1,069 in London
2,085 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#634 of 1,069 in London
1,288 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#454 of 1,069 in London
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Property: The Villa Kensington
Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing