We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #437 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, which included a free first night 3 course meal. The room seemed smaller than sister hotel (President) and found the bed to be a little uncomfortable. Room was on the 6th Floor but the lifts where quick.
With the free night meal you can choose a few different venues to eat, decided to eat at the hotel, if it was not free would have been really disappointed having to pay. Food was poor and found the staff bored/surly/uninterested. Good English breakfast which had a reasonable choice and plentiful.
Location is very good being on the Piccadilly line situated between Holborn and Russell Square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Bedford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

The Bedford has been renovated since I was last there and has indeed become a "modern:"hotel. It is in my opinion the best of the Imperial Group as the staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. The room I had was quiet - at the back-overlooking the garden-and was equipped with all one would expect from a 3 star hotel---- the bathroom though small was fine and I have no complaints about the shower or the soaps which were replenished every day. The towels were also of a fair size. The beds were comfortable and sheets changed every day.All the lighting and the tv could be controlled from the bed. We had continental breakfast which was MUCH BETTER than that previously eaten at the President and the Imperial as it included three types of juice- five kinds of cereal,three different tinned fruits and white and brown bread and toast in addition to the tea and coffee and hot chocolate for my grandson. I would definitely return.. My only request would be wi fi in the bbedroom

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Sue and I have stopped here several times before. That of itself should be a recommendation! Situated in a pleasant part of London near to the British Museum this Hotel is well located both for the northern rail stations and for central London. For central London the prices are very reasonable. We paid twice this in New York recently. The rooms are comfortable and have recently been upgraded. Go for a room at the back on a higher floor, quiet, with nice views over the rooftops. Our booking included one evening meal (not the drinks) and very nice it was too. The television has a limited number of channels so if you want to watch BBC4 for instance you will be disappointed. I am usually on CBBC if you’re interested; BBC4 is a bit too highbrow for me.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SootyCumbriaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Spent 14 nights at the Bedford in September 2013. The hotel has a helpful staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast and is in a great location. Between 2 tube stations and on bus lines. Near by cafe's and pubs. The hotel does not have A/C so maybe hot in summer.

Room Tip: Take room at back of hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nelsonw152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My partner and I had three nights at the hotel whilst on a visit to see family and take in places we had known when much younger.The Bedford had been recommended by an acquaintance and did not disappoint.Our room at the rear of the hotel was spacious with separate loo and bathroom, it overlooked a courtyard and gardens and was very quiet and peaceful .The sevicing of the room each day was faultless.All the staff were friendly and welcoming and the organisation at breakfast was good. The meal itself was adequate but never going to win any culinary awards ! We felt at home in the hotel and will certainly return on future visits to London.

Room Tip: Try to secure a room at the rear of the hotel on,say, the third floor.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Just had two wonderful days in London on theatre trips and had the pleasure of staying at the Bedford Hotel. We were so impressed by the friendly helpful staff. The very good location of the hotel is in easy reach of The West End and Covent Garden. The breakfasts were very good, with excellent service by the catering staff. We will stay at this hotel again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lainey152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We found the hotel to be lovely! Friendly welcome, clean and decent room but we did have an executive suite so if you can upgrade do! Decent breakfast, no complaints and would recommend. In a good location and convenient for all of London.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can and the shower wasn't the best but there were 2!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with redspottedhanky.com
Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#568 of 1,072 in London
2,058 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#438 of 1,072 in London
1,056 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#513 of 1,072 in London
3,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#585 of 1,072 in London
2,640 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#364 of 1,072 in London
2,123 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#298 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £95 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing