We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“remain a good choice at London”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #429 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“remain a good choice at London”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

if consider locazitaion, price and confort enough, this a excelent choice at London. near British Museum, Russel Square and The Tube, it is perfect place to stay. in our second time there we recomend again!
Con: housekeeping - the boy insists strongly about offering a good service (telling us about that) looking for a tip...

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SBrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    558
    280
    46
    25
See reviews for
177
421
127
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night with my daughter in April & the hotel lived up to it's great reviews!!! Don't forget, this is a 3* hotel so don't expect luxury but do expect a friendly welcome, a clean comfortable well equipped room & a good breakfast in the morning.
Only a twenty minute stroll to st Pancras and 5 minutes to the tube....great value for money, would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Decent room. Lovely breakfast.friendly staff. Walking distance from Kings Cross station, and walking distance to theatres. Just what we wanted. One small problem, was a drain cover in the road opposite hotel banged every time a vehicle hit it.

Room Tip: Room at back would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theblackpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed for 5 nights with my teenage daughter. I had requested for a quiet room, and it was quiet,
facing the garden. The added bonus was hearing birds sing in the morning. Room was spacious, clean, other than that nothing to write home about. Afterwards I realized that it was the only hotel room I forgot to take pictures of. The room had a lovely view of the beautiful old house and the rooftop of the British museum.
The toilet and the bathroom were separate, which is the way I like it. On our first day we had a problem with flushing the toilet, but when the staff explained that we need to pump the flushing, it helped. It was one of the minor inconveniences we had during our stay, like the cold toilet seat and the ordeal of mixing water from two faucets to the right temperature every time.
The staff was young, friendly and helpful.
On our first night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. The food was just inedible. We barely touched it. I had a sausage with mashed potatoes. I think the sausage was made of some animal`s intestines, which I have nothing against, but the taste was awful. The mashed potatoes
were gray tasteless goo. My daughter`s dish was even worse. Everything was seasoned with some strong tasting spice, which made everything even worse. To add insult to injury, a waiter kept the change. Needless to say, we did not go there again.
The continental breakfast was just OK. If you are going to stay for 4 days or more, better not to book a room with breakfast included, because it gets old after a while. The dining room had a lovely garden terrace. The morning staff also did not speak English fluently, so they sounded kind of abrupt with other guests: "Sit there." "What do you want?" Once I witnessed the lady in charge confront one of the guests over taking the wrong dish from the buffet table. The poor man was defending himself by saying that he didn`t know. He had to go out to pay for the English breakfast, and his teenage son looked mortified. Also, the way waiters were beating breadcrumbs off the tables by napkins seemed funny to my daughter, but not to me. I imagined dust flying all over the place, and in my plate.
I liked the hotel for its excellent location, and I would definitely stay here again, if I am on a budget.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the garden and away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxana3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at the Bedford Hotel for 2 nights beginning of April 2014 - would definitely stay again. Great location - only 10 minute walk from Kings Cross and 15 minutes from Covent Garden and theatreland. Staff were very polite and helpful. Had a problem with a leaky bath, report it and it was fixed the same day. Rooms were very clean, modern and had everything you needed for your stay. Breakfast was fine - plenty choice, only thing that let breakfast down was the stale danish pastries. Would highly recommend a stay at the Bedford.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kb74dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a short break and not disappointed. Very good room and good food with really reasonable menu. Professional staff who were most helpful. Worth staying here, that's for sure, if you want a 'no frills' stay and handy for London's attractions.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Had a fine stay at the Bedford Hotel in room 602 for 8 days at the beginning of April. We had got a room at the front (320) initially and asked Ryan at the front desk if we could get a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard and obliged. Good central area in walking distance to many attractions and is between Russell Square and Holborn stations (get an Oyster Card for transit). Rooms were a good size and clean. Free wi-fi in 8 hour slots, just grab another when you need it. The free English Breakfast with the stay was reasonable and a good way to start the morning.

The front desk crew was helpful and nice except one older worker, don't know what his name was but we had asked about the sightseeing tours. He handed me a pamphlet and said that's all they had. I asked why the website had different tours and he said he didn't know about any website for the Bedford Hotel. I showed him (http://www.imperialhotels.co.uk/bedford) and he didn't believe it even though it was an Imperial London Hotel site. He wasn't helpful and didn't care and really didn't want to help at all, he must have been a new worker. Maybe he needs some more training in customer service.

I recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#434 of 1,069 in London
1,033 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#349 of 1,069 in London
2,080 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#295 of 1,069 in London
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#72 of 1,069 in London
356 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#504 of 1,069 in London
532 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Superbreak UK, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing