We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice ovenight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #498 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice ovenight stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed overnight last week on business and could not fault it. The room was comfortable and large for a London single. Good TV with plenty of channels, tea making facilities, free WiFi, comfy bed, air conditioning and decent sized bathroom with dual action shower (rather slow but I was on the 4th floor).

It was spotlessly clean and the staff were very, very nice.

Breakfast was included and quite adequate.

Overall a very good hotel and one I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your nice review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    204
    77
    21
    9
See reviews for
117
94
66
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We chose this hotel because it had three single beds in the room, so our son could could stay with us. We arrived early from the Harwich seaport . We left our luggage until 3 p.m. (1500) when we could check in to our room. We had an electric teapot in our room, along with Twinings Tea, Nescafe instant coffee, and some cookies/biscuits. We had a bath towel to dry our hands with and then one bath towel for each of us. The shower could be hand held or a big rain forest type in the ceiling. The water pressure was good and warm. Breakfast was free 7:30-9:30. A hot English breakfast could be purchased. There was plenty of cereal, meat, cheese, yogurt, bread, drinks for us. We walked to the Big Bus area for a HOHO tour. Plenty of pubs and eateries were within walking distance. Our room was clean, It was larger than I expected. The people at the desk were friendly. The staff called a cab for us when we went to the airport. Although we told them we had 5 people and 5 large bags, we should have told them about our carry ons. The van was really too small, but we made it work. They gave us each a sack of breakfast take away, fruit, yogurt, juice box, muffin, apple, which was very nice. It was less than a half hour to the airport and traffic was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunni65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Villa Kensington. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write this very comprehensive review. Take care and we hope to see you soon. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in a twin room, which for London was rather spacious. The hotel itself is very clean, modern and is nicely furnished. It was rather warm when we stayed, so the air conditioning in the room was a huge Godsend! The bathroom is small, but adequate - the flow of the shower is a little slower than I like but not sure what can be done about that!

The room comes equipped with tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, safe and small flatscreen TV. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows just right! Breakfast was served in the basement of the hotel from 7.30-9.30 and was adequate - we would've liked to see a few more cereals and a better selection of fresh fruit. They could perhaps do with a few more tables, as there were several solo travellers, and I saw a few people ask to table-share.

One disappointment was that where we booked online mentioned that it had a bar - there are soft drinks and water available to purchase from reception but unfortunately no licensed bar. However, you're so close to lots of restaurants and bars that there are plenty of other places for drinks nearby! It's a 2 min walk to Gloucester Road tube station which is served by the Piccadilly and Circle lines.

We didn't have much dealings with reception, but they did offer us an umbrella when there was a short downpour. All in all, a really pleasant stay and we will be happy to return in the future!

Room Tip: Room 405 was a great twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YumYumMyTum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your honest and very comprehensive review! We hope to see you soon. Take care. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the hotel was a great choice.

The room was in the basement and was very big - nice and spacious for 3 of us. It was in the front of the building near the street but it is a quiet area and we didn't hear any noise.

The staff were very friendly and the continental breakfast was good.

The location was great - very close to the tube.

Room Tip: Room 83 was a great triple room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loverofchocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. I am glad you really liked the room. Take care and we hope to see you soon. Regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 3 nights with my mum and sister in a triple room which was surprisingly spacious. We were visiting London for a special birthday and were delighted with the location, the super friendly, helpful staff and also,the gift that was left in the room for us.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting London. Thank you for a lovely experience.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed. This review made our day! Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We love London and visit from Canada every couple of years and have stayed in several B&B's and this was our favorite by far. The staff at the front desk are friendly and helpful and the ladies in the breakfast room are wonderful! The breakfast room is great and you have a great selection of items to choose from for your breakfast. The location is close to everything (Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park, the V&A, Harrods etc.etc.) but the underground, which is within a 2 minute walk, will get you anywhere fast. The room we had was out the front on the 3rd floor...spotlessly clean with a modern bathroom. Not a huge room but enough space for 2 people no problem. We didn't hear our neighbors at all and the bed was very comfy.There is also an elevator so no having to carry your bags up stairs! I would highly recommend staying here. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend any room on a higher floor out the front. There is an elevator as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for staying with us. As you can imagine myself and my team very extremely pleased to read your review. It is so rewarding to know that you had such a good time and you appreciate the hard work that my staff put into it. Best wishes. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The only positive point of Villa Kensington is the Location- The sleeping room and bath room
are to small, you can not move with two persons- The bathroom is so small that you can not
close the door - The breakfast is cheap ! We left this hotel two days earlier that planned,
This is not a Hotel this is camping -
The price is two times to high for the quality offered !!

Room Tip: there are no comfortable rooms - Do not accept a room in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Well, not much gratitude for letting you cancel free of charge the remaining two nights of your stay in spite it was a "non-refundable, non-cancellable" booking.... Obviously and by speaking to you in person, it is clear to me that you are used to 4/5 stars properties. You may have thought you could get the same service and accommodation standards at half of the price you would have to pay to meet your expectations. Let's just say that we are not your cup of tea and we shall leave it like that....Regards. Ferdinand.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#395 of 1,069 in London
778 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#321 of 1,069 in London
678 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#285 of 1,069 in London
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,069 in London
2,064 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#170 of 1,069 in London
952 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#448 of 1,069 in London
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Property: The Villa Kensington
Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing