We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel near Russell Square”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #433 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a hotel near university/british museum and Russell Square (to take the direct underground from Heathrow Airpoirt): Bedford didn't disappoint me. The room is clean and not too expensive. Still, the hotel is not more than average: you smell the breakfast sausages at reception already, you hear every cough from the person next door; you shouldn't expect any fancy interior. Advice: Ask for a quiet room, as I was overlooking the garden and couldn't hear any noise from the city, at least. If I need a hotel in the same area and for the same kind of trip again, I will come back. Otherwise, I will try another hotel in London.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank fabian_zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
There are newer reviews for Bedford Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 526 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

This Hotel is small and friendly. Situated about ten minutes walk from Euston Station it's a good base from which to explore London. There is free WiFi connection in the bedrooms but the code has to be renewed every 8 hours. They breakfast was disappointing, over cooked eggs, cold toast
If you book direct with the hotel and stay more than one night you can get a complimentary evening meal on the first night if you enter a code (shown on the site).

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back no traffice noise.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a two night stay and found the location so convenient for exploring London, we walked practically everywhere, but with two underground stations so near we could get anywhere. Plenty of pubs and restaurants locally. We had an adequate room at the back of the hotel, which overlooked a pleasant garden. Staff were pleasant and it was value for the money we paid. I didn't enjoy the breakfast much, the food was of cheap quality and not very appetising, but restaurant staff attentive and friendly. We would go back it was clean, friendly and value for money, they only charged us 50p to leave luggage for the day.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is excellent for the money. Small, but clean well decorated rooms. The hotel is well staffed and they are friendly and helpful. Good English breakfasts and the hotel is a short bus ride from the West End theaters and restaurants. We have stopped in the hotel four times and love it..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have stayed here a number of times. Always the same staff (which is always a good sign) Some of the porters should learn how to smile though. Basic, clean accomodation with hearty breakfast. Drinks reasonably priced. Price very competitive. Quiet rooms at the back. Beds very comfortable

Room Tip: Don't have a room next to air con
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barker1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I had the misfortune of staying here on a work trip as my usual place was booked out... never again I hope! I don't think its been touched since the 70's, and its in serious need of some money spent on it.

When I picked up my key it was attached to a foot long metal pole! I let myself into a very cramped room facing the main road , and it was noisy well into the early hours, which was a nightmare as the room was roasting, and the window opening was the only form of air con/temperature control.... not a very pleasant nights sleep at all.

Breakfast was cooked buffet, and it was really poor... very cheap ingredients used and it showed. If im booked in there by work again, i'll probably just forego the breakfast even though its included...

Its not expensive, so I guess you get what you pay for but surely there is better available for ht eprice... my advice - look elsewhere

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room to the rear
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SubCultureUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I picked this hotel based on the reviews on this site and was extremely disappointed. The whole place is shabby and worn-looking with tiny rooms with no amenities. The shower has no water pressure, the toilet doesn't flush, the walls are chipped and dirty, there is no clock/radio, the windows only open a crack and the room is hot, the beds are like slabs of concrete with pillows to match, the breakfasts are disgusting and the dining room staff are beyond rude. Breakfast buffest consisted of soggy toast, rubbery eggs, barely cooked sausages and bacon, canned beans and canned tomatoes and a couple of canned fruit options. And, there is i some weird process in place where you have to turn in your room key (on a long stick) whenever you leave your room. Making a phone call is a cumbersome process as well where the operator has to unlock your phone and you are charged 19 pence per minute after that. The wifi, is free but you have to ask for a new password every 8 hours. On the plus side, the hotel is conveniently located and the front desk staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Maybe a lower floor would have enough water pressure to allow you to have a shower and flush your to...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#569 of 1,072 in London
2,061 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#436 of 1,072 in London
1,058 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#512 of 1,072 in London
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#590 of 1,072 in London
2,642 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#371 of 1,072 in London
2,127 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#296 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £95 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Superbreak UK, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing