We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great London Option!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #493 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great London Option!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great value in an expensive city with convenient access to the underground, an included breakfast, and in walking distance of the Victoria & Albert, Natural History and Science Museums. Staff is really nice. When I asked for a 6 am wakeup call one morning, suggesting I'd be on my way well before the 7:30 start of breakfast, I was immediately offered a breakfast bag to take on my way. It's basic, but a great option for London.

Room Tip: It's a quiet area. I had a room fronting the street and had no trouble with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    194
    69
    19
    9
See reviews for
110
90
63
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larvik, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel is basic, the straff was nice and good breakfast which was inkludert in the price.
I had booked a triple room and actually thought it was quite spacious compared to other triple rooms I've stayed in. It was quite cold in the room when we arrived, but both the ventilation system and heater worked fine. It was quiet as the room didn't face any streets (first level) TV, kettle with a selection of tee and coffee, and hairdryer in the room. The rooms are cleaned everyday third day, but beds are made and new towels every day.
The hotel has a great location and nice staff. Perfectly located just a minute from Gloucester underground station and Tesco express across the road from the underground station. Many bars and restaurants in the area.
If you want luxury this isn't the hotel for you, but I've no problem recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Room facing the backyard towards the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased to read that you would be happy to recommend us. Kindest regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I really liked this hotel, I have been in London 6 times before and this is the absolute best hotel I have stayed in. The rooms was nice, and it was the rooms were cleaned every day. When it comes to breakfast, it was good to be a english breakfast. I also have to brag about the ladies who worked in the breakfast area, they were very nice an friendly.
The rooms had good size, it was pleasant to be in and with comfy beds.
When it comes to reception they were always friendly. When they found out we missed breakfast the day we were to leave, they arranged a takeaway breakfast. Both young and old did enjoy this amazing service. I have to mention that the take away breakfast tasted really good as well!

The only negative about the hotel was that it was a bit thin walls. but then we bought earplugs, so the "problem" was easily solved.

This is a hotel we will return to, and we have already recommended it to friends and family! Very very happy with this stay! Thank you :D

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamillaMarie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review. We hope to see you back soon.
Take care.
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely quiet location, literally 2 minutes walk from Gloucester tube.
Breakfast was good, cereals, toast, croissants etc.
Tesco express at end of road near tube station.
Clean basic rooms. Would return.

Room Tip: get a room away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttreacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Take care.
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here for 10 days in February 2014. Staff were very friendly and rooms clean and comfortable. Great location especially for the price you're paying. It's a short walk from Gloucester Rd station which will get you onto 3 tube lines.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Guest,
I really appreciate you took the time to write this review. Thank you very much.
Best regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

The hotel is nice and in a good location.The room was cleaned and comfortable.
My only concern is that we ordered a cab in the morning and no one from the people working in the reception to include manager informed us that it is not going to be black cab but private taxi company.We ordered short trip on saturday ( 1.02) morning around 7:15 a.m. from the hotel to Earl's Court / West Brompton easy bus station ( 1,2 mile - 5min ) to go to Gatwick.
The driver in silver Toyota Privia asked us to pay £15.50 ! He had no visible mini cab license,no badge and he was not able to print out receipt ?
I asked is this normal price and he informed us we are lucky as this is minimum he is charging for trip ???
I called hotel duty manager on the same day to ask why we were not informed about on such high price on entry and about ordering private taxi instead of black cab ?
He was defending the driver and said if we want to black cab we must go on street and find one and the price we were asked to pay is not high???
So in short we were scammed on taxi which charge us highly for 1.2 mile trip and the driver had no sign of any license.So to my understanding it was someone related to staff at the hotel operating with a private car and working on a call. No comments.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I am sorry this unfortunate event with the taxi service has somehow spoiled your experience with us. I do understand you may be upset, but I don't think is fair for you to make such serious allegations. Accusing members of my team to run a "scum"....This is completely out of order. To state the real facts I will say:
The mini-cab company we use has an extremely good reputation.
Their drivers are all licensed.
They can provide a receipt for the trip.
Their service is completely independent
Ultimately it was your choice to take up the service and prices for the trip are agreed between the customer and the taxi company; this has nothing to do with us.
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

First of all, the staff is great. Especially the Italian lady working at the desk, what a sweetheart. The room was good, a couple of touch-ups wouldn't hurt. For example the mirror in the bathroom looked like it was mounted by a couple of left-handed baboons. Big plus for aircondition in the room, not that we used it but it's a nice feature.

The localtion isn't super-exciting, but good for a quiet time. For more exciting restaurants and bars you need to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikal_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving such nice review.
Best regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#402 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#175 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#280 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#371 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#494 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#285 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Property: The Villa Kensington
Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #493 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing