We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #497 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in February 2014. Staff were very friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. Great location especially for the price you're paying. It's a short walk from Gloucester Rd station which will get you onto 3 tube lines.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I really appreciate you took the time to write this review. Thank you very much.
Best regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    200
    73
    20
    9
See reviews for
112
92
63
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is nice and in a good location.The room was cleaned and comfortable.
My only concern is that we ordered a cab in the morning and no one from the people working in the reception to include manager informed us that it is not going to be black cab but private taxi company.We ordered short trip on saturday ( 1.02) morning around 7:15 a.m. from the hotel to Earl's Court / West Brompton easy bus station ( 1,2 mile - 5min ) to go to Gatwick.
The driver in silver Toyota Privia asked us to pay £15.50 ! He had no visible mini cab license,no badge and he was not able to print out receipt ?
I asked is this normal price and he informed us we are lucky as this is minimum he is charging for trip ???
I called hotel duty manager on the same day to ask why we were not informed about on such high price on entry and about ordering private taxi instead of black cab ?
He was defending the driver and said if we want to black cab we must go on street and find one and the price we were asked to pay is not high???
So in short we were scammed on taxi which charge us highly for 1.2 mile trip and the driver had no sign of any license.So to my understanding it was someone related to staff at the hotel operating with a private car and working on a call. No comments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I am sorry this unfortunate event with the taxi service has somehow spoiled your experience with us. I do understand you may be upset, but I don't think is fair for you to make such serious allegations. Accusing members of my team to run a "scum"....This is completely out of order. To state the real facts I will say:
The mini-cab company we use has an extremely good reputation.
Their drivers are all licensed.
They can provide a receipt for the trip.
Their service is completely independent
Ultimately it was your choice to take up the service and prices for the trip are agreed between the customer and the taxi company; this has nothing to do with us.
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

First of all, the staff is great. Especially the Italian lady working at the desk, what a sweetheart. The room was good, a couple of touch-ups wouldn't hurt. For example the mirror in the bathroom looked like it was mounted by a couple of left-handed baboons. Big plus for aircondition in the room, not that we used it but it's a nice feature.

The localtion isn't super-exciting, but good for a quiet time. For more exciting restaurants and bars you need to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikal_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving such nice review.
Best regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I just returned from London where I stayed at The Villa Kensington. The hotel is in a quiet location and has a very helpful staff. The room was very pleasant and clean. The hotel is in the Kensington area of London within a very short walk to the Underground. There are several restaurants nearby. Because of the location you can visit the main sites in London via the Underground or catch a bus. For those of you that like a good cup of coffee there is a Starbucks and a Paul near the Underground. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are just so pleased you had a good time staying with us. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I took my 93 year old Dad to London, for a concert at the Albert Hall and some sightseeing. The Hotel was perfectly placed for the tube and the Hall. We had a good welcome, and when asked if we could have a room next to each other, it was arranged without fuss. The facilities were good and the breakfast just right. I would happily recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGpete8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your nice feedback. Please forward our very best wishes to your father. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here after a concert at the Royal Albert Hall. Compared to other hotels in area in was very good value. A 10min brisk walk in quiet side street. Lots of restaurants nearby and a Waitrose.
Booked a twin, but ended up in spacious triple.
Beds were very comfortable.
Room and bathroom very clean.
The continental breakfast which was included in the price was excellent. Ham, cheese, eggs, selection of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, muffins etc. could pay extra for English but wasn't needed.
Staff friendly and unobtrusive.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you have taken the time to leave this review. Thank you very much. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for two nights to attend a conference in Kensington. It was a bit tricky deciding how to rate this one, but on balance I decided to go for a 'very good' rating.
Good points:
- Staff are excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful.
- The room and bathroom were very clean. No complaints there.
- The bed was really comfortable!
- As a lone female traveller, I felt safe and at home in this hotel, which is very important. Because of this, I wouldn't hesitate in returning to the hotel.
- Temperature control. A real luxury in my opinion, meaning that you can control the temperature of your room - ideal for extremes in the winter/summer.
- Great location next to tube station.
Not so good points:
- Noise. Noise travels here. The first night I woke up a few times and heard people moving around, people talking during the night. I'm a light sleeper who usually doesn't suffer badly in hotels for noise, but you can here the doors go, lift working, people using the bathroom, people talking etc.
- Finishing of the room. The hotel has really tried with the quality of fixtures, however, the way they have been fitted really lets the hotel down. In the room I had, for example, there was about an inch gap under the door, a hole in the floor between the bathroom and the bedroom, and chips on furniture.
- I had a single room. Now this was adequate for me, everything you need (wardrobe, safe, desk, tea and coffee making facilities), but others might find it small, particularly the bathroom.

Overall, this hotel is excellent value for money, and the staff make it a really welcoming place. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving this very comprehensive and honest review. Well, you got everything pretty much spot on.... Next time around, please don't just put up with noisy customers. Let us know, my staff could have definitely had a word with them....Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#414 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#167 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#282 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#363 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#512 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#269 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Property: The Villa Kensington
Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #497 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing